$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
177 reviews
great water park

we had an awesome time at the waterpark, all the amenities at this hotel are five star, the staff... See full review

  • Ezombie
  • Jul 28, 2014
"Stay-cation"

We are from Tucson with 2 boys (Ages 2 and 3), looking for some family fun. We sure had a blast and... See full review

  • elasia
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.3774 -111.9719
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).
Area description
Located near various shopping districts, entertainment and sporting venues. Phoenix Sky Harbor Int'l airport: 6mi/9km, 8 minutes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 10.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 7,002.7 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
177 out of 177
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bakersfield, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Good place for adolescents

Great location if you're more intersteed in Tempe, than Scottsdale. On the weekends this hotel becomes a fraternity party. The adults ruin it, not the kids. For the money, I'd try the Westin Kierland, or someplace nicer. also, the $30 surcharge doesn't cover internet as other people have commented on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tommys mom
tempe, az
Jun 26, 2014

great place to staycation

The rooms are all suites so its roomy. The waterpark was clean and had lots of different things to do. Staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffee and muffins in the front lobby are excellent

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PhilD.
Lakewood, NJ
Nov 24, 2013

Excellent all around!

This is an all-inclusive resort and I would recommend it to anyone desiring to relax, golf, eat well and/or chill out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great gift shop

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilber, AZ
Jun 28, 2010

Great Family Escape

Our Stay was great for a Fathers Day weekend in town getaway. It was a great way to stay in town and not have to pack a lot ,but felt like we were in a whole new city. The staff was very nice and made us feel very welcome even the kids. The views were great our room over looked the water park. The only complaints is that we thought we booked a room that had a separate bedroom/living area but didn't get it. Other than the room not being what we wanted the stay was a weekend we will remember.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

We had an hour wait at the Mexican restaurant Aunt Chiladas at the bottom of the resort. Next time we will just order pizza to the room, food was not worth the wait.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new jersey
Jul 20, 2009

Beautiful setting not for relaxing

The resort is very pretty, but it is not for the 'need to get away' vacationer. When we arrived we were originally placed in the Sedona Suites which we learned later that night had 304 rooms filled with teenagers for a cheerleader camp. We were graciously moved to the Camelback Suites once we called the front desk and the party going on in the pool 4 floors below could be heard through the phone. The new suites were situated near the waterpark which proved a bit noisy as well and parking was so bad that they shuttled us to and from our car which we had to park in a completely different section of the resort. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfy. Unfortunately, I questioned the cleanliness when the kid's feet were black on the bottom after running around in the room barefoot for a few hours. The staff was polite and accommodating, and incredibly helpful with directions...we frequently got lost and disorientated in the resort. Everything did have it's price though. A bagel and oj ordered via room service ended up costing $15 with all the added fees. However, the milkshakes at the oasis water park were well worth it. All in all, it's a great place to bring kids, but not the most restful of vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Check with the lobby upon check-in if there are any events in your area of the hotel. They host late night parties at some of the pools with movie viewings that last way into the night.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort MOhave, AZ
Feb 1, 2010

Polly's Stay at the Grand

I attended a seminar while at the hotel, so I didn't get to enjoy the resort, but I had to pay the resort fee. I did enjoy a massage while I was there and it was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

their resturants at the resort where close and reasonably priced

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired and needed a break
Fairbanks, AK
Sep 24, 2009

Very Relaxing Getaway

Very relaxing. The water park was only open one day while I was there. Would have been nice to know in advance for planning. It was end of season but I wasn't aware of that when planning trip. The pools were very clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park changed hours to weekends only. Would have been nice to know in advance.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamajest
Minnesota
Apr 18, 2013

Excellent Value and Family Friendly!

Very nice! Water park was a blast! A convenient location with nice ammenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver,CO
Jul 3, 2011

Very Nice Place! Fun for the family

We love the Oasis Water Park but got rather busy and extremely crowedl. We spent a lot of time at the water park. I think it was so full of people that it got quite dirty and smelled. The price of food is very expensive. We rented a car and went to some other restaurants in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane2266 Smith
Phoenix, Arizona
Jul 22, 2014

Great Weekend Getaway

This is a nice place to go for the weekend. The water park is fun, food is good and rooms are large. We really enjoyed the sitting area in back of lobby. Food at the water park is a little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search