$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
View map of 8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Louis, MO
Apr 2, 2010

Good for Families

This resort has a great location! It is close to the airport and downtown Phoenix(less than 10 miles)and it sits just outside of Tempe where their are more restaurants, bars, shopping locations than you can shake a stick at. The resort sits just off the interstate but it is very well screened and you would never know that you are in a major metropolitan area unless you are entering/exiting the resort. This place is perfect for families, especicially if the kids are 5-15. The waterpark is defintely geared toward kids in that age group. A few downsides: The place may be priced a little too high for the service you receive. The people are friendly, they do have an on site shuttle service and you do get admittance into the waterpark, but not much else. They struggled to clean our room in a timely manner and seemed to foget something everyday (mini bar key, clean cups, more towels, more coffee, etc.) The older portions of the resort are still very nice, however, the balconies are not safe for young children. All in all, it was a nice place to stay, but I'll try someplace else the next time I'm in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Oregano's in Tempe. Oregano's is a local pizza chain. Some of the best pizza we've ever eaten. Get the thin crust and the deep dish. You will not regret it. Dine in only, no delivery. Awesome customer service!

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calie Mama
Family
San Francisco, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Great place for families

This was our first visit to Arizona and we came here for my cousin's wedding. We traveled around Labor Day Weekend and decided to stay 2 nights, totaling about $230+ for a king sized bed. When we arrived, we were greeted by a super friendly staff who immediately whisk you away to your room. Upon entering the room, I noticed that everything was new and clean. There was a coffee maker, dry cleaner, lots of towels, a very clean bed. We had our infant w/ us and noticed that they had a service where they would deliver cribs to your room if you needed it (which is great if you don't want to lug one on an airplane). There are three villas which are somewhat connected, a waterpark somewhat in the middle, and the lobby was quite far from our villa so they made it a point to call for transportation if needed (golf cart). I've noticed a lot of families here which was great, our daughter had her first swimming experience here and the pools were very clean. A resort fee is charged every day you are here which is about $30/person. When you have lots of people w/ you, that can get quite pricey. You get a wristband to enter the waterpark, however, I can see how easy it can be to pass your armband through the fence to let another one of your family members in. The water slides were the main attraction of the park, and apparently they smell of urine and "barn yard" when you make the climb up the stairs to get to the top. My husband told me the slide was very fun, however, the journey up was very unsanitary. There were LOTS of people there when we were there which made it very crowded and not so fun, so we left early. Rustlers Rooste was where we ate at that evening and that was a very family friendly country inspired restaurant with a live country band and a live bull outside. I highly recommend coming to this restaurant w/ a family if you stay at the resort b/c it is so close and transportation there can be arranged via the hotel. When my daughter gets older, we would definately come back to this resort b/c it is very kid friendly and it seems as if all the kids that visited this resort had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a "Mill's Mall" that was right down the street and it is apparently an outlet mall. Didn't really quite see b/c we came at closing, but it is a huge mall.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Huntington Beach, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice vacation getaway

The hotel's water park is great! I have been staying at this hotel for years and I have never had a bad experience; although, the newly built condos on the resort took away from some of my favorite pass times such as the tennis courts and the sandy volley ball courts. There is also tubing at the salt river which is not a far drive from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Oasis water park is on the property with a lazy river, three water slides, a wave pool, a bar, live entertainment as well as a movie screen.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kathy20
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 16, 2010

Facility excellent - expensive

Resort has many family-friendly amenities, including a small water park in the center of the property. However, food was VERY expensive and more suited to adult tastes. They've closed half of the previous restaurants, so now there are only 3 restaurants, 1 of which is only open for dinner. There is a daily "resort fee", which made the price quoted rather misleading. In addition, the hotel charged $14.95/day for wireless Internet connectivity, which you didn't learn about until you logged in. Resort literature never mentioned the charge, and in fact, implied it was free. The staff friendliness overall was good, but a bit inconsistent. Golf course is beautiful and in pretty good condition, but staffing was weak. No starter made getting off the tee on time almost impossible, and limited ranger presence made for a long round. Location itself was excellent. Close to the airport, and a mall close by. Car rental was available on site. Rooms were nice, but lacked microwaves or small refrigerators, clearly the purpose was to make you buy from the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan to go off site to eat, if at all possible.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Seattle Washington
Apr 12, 2009

Family getaway for

We loved the warm pools and chairs with fresh towels. We also loved the lazy river. Activities listed on line and given to us were not available for April. This included the dive-in movie we looked forward to. We were told that was in March and in May but April is spring break for the rest of us. Room had a used pizza box in it when we arrived. There was a Q-tip in the same place in the outside walkway the whole time. Seemed like cleaning staff needs a supervisor. We didn't have a car and felt trapped by the restaurants...very expensive to feed a hungry teenager there. One night room service did not include an item we paid for, but they brought it right up.Another night ordered soup and did not get a spoon! It was just the little things that I thought did not seem right for a nice hotel. Overall this is a great place for families where one parent could go workout in the wonderful fitness center or hike the mountain while the other watched kids in pool or lazy river. Very fun to put your flag up at lazy river and order lunch or a drink! Staff is very nice, just wish they looked at the little things. I'd come back but rent a car. I think it would pay for itself with the cost of taxi service and food. Green suggestion for hotel:Way too many towels used. People use once and walk away. Some hotels give you a nice towel each day/ and when you turn it in you get another one. If you don't you get charged. I can't imagine what the cost is to wash dry all those towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turn left out of the hotel and cross the busy street, you can get to a Subway for lunch. Also there is a grocery store to buy some snacks, lunch or breakfast items. I wouldn't do this with little kids, but we did it twice. Saved money on food with a hungry teenager. We moved the items out of the minibar and put milk etc in that. Didn't get charged. Best to walk in evening as it's hot!

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Kansas City
Jan 5, 2010

great time

great service, awesome surroundings, wonderful golf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eveleth, minnesota
May 28, 2009

rustlers rooste

only spent one night, did not use pools, golf or exercize facilities. Food was great, facilities and view were outstanding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Green Valley, AZ
Jul 13, 2009

AZ Grand Resort

This was a wonderful for trip for my entire family. The pool area if fabulous! To my surprise, the food and drinks at the pool were perfect were great and my all of the servers were very helpful and informed (especially Jesse). However, I was surprised to see quite a bit of trash lying around. There were even used drink cups all along the wave pool, gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Az Mills Mall was a disappointment. It is worth driving out to Chandler fashion square, or even Mill Ave down to Scottsdale.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Little Canada, MN
Sep 15, 2009

It was wonderful

We were very happy with our stay. All the staff was wonderful and helpful. We took a few day trips on our own and they provided maps and some of the best places to go close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FW, Indiana Cubs Fan
Family
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Mar 29, 2011

Great Family Experience

Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, our 14 year old son loved the water park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cactus League Baseball Games

Back to menu Return to top