$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
View map of 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
202 reviews
Amazing family resort!

Arizona Grand Resort exceeded our expectations. The rooms are comfortable suites and very clean.... See full review

  • L.A.D
  • Apr 12, 2015
Family Spring Break

This was our fifth time at the AZ Grand and we just love it! Great location, terrific amenities.... See full review

  • Brad S.
  • Apr 9, 2015
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 19.7 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 202
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
take us away
Business
Green Bay, WI
Mar 30, 2014

Too many complaints...worst resort we've been to.

We travel often. Online, this place looked top notch. In reality, it is a little dated and very overpriced for the quality. Our friends were given refunds off part of the cost of their room for similar complaints, but because we booked through this site, they were not able or willing to do the same for us. They did wave the resort fee though. We stayed in a queen suite, our friends had a villa, which was more updated. Several days, they closed the slides because of a convention going on. The pool was closed for a private party one night. The mini bar fridge did not cool and there were not any available for us to get a different one. The bathtub faucet leaked the entire time. The sink is right in the middle of the bedroom, not too convenient whan people are sleeping.The room had an alley view, which wasn't terrible, but the delivery trucks delivered EVERY single day to that back entrance beginning at 4:30 am and continuing every half hour or so, well into the morning. Did not enjoy listening to the "backup beeps" the trucks make, even on Saturday. We were on 5th floor, can't imagine how loud it was lower. The pool was nice, but overcrowded, and food was extremely overpriced and no carry ins are allowed. Restaurants were also very overpriced, with slow service. We will not be returning here. Also, will not book through here because you have no recourse when things are not to your standards. we already had it paid for, so could not leave for different resort or get money off. Location is close to airport, but all the towns and restaurants with character are a drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go to Scottsdale, resorts are much nicer and there is more to do with better restaurants and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Horrible Service at Front Desk

Upon Check in the lady at the front desk was incompetent. They did not have to be next to each. The person I had spoken to on the phone (who was awesome and very friendly) said that would not be a problem and that only two of the rooms had come through and he would watch for the third and it would be arranged. The first set of rooms were exactly as we had. For our third room we checked in later and instead of even asking what type of room we wanted she made the assumption that we wanted two queen beds and said there was nothing available. They tried telling us that not only could we not get our rooms next to each other but we would be on complete opposite sides of the property. We were there as supervision over a 13 year old birthday party. What parent would find this accetable? I told her we would need a King Bed in one room and two queens in the other. She was VERY rude and did not let me even finish my sentance. Thankfully the guy working with her eventually overheard and interupted her. He said you are looking a King bed? We replied yes and within 10 seconds we were checked in and good to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Knoxville Tn
Jun 15, 2010

wound not send my worst enemy there

repulsive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mark F.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Resort Fee???

We had to pay an additional $157.16 for this 4 day stay! There was a $35 dollar resort fee with $4.29 tax. If we had known about the fee we would have chosen a different hotel. Not happy with this!!! Room was basically a hotel room, except there was a couch...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gardenmum
Business
Beaverton, Oregon
Mar 30, 2014

Not at all what the getaway described!!

We imagined, after reading the hotel description, that we were going to this fantastic hotel with an awesome waterpark, everything but! The hotel was hosting a week long conference, so the 8 story water slides were not in operation the first 2 1/2 days of our stay , because the operation of the slides were too noisy for the conference people. Wish I would have known this before I booked this particular hotel. Our daughter and her friend slept on the pull out couch bed, and oh my gosh, the springs were poking through the mattress. We had to find extra blankets so they could lay on them for some comfort. The hotel restaurant was so unorganized, from being waited on to workers forgetting what we had ordered! The front lobby desk was understaffed, which left people checking in and out waiting on long lines. Also, buses that transported the conference people were parked right out of our room, taking up our parking and idling while waiting. I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless I read a review that they took care of the negative problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tlg.
Business
Wichita,Kansas
Mar 25, 2011

Would not stay here again

This hotel seemed unprepared for the spring break crowd. The restaurant could not keep up with the lines. The food is expensive and only average, and the service is below average. The restaurant choices on the resort are limited and there are really no other choices that are close. There is a coffee shop, but the service was not good. We were not in a remodeled room and our room was very dirty -carpet and walls. Faucet in bathtub ran constantly. There is not much around the resort and everything is at least a $25 cab ride away. There is an outlet mall close, but is nothing special. The spa experience was good. The grounds and pool area were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The botanical gardens were a nice afternoon trip. 2 hours is plenty. Skip the tours of the Phoenix area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Mar 26, 2010

OVERRATED!

This hotel was nice, but nothing for what you pay for. The hotel was NOT worth the price. The front desk people showed us that we got a deal. That my friends was not a deal. WOW! We travel two times a year on family vacations and this was by for the worst one of all in the past 5 years (10 total). The food was very average for the inflated price. Drinks, adult and kids, over priced. The beds were the best! Close to shopping. The pool was fun, slides and lazy river. Way too many rules and the lifeguards were lazy. The weight/ cardio rooms were average. A lot of equipment, but showing a lot of age. I think they should put some of the $30 + tax fees, for the pool and wt rooms, to use. This too was a huge fee that is NOT worth it. Hotels everywhere have just as nice of stuff. I would not recommend this hotel to any traveler. I write this because I use reviews everytime I go on vacation, and I hope this helps other travelers. I am not usually this critical TD 3.26.10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Both outlet and regular shopping. 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san fran
Apr 12, 2011

disappointing

While the staff was very nice the rooms were dirty and had holes in bedding. The automatic resort fee which was undisclosed on [...]was high at $30 per room per night. Also food was very overpriced at water park. The place felt like a bait and switch with lower room rates and then all the extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Isabel S.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Disappointing

Nobody went above or beyond... there courteous but no one care that we were there... our room wasn't cleaned by the time we came back from our outing.. about 430pm... parking is horrible... but for $700 for two night stay plus $100 resort fees... not worth it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dwood
Business
colorado
Mar 21, 2014

Just ok

The only reason I would choose this over any other hotel is the water park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top