$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
267 reviews
great water park

we had an awesome time at the waterpark, all the amenities at this hotel are five star, the staff... See full review

  • Ezombie
  • Jul 28, 2014
"Stay-cation"

We are from Tucson with 2 boys (Ages 2 and 3), looking for some family fun. We sure had a blast and... See full review

  • elasia
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.3774 -111.9719
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).
Area description
Located near various shopping districts, entertainment and sporting venues. Phoenix Sky Harbor Int'l airport: 6mi/9km, 8 minutes

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 10.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 7,002.7 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent SD Traveller
Business
San Diego
Oct 11, 2012

Business Trip

The golf course was closed for re-seeding and not mentioned to us at checkin and the fitness center was also closed and not mentioned until we checked in, not notified in advance whch was the reason we chose your hotel. Prime hours of 7-9AM Fitness Center closed due to professional football team in house. And I was charged a $25.00 resort fee per day and couldn't use the golf course or fitness center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maddison
Portsmouth
Sep 2, 2012

family getaway

i enjoyed my stay at the hotel everything was what l hoped this place would be. the staff were great and food was great. we also enjoyed the oasis park . it didnt matter that we didnt have a hired car because the hotel was quite happy to provide cars to and fro the shoping mall A great thanks to all the staff who made our stay very comfortable and oh the room was just fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rhino1
Las Vegas
Aug 29, 2012

Poor Staff and New Staff

Great golf, landscape and family atmosphere but: - Old furniture and carpet in rooms - My room had ceiling leaks bathroom and bedroom from old noisy AC system - Room service delivered wrong foods and higher prices - Long waits on all services room service, operator etc and concierge not available on weekends. You find this out after caling several times. The phone justbrings with no message. Finally when your frutratedenough to call the operator you are told this. - No front desk staff or bell staff could tell me the location/direction of places in the area and recreation guide that are in the hotel rooms - No beverage machines near pools and restaurant s closed. Room service required. - Entire hotel needs a paint job. Looks run down. -Overall a two star hotel at five star price. You will get better value for money elsewhere if you are accustomed to 4 or 5 star service. I travel a lot and this hotel is mis rated in my opinion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don and Charlie's restaurant in Scottsdale. Bus casual in a basebal filled memorelia. Great food and service at reasonable price. Staffvare so good some have been there 20 years plus

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy On The Go
Mesa, AZ
Aug 11, 2012

Beautiful property

The suites are every thing you could want..clean and well kept. Rustler's Rooste has good food with a fantastic view. I recommend using the smaller swimming pools located around the property...(avoid the water park complex it is way too crowded...what a nightmare).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrite
pine bluff arkansas
Aug 6, 2012

not quite a 4 star

this is a nice older hotel with a great waterpark. I stayed in a king suite there is not a fridge or microwave in the room. and the restaurants are very expensive. The hotel shuttle will take you to the mall so you can eat at one of the restaurants there. The fitness classes are ok at best. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is spotless. Overall i had a nice time .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Adams
Philadelphia, PA
May 14, 2012

Last minute getaway to visit my son.

Resort was beautiful! My issue was with the fact that I booked the room on Orb... and therefore was treated like a second class guest. They claim I HAD to pay the outrageous resort fee of $40.00 a day, which I did not subcribe to as I didn't need those amenities. They told me because I used a third party to book, I HAD to pay. They then wanted to charge me an additional $20.00 a night to say in a building closer to the water park. I am 55 years old, I don't care about the water park so I told them to give me a room further away. Guess What, they gave me a room right next to the park. So, I guess they would rather have the rooms empty then to please a guest that might come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
s. lee
honolulu, hi
May 14, 2012

Great family place

Great place for family and very convenient to malls for the shoppers. Staff was good enough to locate three different rooms in the same building for the convenience of our part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrisNmor
Massachusetts, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Fun place for families

My 6 year old daughter & I had a great time. Yes the tv's are old but the rest of our suite was great. We stayed in the Sedona suites which was a great location for us. Close to water park and not too far from the lobby. First day at water park we ate at the water park. Yuck. Sub par food. So each day after we went to the lobby grill and enjoyed the view of the golf course while dining outiside. Stay away from aunt chilada's...gross. But if you go for just chips and margaretisa that would be good. The gelato in the lobby gift shop is great. Also check out rustler roose...super fun place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

ask for an upgrade, front desk people are really nice!

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gcmom
Tempe, AZ, USA
Feb 24, 2012

water park nice, rest is only so-so

Water park is good if you have young children. Didn't like that my pocketbook was searched as I entered the pool to see if I was bringing in outside food. Food/drinks at pool are pricey. Room was never cleaned after 1st night. Had to call twice for towels. Also had to call twice for blankets and pillows for pull out sofa. Bedding has nice comforters/sheets, but mattresses underneath are horrible. Bathroom is so tiny you can barely get in and get the door closed. Called the spa on at least 6 occasions to schedule facial and never got an answer. Workout area and locker rooms are nice. Driving range is very weak. Low flight plastic balls are a waste of time and area is not well maintained. Would not stay at this hotel again unless I was with young children that would enjoy the water park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to ASU, Tempe Marketplace (lots of restaurants and shopping) and short drive to Scottsdale (lots of jewelry stores and restaurants)

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blalb
michigan
Oct 12, 2011

$$

After you book with an online company, you have to pay a daily deposit of 30 dollars to use the water park, thats only open saturday and sunday, and the athletic club. this deposit should be based on usage. also they charge 15 a day for internet. common, even the travel lodge gives free internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the rustlers rooste was a great time, good food and good view

Back to menu Return to top