$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Arizona Grand Resort

4 stars
8000 S. Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
187 reviews
OMG, SIMPLY AMAZING!

My family and I had a blast! First time Phoenix visitors, and first time staying at this amazing... See full review

  • JTTown Traveler
  • Oct 14, 2014
Fun family experience

This is a fun place to stay with kids. The water park is included with the room and is fun! There... See full review

  • kywh
  • Sep 7, 2014
Family-friendly Phoenix hotel with a water park and golf course
This Phoenix resort is a destination for families and business people. The Arizona Grand Resort is set at the base of a 17,000-acre mountain preserve and on an award-winning golf course. There is a seven-acre water park. Business types can appreciate the 117,000 square feet of meeting space. There are multiple dining venues. The resort is just six miles from downtown Tempe.
Highlights
  • 60 miles of trails in South Mountain Park/Preserve
  • An 18-hole golf course
  • 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club with 45 weekly classes
Rooms

Expect warm and crisp decor with touches of rattan and bamboo. The 740 suites invite relaxation with Grand Dream Sleeper pillow-top mattresses and a private balcony or patio. Views are of the city, mountain, the seven-acre water park or 18-hole golf course. Suites range from one bedroom to multiple bedrooms with full kitchens and bathrooms. High speed Wi-Fi accessible (fees apply).

Dining

There are multiple options for on-site dining. The Oasis Bar and Grill serves up lunches, soft-serve ice cream, and adult libations. The Lobby Bar & Grill features breakfast, lunch, and dinner in an open kitchen with wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, and steaks. The Marketplace Cafe is a convenient stop for a treat, sandwich or a Starbucks coffee. Aunt Chilada's serves Mexican cuisine for lunch and dinner. The family-owned Rustler's Rooste Western steakhouse has been open since 1971 and is adjacent to the resort.

 

Recreation

Arizona Grand Golf Course features mountain vistas and a demanding par 71 layout. Oasis Water Park, voted as a Top 10 waterpark by the Travel Channel, features an eight-story tower with three water slides, wave pool, lazy river and a 25-person hot tub. The 20,000-square-foot Athletic Club has 45 weekly classes and tons of equipment. Arizona Grand Spa has full spa and salon services.

Transportation
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (7.1 mi/ 11.4 km)
  • Scottsdale Executive Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • Downtown Tempe (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Desert Botanical Garden (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Phoenix Zoo (7.8 mi/12.6 km)

 

Business
  • 117,000 square feet of meeting space includes two ballrooms and a 20,000-square-foot exhibition pavilion
  • Full-service planning staff
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • The resort fee includes unlimited local phone calls, unlimited access for credit card, toll-free and collect phone calls, one daily in-suite pot of coffee, delivery of USA Today newspaper to the suite (Monday through Friday), Athletic Club admittance, shuttle to Arizona Mills Mall, incoming/ outgoing faxes and wireless high-speed internet access
  • Guests must be at least 16 years of age to use the Athletic Club and guests must be at least 48-inches or taller to ride water slides.
  • The Oasis water park is open 7 days a week President's Day through Labor Day and weekends only in September and October.  It is closed November through February.  The resort fee will increase up to $40 when the Oasis water park is open. Resort fee will also include four Oasis water park wrist bands during the guests' stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arizona Grand Resort also booked these hotels.

Arizona Grand Resort Rooms

Resort Suite
Resort Queen Suites include a bedroom with two queen beds, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with one king bed offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Deluxe Suite
Suite with two queen beds offers a preferred location in the Camelback or Sedona building close to the 7 acre Oasis Water Park. Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.
Resort Suite
Resort King Suites include a bedroom with one king bed, a private balcony or patio, and separate living rooms with a queen sofa bed. Resort Suites are located in the Mountain Side building on the West side of the resort. Resort Suite amenities include: Spacious living room with desk and queen size sofa bed, High-speed and wireless Internet access, Personal safe fits 17" laptop, Private patio or balcony, Mini-bar, Two telephones, Iron and ironing board, Hair dryer, AM/FM clock radio with CD player and In-Suite movies.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Arizona Science Center: 3 mi
  • Octane Raceway: 4.6 mi
  • Pueblo Grande: 4.9 mi
  • Phoenix Zoo: 5.3 mi
  • Papago Park: 5.4 mi
  • South Mountain: 5.8 mi
  • Desert Botanical Garden: 5.9 mi
  • South Mountain Park: 6.8 mi
  • Chase Field: 7.2 mi
  • Phoenix Children's Museum: 7.4 mi
  • The Rosson House: 7.4 mi
  • US Airways Center: 7.4 mi
  • Phoenix Civic Plaza Convention Center: 7.6 mi
  • St. Mary's Basilica: 7.6 mi
  • Phoenix Symphony: 7.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo History Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theater: 7.8 mi
  • Phoenix Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Phoenix Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Arizona Capitol Museum: 8.7 mi
  • Heard Museum: 8.8 mi
  • Camelback Mountain: 9.5 mi
  • Wrigley Mansion: 10.6 mi
  • Piestewa Peak: 12.1 mi
  • Phoenix Mountain Preserve: 13.5 mi
  • America West Arena: 15.6 mi
  • Western Destinations: 17.2 mi
  • University of Phoenix Stadium: 19.7 mi
  • Jobing.com Arena: 19.8 mi
  • Musical Instrument Museum: 20.1 mi

Dining

Aunt Chilada's
Aunt Chilada's Tempe serves delicious Mexican fare, from tasty margaritas and homemade chips to award-winning salsa with fresh guacamole on the cantina patio. In the casita-style dining room you'll savor spiced pork, chili poblano, chicken, shrimp or beef fajitas and homemade tamales. Join us for your next fiesta! Aunt Chilada's Tempe is open for lunch and dinner daily.
Rustler's Rooste
Since 1971 this family-owned, mountaintop landmark has overlooked the Valley and is adjacent to Arizona Grand Resort. This authentic Western steakhouse offers a fun, Old West atmosphere, complete with "Horny the Bull," a live steer who resides outside the eatery's old mineshaft. You can even enter the dining room by sliding down a tin slide. Dine on mesquite-broiled steaks, meaty barbecued ribs, pork chops, chicken and award-winning chili. Homemade apple pie or bread pudding make for a delicious dessert. After dinner, you can work off the calories dancing to the live Country and Western music. Dinner is served nightly.
Lobby Grill
The Lobby Grill serves American entrees prepared in an open kitchen run by top Valley Chefs. Selections include authentic wood-fired pizzas, rotisserie chicken, pecan and oak fired steaks and other simple meals with natural ingredients from local purveyors.
Cafe
The Marketplace Caf, a leading choice for cafes in Phoenix, serves a variety of casual treats. Resort guests can sip Starbucks refreshments accompanied by fresh pastries, sandwiches and gelato prepared daily at the Marketplace Caf.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (187)

Ratings and reviews for Arizona Grand Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 187
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagle Danny
Business
Phoenix
Nov 15, 2014

I would do it all again

Everything was great. I will recommend it to anyone in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

everything is just off the route 10 which is just up the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HJFA
Business
New York
Jan 21, 2013

lovely escape

I am an ocean person and avoid pools when possible, but second to the sea comes the Arizona Grand, with its lovely, palm-tree-and-fountain-ringed swimming pools. Watching the sunrise while swimming in one was truly delightful: although nothing breaks the quiet, activities start early at this resort, so early risers need not fret. The staff - particularly in the restaurant - was remarkably cordial. The quality of everything was excellent and the cost surprisingly restrained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Just eat in the Grand!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JADPAM67
Business
Buffalo NY
Oct 15, 2012

Getaway

The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of options. Found the price of the room a bit high for 1 night weekend stay. If you are looking to be close to Scottsdale it is at least 15 min away. This a great place for families with water park on the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela D
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Jan 19, 2011

The Arizona

The Grand Resort is easy to find at I-10 and Baseline Rd in beautiful Phoenix. It's entrance and approach are fitting for the name, but the difficulty starts there. After a year and a half, management still does not have well lit obvious signage that directs you to the registration desk. After several attempts I was finally directed to a building at the end of the road with minimal signs pointing the way. Already a tad bit upset, I approached the front desk where one young lady was on the phone. I was asked to wait and did so for over five minutes while she looked for what I found out later was a VIP list. My only reprieve was when another staff member noticed I was waiting and the young girl flagged her down not to help ME, but to help HER find the VIP list. At this time I told her I was a VIP and I would like to get checked in. Well, the other staffer called the night manager for me, offered me a drink and tried to undo the anger and exasperation built up in waiting. The night manager took me to my room, you have to drive, and carried my luggage and helped me to the room. I cant give the Resort higher than three stars. The sidewalks and stairs need to be cleaned of old gum and spilled pop. The rooms are a standard suite type room with typical appointments nothing above any other suite hotel. The room service is very good. It is prompt and quick, less than 30 minutes. The food is hot and appetizing and flavorful. The menu isn't expansive with local favorites saved for the mexican restaurant next to the Resort. I had a Caesar salad with chicken which was large, the chicken warm and sliced in manageable bites, with a good dressing. The Filet was just a touch over cooked but still pink and juicy, and a very good cut, tender and flavorful. Desert was cheesecake which was also very good. I did have few mis cues on the ordering, for which they were quick to offer a discount or refund. Housekeeping was quick quiet and never intrusive. Even on days when I didn't put the do not disturb sign out, they never bothered me and were able to always take care of turning over the room while I was gone. My room was next to a pool, there are several and were very clean and very well kept, that was a mixed blessing. The resort was hosting a gymnastics event and there were many squealing young girls in the pool until it closed, about 10pm. I'm glad they had fun and it didn't bother me, but to be complete i thought to throw it in. Checkout was easy via the phone, there was plenty of well lighted parking, but the lighting ended there. The hallways, all out doors, are so dark I couldn't see the door to use my key card. It was so dark outside my rooms door, I couldn't tell who was outside the door when someone knocked. To sum it up, poor placement and signs about the registration desk. Poor attention to guest checking in. Poor lighting along walkways and in front of room doors. Walkways spotted with old gum and the such and the stairs could use a good pressure wash too. Average suite type rooms, typical appointments, noise from the pools, good house keeping. Very good room service, under 30 minutes, food was very good, limited selection, quick to correct errors. Easy to find, very close to any type of dining and entertainment, very easy access to the freeway system, an on site water park (which I can't comment on, didn't go to it) and on site golf. Lots of parking. Thats about it. Price was about what you would expect from a resort, but the resort fee is 30$ and I did nothing that would justify them charging me any thing. I should have gotten a refund for not using any of the facilities that are covered by the resort fee. It's just another way of increasing the price of an average room. Only 3 Stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is anything you can think of to eat with in a short drive. Very easy access to I-10, Scottsdale and the Airport are minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
never again arizona grand
Business
phoenix arizona
Oct 12, 2009

Not worth the money

Yes, there was alot missing. The person at the desk requested that I leave my credit card since I had paid on a traveling webiste. I correct his error by questioning him and he felt bad and decided to up grad me. I thought that was great, but little did i know his upgrade was actually a down grade. My hotel room was right behind the elevator shaft and all night long i could only hear the engine of the elevator and the noise it make when it stops on a floor. horribe!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arizona Grand Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired and needed a break
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Sep 24, 2009

Very Relaxing Getaway

Very relaxing. The water park was only open one day while I was there. Would have been nice to know in advance for planning. It was end of season but I wasn't aware of that when planning trip. The pools were very clean. Staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Water park changed hours to weekends only. Would have been nice to know in advance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top