$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
183 reviews
OMG, SIMPLY AMAZING!

My family and I had a blast! First time Phoenix visitors, and first time staying at this amazing... See full review

  • JTTown Traveler
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun family experience

This is a fun place to stay with kids. The water park is included with the room and is fun! There... See full review

  • kywh
  • Sep 7, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.3774 -111.9719
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).
Area description
Located near various shopping districts, entertainment and sporting venues. Phoenix Sky Harbor Int'l airport: 6mi/9km, 8 minutes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 7,002.7 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Painesville
Jul 1, 2008

My review of Arizona Grand Resort

THE ARIZONA GRAND HOTEL WAS VERY NICE.DIDN'T GET TO GOLF BUT MY ROOM OVERLOOKED THE COURSE IT LOOKED REALLY NICE. THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE THE ROOM WAS SO FAR AWAY FROM HOTEL AMMENITIES THAT I HAD TO DRIVE TO GET ANYWHERE AND THERE WAS NO WHERE TO PARK, EVEN NEAR THE ROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

THE RESORT ALSO HAD A WATERPARK ON THE GROUNDS BUT I HAD TO DRIVE TO GET CLOSE TO IT BECAUSE MY ROOM WAS SO FAR AWAY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 7, 2011

Relaxing Arizona Vacation

Most of the time we stayed on the Resort property. We arrived in the evening on Friday so we decided to eat dinner on the property at Aunt Chilada's and the food was very good - I recommend the queso and the pollo fundido. The best meal we had while we were there was at The Mission in Scottsdale. I enjoyed the amenities on the property. The only complaint I had was the fact that the tv's in the room were small, tube tv's and didn't have HD, but we were barely in the room so it wasn't that big of a deal. The Lobby Grill had very good food and the bloody mary's and pina colada's at the Oasis were delicious. I would definitely stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a little more than a short drive to Scottsdale, but we took a cab to a place called The Mission and the food was delicious! I would go back there in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Beloit, IL
Jul 29, 2008

This is a hotel trying to find itself

The Arizona Grand is in the process of being re-invented from part of a trio of resorts in the Phoenix area.There is construction everywhere, the restaurants are no longer owned by the hotel, and quality is significantly lower than it used to be - one had even shut down. The staff has not been trained well, especially the staff at the water park. Finally, The resort had a large tent structure set up to accomodate groups of teeneagers involved in sports tournamenst, and while we were there we had two groups of 300+ teens check in - 4-6 to a room with about 1 adult per 20 kids - this made for an interesting time to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Large outlet mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oceanside
Jun 23, 2008

Family Fun in the Sun

This was our third summer visit to the arizona Grand. We have two boys age 9 and 11. They love the waterpark, and the food at the waterpark. The rooms are great for a family with the two rooms. We stayed in a renovated room in the Sedona wing by the waterpark. I liked the renovated room. My husband and I like taking turns going to the spa for adults. This time we didn't pay for treatments like massage or facials but had massages before they were fine. We always dine up at Rustlers Roost each visit and it is fun and love the view. Family friendly. I love all the fountains on the property. I also like the pools by the rooms when you dont want all the waterpark stuff. We take all the resort minibar stuff out of the fridge and put our own drinks ect in the little fridge. It is ok. There is plenty of ice as needed from machines each wing. The new beds are really comfy. A plus. I really wish they would remodel the elevators!!! the Aizona Mills mall is a fun way to spend the day and get out of the heat! We also had fun at the rawhide town and western shows ect for the kids one night. We ate at the Rawhide dinner house too and it was really good and a fun evening. Fun tourist place. Very friendly people at that little town. The resort has very friendly workers too. Another fun time in Arizona sun by all. Great summer affortabe family fun. Just be prepared for hot hot heat and just stay cool in the pools or inside in aircooled areas. You can not lay out for long but as soon as I got hot I just jumped in the great wave pool!!!!Keep your flip flops near you at all times when at the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business traveler who brings family with
Business
Mason City
Apr 15, 2010

Great Rooms, great resort

Hotel lobby was nice with a over-priced resturant. Room was real nice, with a bedroom and seperate seating area with wet bar. old 20" tube TV's, but we didn't need to spend much time in the room as each area had it's own pool or you could go down to the water park. Great for kids. Pricing.....dont forget about the $30/day resort fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of resturants just a few blocks away, the roost up on the hill on the south side, or mexican, or sea food just on the other side of the interstate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired and needed a break
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Sep 24, 2009

Very Relaxing Getaway

Very relaxing. The water park was only open one day while I was there. Would have been nice to know in advance for planning. It was end of season but I wasn't aware of that when planning trip. The pools were very clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park changed hours to weekends only. Would have been nice to know in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilber, AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Great Family Escape

Our Stay was great for a Fathers Day weekend in town getaway. It was a great way to stay in town and not have to pack a lot ,but felt like we were in a whole new city. The staff was very nice and made us feel very welcome even the kids. The views were great our room over looked the water park. The only complaints is that we thought we booked a room that had a separate bedroom/living area but didn't get it. Other than the room not being what we wanted the stay was a weekend we will remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had an hour wait at the Mexican restaurant Aunt Chiladas at the bottom of the resort. Next time we will just order pizza to the room, food was not worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Good place for adolescents

Great location if you're more intersteed in Tempe, than Scottsdale. On the weekends this hotel becomes a fraternity party. The adults ruin it, not the kids. For the money, I'd try the Westin Kierland, or someplace nicer. also, the $30 surcharge doesn't cover internet as other people have commented on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visit again
Business
Olympia, WA
Aug 2, 2011

Awesome

Everything is there that you need. Rooms are clean and roomy. We will go back again. Reataurant is reasonably pried and food is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel shuttle will take you to Rustler's Roost, excellent food and atmosphere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Assured
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 5, 2009

Desert Oasis

Great Resort for families! The Oasis Park was a perfect place to spend the days and evenings, a true oasis from the 118 degree heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rustlers Roost - Great place to dine 1-night, real western atmosphere, view overlooking the city, country band and dancing, even a slide to get into the dining room. Also, 2-Malls 1-AZ Mills (outlet mall), 2- Fiesta Mall (Macy's Dillards & teen friendly stores)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top