$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 26, 2015 Check-out: Mar 29, 2015

Hotel San Carlos

3 stars
View map of 202 North Central Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel San Carlos

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spicy Biscuit
Business
Olympia, WA
Mar 8, 2014

San Carlos

Interesting place. The older fixturing was like staying at my Grandma's house. Kind of scary at first, but turned out to be very clean and functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice Irish pub and Vietmanese restuarant right in the same building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston Markie
Business
Chandler AZ
Dec 9, 2013

Anniversary

Rooms very small but nice, no view, bathroom VERY small, noisy, walls like paper, no security to keep guests quiet at 3:00 AM, called front desk no answer finally checked out at 3:30AM took 40 minutes to find a valet to retrieve my car to go home and sleep. This hotel is in a great location, old but nice, decent price. I am assuming it was the group in house that was noisy, but hotel staff needs to keep it under control. It was worse than my college dorm. It would have helped if the man at the desk at 3:30 apologized or offered to move us but, he just acted like we made things up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Irish Pub and Vietnameese restaurant in the hotel were nice and fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Chicano
Business
Centreville, VA
Dec 7, 2013

Best deal in Phoenix

The best money for the location you get!! If you need to stay in Downtown Phoenix, look no further. The staff are great and you will get better than first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Chicano
Business
Centreville, VA
Dec 7, 2013

Business Trip in Phoenix

I needed two rooms - one for my girlfriend and me and another for my parents. I was there for an event scheduled to be at major hotel, but they were sold out. An On-line Chat Customer Service Representative helped me find options near the venue and they narrowed it down to something within my price range. It was perfect!! An Oldie but Goodie, you are treated like royalty. They are there to help you! The rooms are small, but quaint and comfortable. It's located close to everything that you need Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you really want a great Mexican Restaurant near Downtown Phoenix, go to the Comedor Guadalajara! It's been there forever and the locals swear by it! No reservations required!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Travel Guru
Business
California
Nov 22, 2013

Great staff - above and beyond

A friend and I stayed at the San Carlos last week and enjoyed the retro ambience of the hotel. The hotel still has an elegance from another era that sets it apart from modern chain hotels. The service was fantastic-front desk quick and efficient. The best part was our valet, who shared stories of the San Carlos and answered our questions regarding the haunted history of the hotel. He even took care of our luggage. Great employee, ask for Ben!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Copper Blues and Comedy club close by. Great French/Asian cuisine at the San Carlos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandma Kuka
Business
California
Nov 11, 2013

birthday gift to myself

The service was great. Pricilla at the front desk/valet girl went the extra mile to make my visit a pleasure. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJ Nani
Business
Phoenix AZ
Nov 11, 2013

Just OK

Have been here many times over the last ten years and the location is the only thing that makes it OK. I only go here for the grandkids who love the ghost aspect of this historical hotel. Don't go here for a good night's sleep as you can hear the guy in the next room throw up and every step of anyone walking in the hall and the doors slamming in the middle of the night. The pool was supposed to be heated. Maybe it wasn't cold but it wasn't warm either. Rooms were clean. Carpet is filthy. Our feet got black walking from the room to the pool. Front desk girl was inept and defensive. Messed up one of the room reservations- tried giving us one bed rather than two and kept telling me that was what the reservation said- until she double checked, finally, and realized she was wrong. This is the last time I will go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks south on Central Ave is City Scape. The Breakfast Club has a great bfast for a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonC13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 17, 2013

Neat Place to Stay

The Room very very nice and the Hotel history is very cool and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DonC13
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 16, 2013

Great Downtown Find

This is a great quaint cool place to stay. The personality of the building and room was classic. I would recommend anyone to stay here on you next trip to Downtown Phoenix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evy's Mimi
Business
Kenosha WI
Jul 26, 2013

Great historic boutique hotel

The staff were helpful and friendly. I appreciate old buildings, so the age and size did not bother me. The unique history of the building made it all the more interesting. My friend and I had fun anticipating a ghost around every corner. We also enjoyed the rooftop pool as well as the easy access to the light rail. All around a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The light rail was two blocks away and a great way to get around the valley.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top