$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Kohl's Ranch Lodge

3 stars
View map of 202 S. Kohl's Ranch Lodge Rd., Payson, AZ 85541

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Fun Getaway

We had a great weekend getaway. Loved being greeted by the crackling fire in the lobby and the... See full review

  • Loraine F.
  • Feb 17, 2015
Fun getaway

The lodge was warm and friendly. As soon as we walked in the fireplace welcomed us with a warm... See full review

  • Loraine F.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Breathe The Southwestern Fresh Air: Situated in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest in the world, Kohl's Ranch Lodge provides a classic stay in the American West, a mecca of fresh air, moderate temperatures year-round, and activities ranging from trout fishing. Sink into an overstuffed leather chair by the riverstone fireplace in the A-Frame Lodge, explore the pine forest on horseback, or take in a few holes on the 9-hole putting course. An exquisitely rustic experience the hotel guests love. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool, whirlpool spa, bocce ball court, par exercise course, sport court, fitness room, children's playground, outdoor BBQ's, sand volleyball court, and S'mores pit. Kohl's Ranch Lodge mountain getaway now has wireless internet so guests can access the web from the comfort of their room and anywhere else on the property. Welcoming visitors to the Payson are since 1924, Kohl's Ranch Lodge has been, and continues to be, one of the most popular destinations for travelers. The friendly service, casual atmosphere, western hospitality and comfortable, warm, rustic accommodations make each night a vacation in itself. Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon offering authentic western cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring live entertainment in the saloon on Saturday nights. Major credit card or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $100.00 US and shall be returned at check-out. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service Please be advised that beginning September 2nd until October 27th, the pool and spa area will be closed due to renovations. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience. Pets Not Allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kohl's Ranch Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Kohl's Ranch Lodge Rooms

One Bedroom
One Bedroom with one king and sofa sleeper. Small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, television, iron and board, hair dryer, DVD player and semi-private patio. Accommodates 4.
Two Bedroom Cabin
Two Bedroom, two bath, 900 square feet. King in master, whirlpool spa bathtub, 1 queen bed or double beds in 2nd bedroom, refrigerator, 4 burner stove top and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dining area and 6 chairs, 3 televisions, DVD player, hair dryer, iron and board, gas fireplace, dishwasher, and porch. Accommodates 6
Standard studio
Studio with one king or two double beds. Small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, television, iron and board, hair dryer, DVD player and semi-private patio. Accommodates 2.

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon
Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon offering authentic western cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring live entertainment in the saloon on Saturday nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loraine F.
Business
Chandler
Feb 17, 2015

Fun Getaway

We had a great weekend getaway. Loved being greeted by the crackling fire in the lobby and the staff was terrific. It would have been perfect but the bed was a bit hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loraine F.
Business
Chandler
Feb 9, 2015

Fun getaway

The lodge was warm and friendly. As soon as we walked in the fireplace welcomed us with a warm crackling and pine smell. The staff wàs friendly and helpful. I loved having a small kitchen in the room to make breakfast in before heading out. The beds are a bit hard for my taste but my husband enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy40
Business
Scottsdale, Az
Aug 31, 2014

A relaxing getaway

Kohl's lodge is a great getaway. The rooms are quaint and the grounds are well kept. The saloon serves great food and is great for couples and families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tonto Natural Bridge is a fun trail and so picturesque! I good time that is beautiful and unique. Medium hard trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr I
Business
Chandler
Jul 29, 2014

Perfect Place to refresh

I would say the biggest advantage of this place is the location. Though it is away from Payson but it is set in woods and it rained in the evening. You can book a cabin as well, if you intend to stay for 2 -3 days. Staff was very cooperative and food was awesome. I would say, it is a must stay hotel if you are planning to payson

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luvtotravel57
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Apr 8, 2014

Wasn't what we expected

We have stayed at Kohls Ranch twice. The first time for a wedding in a 1 bedroom cabin and the 2nd time for a special getaway in a 2 bedroom cabin. The 1st time was great. Location is beautiful, love the grounds and the creek! The 2nd time was not as great as the 1st. There was a problem in our cabin and we were moved to another location which wasn't what we paid for (we paid for creekside with a hot tub and were relocated to something that viewed other cabins and didn't have a hot tub or private balcony overlooking the beautiful creek). They did give us a certificate for 1 night to come back, however we paid for 2 nights in a cabin that wasn't the one we booked and traveled 2 hours to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PS5932
Business
APACHE JUNCTION
Feb 11, 2014

FALSE IMPRESSION

We reserved a king, however all available was a two double beds. No effort was made to make right. A free upgrade? They did offer cabin for 50.00 more. I thought because of promise, upgrade should of been complimentary.. Plus the 10 dollar (amenities fee that is automatically charged. I probably signed the agreement, however should be advised of charge at check in.. This coupled with the fact the CEO (Diamond) we bragging all night on his infomercial as to how he makes things right. HAD THE STAFF SAID, "WE DO NOT HAVE A KING, HOWEVER WE WILL UPGRAGE YOU ON OUR DIME. I WILL NOT RETURN BECAUSE OF THIS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

STAFF SLOPPY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phonecian
Business
phx., az.
Aug 1, 2013

rustic getaway

A beautiful location with rustic, well-designed décor, very friendly staff and close to the town of Payson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buffalo Bar and Grill in Payson.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jill loves vacation
Business
Richmond, VA
Jun 4, 2013

So-so

The previous reviews and pictures made this hotel seem better than it was. In the end, I would rate is just "ordinary."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Monster Mudder
Business
Cave Creek, Arizona
Jun 2, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

The hotel setting is unbelievable. In the pines and along the creek, just gorgeous. Food in the restaurant is wonderful, staff is friendly and helpful, and rooms have amenities to do your own thing in there if you wish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hiking Box Canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyfisherbob
Business
Glendale, AZ
May 13, 2013

Kohl's Ranch Lodge was great!!!

Arrived at the lodge and was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. The staff, service, and rooms were great. The lodge was definitely themed to mix a woodsy and country style. Everything from the light fixtures to the wood door frames was given extra attention. I arrived pretty late and the front desk offered a late check out without even me needing to ask. We got checked in an walked into the room and was greeted with a clean room with lots of amenities like coffee maker, fridge, silverware, extra glasses, microwave, back porch, and safe. The wifi was a little slow, but we didn't come to stay glued to our computers. We were there to be out in the forest and see the Rim in AZ. This was exactly the experience we got. This place is nestled just off the highway and you are surrounded by tress. The price was right. The place was clean. Everyone was nice. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top