$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
178 reviews
great water park

we had an awesome time at the waterpark, all the amenities at this hotel are five star, the staff... See full review

  • Ezombie
  • Jul 28, 2014
"Stay-cation"

We are from Tucson with 2 boys (Ages 2 and 3), looking for some family fun. We sure had a blast and... See full review

  • elasia
  • Jul 22, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.3774 -111.9719
Area served
Phoenix.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX).
Area description
Located near various shopping districts, entertainment and sporting venues. Phoenix Sky Harbor Int'l airport: 6mi/9km, 8 minutes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Phoenix - Mesa: 10.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 7,002.7 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (178)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
178 out of 178
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calie Mama
San Francisco, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Great place for families

This was our first visit to Arizona and we came here for my cousin's wedding. We traveled around Labor Day Weekend and decided to stay 2 nights, totaling about $230+ for a king sized bed. When we arrived, we were greeted by a super friendly staff who immediately whisk you away to your room. Upon entering the room, I noticed that everything was new and clean. There was a coffee maker, dry cleaner, lots of towels, a very clean bed. We had our infant w/ us and noticed that they had a service where they would deliver cribs to your room if you needed it (which is great if you don't want to lug one on an airplane). There are three villas which are somewhat connected, a waterpark somewhat in the middle, and the lobby was quite far from our villa so they made it a point to call for transportation if needed (golf cart). I've noticed a lot of families here which was great, our daughter had her first swimming experience here and the pools were very clean. A resort fee is charged every day you are here which is about $30/person. When you have lots of people w/ you, that can get quite pricey. You get a wristband to enter the waterpark, however, I can see how easy it can be to pass your armband through the fence to let another one of your family members in. The water slides were the main attraction of the park, and apparently they smell of urine and "barn yard" when you make the climb up the stairs to get to the top. My husband told me the slide was very fun, however, the journey up was very unsanitary. There were LOTS of people there when we were there which made it very crowded and not so fun, so we left early. Rustlers Rooste was where we ate at that evening and that was a very family friendly country inspired restaurant with a live country band and a live bull outside. I highly recommend coming to this restaurant w/ a family if you stay at the resort b/c it is so close and transportation there can be arranged via the hotel. When my daughter gets older, we would definately come back to this resort b/c it is very kid friendly and it seems as if all the kids that visited this resort had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a "Mill's Mall" that was right down the street and it is apparently an outlet mall. Didn't really quite see b/c we came at closing, but it is a huge mall.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
May 25, 2009

Nice vacation getaway

The hotel's water park is great! I have been staying at this hotel for years and I have never had a bad experience; although, the newly built condos on the resort took away from some of my favorite pass times such as the tennis courts and the sandy volley ball courts. There is also tubing at the salt river which is not a far drive from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The Oasis water park is on the property with a lazy river, three water slides, a wave pool, a bar, live entertainment as well as a movie screen.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kathy20
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 16, 2010

Facility excellent - expensive

Resort has many family-friendly amenities, including a small water park in the center of the property. However, food was VERY expensive and more suited to adult tastes. They've closed half of the previous restaurants, so now there are only 3 restaurants, 1 of which is only open for dinner. There is a daily "resort fee", which made the price quoted rather misleading. In addition, the hotel charged $14.95/day for wireless Internet connectivity, which you didn't learn about until you logged in. Resort literature never mentioned the charge, and in fact, implied it was free. The staff friendliness overall was good, but a bit inconsistent. Golf course is beautiful and in pretty good condition, but staffing was weak. No starter made getting off the tee on time almost impossible, and limited ranger presence made for a long round. Location itself was excellent. Close to the airport, and a mall close by. Car rental was available on site. Rooms were nice, but lacked microwaves or small refrigerators, clearly the purpose was to make you buy from the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan to go off site to eat, if at all possible.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle Washington
Apr 12, 2009

Family getaway for

We loved the warm pools and chairs with fresh towels. We also loved the lazy river. Activities listed on line and given to us were not available for April. This included the dive-in movie we looked forward to. We were told that was in March and in May but April is spring break for the rest of us. Room had a used pizza box in it when we arrived. There was a Q-tip in the same place in the outside walkway the whole time. Seemed like cleaning staff needs a supervisor. We didn't have a car and felt trapped by the restaurants...very expensive to feed a hungry teenager there. One night room service did not include an item we paid for, but they brought it right up.Another night ordered soup and did not get a spoon! It was just the little things that I thought did not seem right for a nice hotel. Overall this is a great place for families where one parent could go workout in the wonderful fitness center or hike the mountain while the other watched kids in pool or lazy river. Very fun to put your flag up at lazy river and order lunch or a drink! Staff is very nice, just wish they looked at the little things. I'd come back but rent a car. I think it would pay for itself with the cost of taxi service and food. Green suggestion for hotel:Way too many towels used. People use once and walk away. Some hotels give you a nice towel each day/ and when you turn it in you get another one. If you don't you get charged. I can't imagine what the cost is to wash dry all those towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turn left out of the hotel and cross the busy street, you can get to a Subway for lunch. Also there is a grocery store to buy some snacks, lunch or breakfast items. I wouldn't do this with little kids, but we did it twice. Saved money on food with a hungry teenager. We moved the items out of the minibar and put milk etc in that. Didn't get charged. Best to walk in evening as it's hot!

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City
Jan 5, 2010

great time

great service, awesome surroundings, wonderful golf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
eveleth, minnesota
May 28, 2009

rustlers rooste

only spent one night, did not use pools, golf or exercize facilities. Food was great, facilities and view were outstanding

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Green Valley, AZ
Jul 13, 2009

AZ Grand Resort

This was a wonderful for trip for my entire family. The pool area if fabulous! To my surprise, the food and drinks at the pool were perfect were great and my all of the servers were very helpful and informed (especially Jesse). However, I was surprised to see quite a bit of trash lying around. There were even used drink cups all along the wave pool, gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Az Mills Mall was a disappointment. It is worth driving out to Chandler fashion square, or even Mill Ave down to Scottsdale.

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Canada, MN
Sep 15, 2009

It was wonderful

We were very happy with our stay. All the staff was wonderful and helpful. We took a few day trips on our own and they provided maps and some of the best places to go close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FW, Indiana Cubs Fan
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Mar 29, 2011

Great Family Experience

Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, our 14 year old son loved the water park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cactus League Baseball Games

Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Apr 12, 2011

Great Family Vacation

We loved the water park - that was the main reason we went! Rooms were perfectly clean. Service was wonderful and friendly. Enjoyed the dining both locally and off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search