$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

2 stars
402 W. Van Buren St., 402 W. Van Buren St., Phoenix, AZ 85003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Absolutely great value

I booked in here based on ratings and am happy I did. This is the absolute best value in downtown... See full review

  • stephanie47
  • Mar 9, 2014
Wonderful & the price cannot be beat

I was in Phoenix to attend a convention. The convention housing was sold out. This place is walking... See full review

  • June Hotel Review
  • Nov 21, 2013
Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, you will find our motel ideally located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix. Where You will feel At Home. Our rooms are comfortable and spacious, which make your stay pleasurable in Phoenix. We offer Complimentary Continental Breakfast, 24 Hour Front Desk Service, and Free Parking. Please note that government and corporate reservations cannot be honored at check-in without a valid ID.

Hotel Map

33.4517 -112.0793
Area served
Located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Deer Valley Airport, (DVT), 16.00, MI, S; Sky Harbor Intl, (PHX), 7.00, MI, SE; Scottsdale Municipal, (SCF), 18.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Rooms

One King Bed Non-Smoking
This one king bed nonsmoking room will hold up to 2 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer.
One King Bed Smoking
This one king bed smoking room will hold up to 2 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer
Two Double Beds Non-Smoki
This two double beds nonsmoking room will hold up to 4 people and includes wireless high speed internet, mini-refrig, microwave, and hairdryer.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • US Airways Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Rosson House: 0.8 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 0.9 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Heard Museum: 1.5 mi
  • South Mountain: 5 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 5.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 5.8 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 5.9 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 6 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 7.2 mi
  • Papago Park: 7.3 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 7.4 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 7.9 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 7.9 mi
  • America West Arena: 9.1 mi
  • Western Destinations: 11.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 11.9 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 16 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 6,994.9 mi

Dining

Alice Cooperstown
Nearby
Applebees
Nearby
Copper Square Cafe
Nearby
Hooters
Nearby
IHOP
Nearby
Burger King
Nearby
Macayos Mexican Kitchen
Nearby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.5

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nobody 2091
Business
az
Apr 9, 2012

Do not stay here!!!

Staying at this hotel was a nightmare. I was called in my room and harassed about having two friends with me. Then everytime I left my room and came back the hotel attendants were yelling about having a friend come to the room to drop me off. Customer service is non-existant at this hotel and I will never stay here again. Words cannot express how poorly I was treated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappyguess wasted my money
Business
california
Mar 28, 2010

Horrible,unconfortable beds and pillow

This was the worse experience in this hotel. I wanted a couple of coffee in the morning, but there were ants inside the coffee pot. Smells weird in the entrance area. Hard to find staff not one to help and they speak a very poor english. Ugly and unsafe area. You will see homeless outside the parking area. HORRIBLE! I wasted my money and my family were so unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lover of Goulash
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Mar 7, 2012

For an older crowd...

We recently stayed at the Budget Lodge in downtown phoenix for a Saturday night. The lobby had an overwhelming curry scent. The area is not the best part of Phoenix, basically you are paying for proximity to the downtown area. Upon checking in, we are told that the entire facility is enclosed and all patrons must enter through the front of the lobby to enter the room. Annoying, but again not that bad. Obviously, this is precaution because of the area. The room is average -- HBO, a mini fridge & a microwave. Decent room, above average pricing, overbearing owner/curry fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Phoenix is very lively and this is a great opportunity for locals and travelers to experience the nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester County, NY
Nov 18, 2012

Review of Budget Hotel

The sheets and bathroom were always cleaned and my need for a microwave oven and a refrigerator with a freezer for my medicine was essential. One thing I noted was the WiFi connectivity. Despite my repeated attempts, I could not obtain WiFi connectivity. The owner tried to help me but I could not enter the password key to gain access to this encrypted WiFi connection. Other than that, my stay was what I expected; an economical hotel within walking distance to the Phoenix Convention Center. The street people and the people sleeping on the sidewalk made my night time walks back to the hotel exciting. Best Regards, Terry Kane

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sarge the Mom
Business
Florence, AZ
Jul 20, 2009

The good and the bad

Not the greatest location and outside needs updating, but rooms were clean, bathroom was clean, and all newly renovated so that it was nice on inside. About 7 blocks up is the AZ Center where there are many restaurants. Good location for ballpark and Chase Field. Close to Hard Rock Cafe, too!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only about 8 blocks to Arizona Center where there are many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Horror Malice Aya
Business
Mesa, Az
May 31, 2010

The Good... and some what bad

I've stayed in other Hotels which where nice. I can't say this was bad. The room was nice, the beds where a little comfortable. The wireless net was eh, okay. But it was a nice room and quite, that me and my sister like it a bit. But... I can't say that about the manager, it seemed like every five seconds, he was calling, not to check up on us or anything, he was asking about stuff. Now, I know it's a small place and we are girls but he didn't need to call and ask why the door was open. If I wanted a dad I would have stayed home. But it was close to the Phoenix Convention center for the comicon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Mar 19, 2011

Great location, bad unhelpful service

Great location! Near many venues and couple of blocks away from many restaurants. Also, good area and close by to walk to all these places. The looks of the hotel are not great since it has a gate that might letyou know bad things can happen. However, inside the locked room it's a good place for the money. Unfortunately, the service or I should say the front desk offers bad , unfriendly and unhelpful service to customers. The cleaning of the rooms prove to be really bad as You have to work with their schedule ad not the other way around. If they , on your request, have skipped your room, it will not be clean. Even the manager acknowledged that the cleaning staff had passed by my room and they won't come back. Which hotel asks you to work with the cleaning staff scheduled? It's ridiculous that the manager asks this of their customers. It sucks to have to clean your own room at a hotel. Remember , work with their schedule!! If not, you will be cleaning your own room. Shameful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Mel
Business
Washington
Feb 19, 2014

Over night stay

Quiet room, good continental breakfast, clean room, close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Close to the Heard Museum and downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
one night traveler in PHX
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Quiet and Clean

Looks can be deceiving. Hotel was very quiet and the room was clean. perfect for a one night stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
P.E.
Business
Washington State
Dec 15, 2011

Business

I had looked for lodging in the downtown area and the prices were more than I wanted to pay for the time I was going to spend in my room. My criteria was an affordable price, close to confernce hotel, a clean comfortable room, and a feeling of safety since I was traveling alone. The Budget Lodge meant all my criteria. If your looking for affordable lodging, with comfortable, clean rooms the Budget Lodge meets the criteria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top