$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 2, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

2 stars
402 W. Van Buren St., Phoenix, AZ 85003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
72 reviews
Absolutely great value

I booked in here based on ratings and am happy I did. This is the absolute best value in downtown... See full review

  • stephanie47
  • Mar 9, 2014
Wonderful & the price cannot be beat

I was in Phoenix to attend a convention. The convention housing was sold out. This place is walking... See full review

  • June Hotel Review
  • Nov 21, 2013
Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure you will find our motel ideally located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix. Where You will feel At Home. Our rooms are comfortable and spacious which make your stay pleasurable in Phoenix. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast 24 Hour Front Desk Service and Free Parking. Please note that government and corporate reservations cannot be honored at checkin without a valid ID.

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Rooms

One King Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One King Bed Smoking
Description not provided
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.4517 -112.0793
Area served
Mesa, Phoenix, Chandler, Tempe
Nearby airports
Phoenix Deer Valley Airport, (DVT), 16.00, MI, S; Sky Harbor Intl, (PHX), 7.00, MI, SE; Scottsdale Municipal, (SCF), 18.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, From I17 South take I10 to 7th Street exit and make a right. Fo

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.8 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.9 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 6 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Papago Park: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.4 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.9 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.1 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 11.9 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 15.6 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,994.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Overall score

3.7 / 5
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

1
unhappyguess wasted my money
california
Mar 28, 2010

Horrible,unconfortable beds and pillow

This was the worse experience in this hotel. I wanted a couple of coffee in the morning, but there were ants inside the coffee pot. Smells weird in the entrance area. Hard to find staff not one to help and they speak a very poor english. Ugly and unsafe area. You will see homeless outside the parking area. HORRIBLE! I wasted my money and my family were so unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

1
nobody 2091
az
Apr 9, 2012

Do not stay here!!!

Staying at this hotel was a nightmare. I was called in my room and harassed about having two friends with me. Then everytime I left my room and came back the hotel attendants were yelling about having a friend come to the room to drop me off. Customer service is non-existant at this hotel and I will never stay here again. Words cannot express how poorly I was treated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Great location, bad unhelpful service

Great location! Near many venues and couple of blocks away from many restaurants. Also, good area and close by to walk to all these places. The looks of the hotel are not great since it has a gate that might letyou know bad things can happen. However, inside the locked room it's a good place for the money. Unfortunately, the service or I should say the front desk offers bad , unfriendly and unhelpful service to customers. The cleaning of the rooms prove to be really bad as You have to work with their schedule ad not the other way around. If they , on your request, have skipped your room, it will not be clean. Even the manager acknowledged that the cleaning staff had passed by my room and they won't come back. Which hotel asks you to work with the cleaning staff scheduled? It's ridiculous that the manager asks this of their customers. It sucks to have to clean your own room at a hotel. Remember , work with their schedule!! If not, you will be cleaning your own room. Shameful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
Sarge the Mom
Florence, AZ
Jul 20, 2009

The good and the bad

Not the greatest location and outside needs updating, but rooms were clean, bathroom was clean, and all newly renovated so that it was nice on inside. About 7 blocks up is the AZ Center where there are many restaurants. Good location for ballpark and Chase Field. Close to Hard Rock Cafe, too!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only about 8 blocks to Arizona Center where there are many restaurants.

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
Lover of Goulash
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 7, 2012

For an older crowd...

We recently stayed at the Budget Lodge in downtown phoenix for a Saturday night. The lobby had an overwhelming curry scent. The area is not the best part of Phoenix, basically you are paying for proximity to the downtown area. Upon checking in, we are told that the entire facility is enclosed and all patrons must enter through the front of the lobby to enter the room. Annoying, but again not that bad. Obviously, this is precaution because of the area. The room is average -- HBO, a mini fridge & a microwave. Decent room, above average pricing, overbearing owner/curry fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Phoenix is very lively and this is a great opportunity for locals and travelers to experience the nightlife.

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
Horror Malice Aya
Mesa, Az
May 31, 2010

The Good... and some what bad

I've stayed in other Hotels which where nice. I can't say this was bad. The room was nice, the beds where a little comfortable. The wireless net was eh, okay. But it was a nice room and quite, that me and my sister like it a bit. But... I can't say that about the manager, it seemed like every five seconds, he was calling, not to check up on us or anything, he was asking about stuff. Now, I know it's a small place and we are girls but he didn't need to call and ask why the door was open. If I wanted a dad I would have stayed home. But it was close to the Phoenix Convention center for the comicon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Westchester County, NY
Nov 18, 2012

Review of Budget Hotel

The sheets and bathroom were always cleaned and my need for a microwave oven and a refrigerator with a freezer for my medicine was essential. One thing I noted was the WiFi connectivity. Despite my repeated attempts, I could not obtain WiFi connectivity. The owner tried to help me but I could not enter the password key to gain access to this encrypted WiFi connection. Other than that, my stay was what I expected; an economical hotel within walking distance to the Phoenix Convention Center. The street people and the people sleeping on the sidewalk made my night time walks back to the hotel exciting. Best Regards, Terry Kane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 23, 2010

cheap and adequate

Clean, quiet, close to resteraunts, easy to find. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
Karlibero
Thousand Oaks
Jun 6, 2010

Motel Review

Clean, good value, and nice management. Enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
SLC, Utah
Dec 13, 2010

Budget Lodge Phoenix

Ok, but for the price should have come with more of a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top