$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
267 reviews
great water park

we had an awesome time at the waterpark, all the amenities at this hotel are five star, the staff... See full review

  • Ezombie
  • Jul 28, 2014
"Stay-cation"

We are from Tucson with 2 boys (Ages 2 and 3), looking for some family fun. We sure had a blast and... See full review

  • elasia
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

33.3774 -111.9719
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).
Area description
Located near various shopping districts, entertainment and sporting venues. Phoenix Sky Harbor Int'l airport: 6mi/9km, 8 minutes

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 10.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 7,002.7 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Niece-in-Law
Minnesota
Oct 26, 2010

Quiet, relaxing resort

The room was clean and quiet. I only used the hotel to rest and sleep. I only encountered the staff at check-in. Otherwise I did not see any other staff during the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have breakfast at US Egg on Baseline Road. The food is good and all the locals eat there. Free Wi-Fi too.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
arizona t.h.t.h.
wa
Jun 17, 2013

pretty ok

Love the water fun! Close to whole foods. Wish the coffee shop in lobby was open longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jamewaME
BUCKEYE AZ
Apr 22, 2014

FAMILY STAY

We love the pool but it's very hard when we have a family of 6 staying and we had to pay an extra for bands to get in. When booking we asked for two beds and ended up with 1 king. What really upset me was the next morning at 9:30am we had a knock at the door and room service walking in on us. We called the front desk so see what check out time was which was 11 to 12 and the front desks response was "huh that's weird". The cost of the room with the hotel fee's was not worth the stay. $300. for one day is a little too much for a suit that isn't much bigger than a regular room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Colorado Mike
Washington State
Mar 7, 2010

Doesn't all add up

The resort was beautiful although directly off the interstate which made it seem less exclusive. We had to pay extra to get a room that did not overlook the parking lot. We had to pay a resort fee of $30.00 to access the fitness club and the waterpark. This is a mandatory fee that should be included in the overall price. So basically we had to pay extra to use the on-site waterpark. This may be petty, but if you are going to advertise that you feature Starbucks coffee, then have it throughout the resort - not just in the lobby gift shop. Maybe they are hurting for cash but everywhere we turned, they were looking for more money. For the amount of money we ended up paying, we did not get what we've gotten at many other places. We will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Ajo Al's in Scottsdale. Excellent Mexican food and well worth the 20 minute drive.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrite
pine bluff arkansas
Aug 6, 2012

not quite a 4 star

this is a nice older hotel with a great waterpark. I stayed in a king suite there is not a fridge or microwave in the room. and the restaurants are very expensive. The hotel shuttle will take you to the mall so you can eat at one of the restaurants there. The fitness classes are ok at best. The staff is super friendly and the hotel is spotless. Overall i had a nice time .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gcmom
Tempe, AZ, USA
Feb 24, 2012

water park nice, rest is only so-so

Water park is good if you have young children. Didn't like that my pocketbook was searched as I entered the pool to see if I was bringing in outside food. Food/drinks at pool are pricey. Room was never cleaned after 1st night. Had to call twice for towels. Also had to call twice for blankets and pillows for pull out sofa. Bedding has nice comforters/sheets, but mattresses underneath are horrible. Bathroom is so tiny you can barely get in and get the door closed. Called the spa on at least 6 occasions to schedule facial and never got an answer. Workout area and locker rooms are nice. Driving range is very weak. Low flight plastic balls are a waste of time and area is not well maintained. Would not stay at this hotel again unless I was with young children that would enjoy the water park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to ASU, Tempe Marketplace (lots of restaurants and shopping) and short drive to Scottsdale (lots of jewelry stores and restaurants)

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrs. bennington
Phoenix, Arizona
May 6, 2013

Over-priced

We paid a lot for this package because we hadn't had a nice vacation in a long time and wanted something special. When we looked at one of the websites for the Arizona Grand, it said they had tennis courts. There used to be, but not anymore. The Oasis hours were ridiculous. 11:00-4:00!! But the biggest disappointment was when we checked out and had to pay a $40.00 resort per day for wireless service that never worked. $280 more dollars on an already expensive trip, for nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queen Creek, Az
Sep 14, 2009

Couples Getaway

Our room was right next the service elevator, so we got all kinds of banging noise. The wall where paper thin and hear children in the pool down stairs, and running around early in the morning. Also found a little bug crawling on me in the bed when i woke up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
Feb 10, 2010

For the price, not impressive but ok

The hotel was pricey and over-staffed. As a result the occupancy was extremely low. Additionally, though I was there only for a two day business meeting, a spa fee applies, simply for it's existence. This is all fine for a five star hotel, but the rooms were not vacuumed, and the dishes were dirty from the previous occupants. This would be expected at a simple motel, but not the Grand Resort Spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela D
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jan 19, 2011

The Arizona

The Grand Resort is easy to find at I-10 and Baseline Rd in beautiful Phoenix. It's entrance and approach are fitting for the name, but the difficulty starts there. After a year and a half, management still does not have well lit obvious signage that directs you to the registration desk. After several attempts I was finally directed to a building at the end of the road with minimal signs pointing the way. Already a tad bit upset, I approached the front desk where one young lady was on the phone. I was asked to wait and did so for over five minutes while she looked for what I found out later was a VIP list. My only reprieve was when another staff member noticed I was waiting and the young girl flagged her down not to help ME, but to help HER find the VIP list. At this time I told her I was a VIP and I would like to get checked in. Well, the other staffer called the night manager for me, offered me a drink and tried to undo the anger and exasperation built up in waiting. The night manager took me to my room, you have to drive, and carried my luggage and helped me to the room. I cant give the Resort higher than three stars. The sidewalks and stairs need to be cleaned of old gum and spilled pop. The rooms are a standard suite type room with typical appointments nothing above any other suite hotel. The room service is very good. It is prompt and quick, less than 30 minutes. The food is hot and appetizing and flavorful. The menu isn't expansive with local favorites saved for the mexican restaurant next to the Resort. I had a Caesar salad with chicken which was large, the chicken warm and sliced in manageable bites, with a good dressing. The Filet was just a touch over cooked but still pink and juicy, and a very good cut, tender and flavorful. Desert was cheesecake which was also very good. I did have few mis cues on the ordering, for which they were quick to offer a discount or refund. Housekeeping was quick quiet and never intrusive. Even on days when I didn't put the do not disturb sign out, they never bothered me and were able to always take care of turning over the room while I was gone. My room was next to a pool, there are several and were very clean and very well kept, that was a mixed blessing. The resort was hosting a gymnastics event and there were many squealing young girls in the pool until it closed, about 10pm. I'm glad they had fun and it didn't bother me, but to be complete i thought to throw it in. Checkout was easy via the phone, there was plenty of well lighted parking, but the lighting ended there. The hallways, all out doors, are so dark I couldn't see the door to use my key card. It was so dark outside my rooms door, I couldn't tell who was outside the door when someone knocked. To sum it up, poor placement and signs about the registration desk. Poor attention to guest checking in. Poor lighting along walkways and in front of room doors. Walkways spotted with old gum and the such and the stairs could use a good pressure wash too. Average suite type rooms, typical appointments, noise from the pools, good house keeping. Very good room service, under 30 minutes, food was very good, limited selection, quick to correct errors. Easy to find, very close to any type of dining and entertainment, very easy access to the freeway system, an on site water park (which I can't comment on, didn't go to it) and on site golf. Lots of parking. Thats about it. Price was about what you would expect from a resort, but the resort fee is 30$ and I did nothing that would justify them charging me any thing. I should have gotten a refund for not using any of the facilities that are covered by the resort fee. It's just another way of increasing the price of an average room. Only 3 Stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is anything you can think of to eat with in a short drive. Very easy access to I-10, Scottsdale and the Airport are minutes away.

Back to menu Return to top