$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Kohl's Ranch Lodge

3 stars
202 S. Kohl's Ranch Lodge Rd., Payson, AZ 85541
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
54 reviews
Kohl's Ranch Lodge was great!!!

Arrived at the lodge and was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. The staff, service,... See full review

  • flyfisherbob
  • May 13, 2013
Great getaway

My fiancé and I stayed 2 nights to celebrate our engagement. Was a great and romantic getaway from... See full review

  • Matthew and Melissa
  • Jan 25, 2013
Breathe The Southwestern Fresh Air: Situated in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest in the world, Kohl's Ranch Lodge provides a classic stay in the American West, a mecca of fresh air, moderate temperatures year-round, and activities ranging from trout fishing. Sink into an overstuffed leather chair by the riverstone fireplace in the A-Frame Lodge, explore the pine forest on horseback, or take in a few holes on the 9-hole putting course. An exquisitely rustic experience the hotel guests love. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool, whirlpool spa, bocce ball court, par exercise course, sport court, fitness room, children's playground, outdoor BBQ's, sand volleyball court, and S'mores pit. Kohl's Ranch Lodge mountain getaway now has wireless internet so guests can access the web from the comfort of their room and anywhere else on the property. Welcoming visitors to the Payson are since 1924, Kohl's Ranch Lodge has been, and continues to be, one of the most popular destinations for travelers. The friendly service, casual atmosphere, western hospitality and comfortable, warm, rustic accommodations make each night a vacation in itself. Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon offering authentic western cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring live entertainment in the saloon on Saturday nights. Major credit card or debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo will be accepted as deposit for all guests. No cash allowed. The deposit will be $100.00 US and shall be returned at check-out. If there is damage or items missing the guest will be charged. Please note that the resort does not provide daily maid service Please be advised that beginning September 2nd until October 27th, the pool and spa area will be closed due to renovations. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience. Pets Not Allowed

Kohl's Ranch Lodge Rooms

One Bedroom
One Bedroom with one king and sofa sleeper. Small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, television, iron and board, hair dryer, DVD player and semi-private patio. Accommodates 4.
Two Bedroom Cabin
Two Bedroom, two bath, 900 square feet. King in master, whirlpool spa bathtub, 1 queen bed or double beds in 2nd bedroom, refrigerator, 4 burner stove top and oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dining area and 6 chairs, 3 televisions, DVD player, hair dryer, iron and board, gas fireplace, dishwasher, and porch. Accommodates 6
Standard studio
Studio with one king or two double beds. Small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, television, iron and board, hair dryer, DVD player and semi-private patio. Accommodates 2.

Amenities

  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kohl's Ranch Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.1515 -111.2116
Area served
Phoenix, AZ.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) Phoenix, AZ.
Area description
Conveniently located 17 miles east of Payson off of Highway 260, tucked beneath towering pines along crystal clear Tonto Creek at the base of the scenic Mogollon Rim.

Dining

Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon
Zane Grey Steakhouse and Saloon offering authentic western cuisine open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Featuring live entertainment in the saloon on Saturday nights.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luvtotravel57
Phoenix, Arizona
Apr 8, 2014

Wasn't what we expected

We have stayed at Kohls Ranch twice. The first time for a wedding in a 1 bedroom cabin and the 2nd time for a special getaway in a 2 bedroom cabin. The 1st time was great. Location is beautiful, love the grounds and the creek! The 2nd time was not as great as the 1st. There was a problem in our cabin and we were moved to another location which wasn't what we paid for (we paid for creekside with a hot tub and were relocated to something that viewed other cabins and didn't have a hot tub or private balcony overlooking the beautiful creek). They did give us a certificate for 1 night to come back, however we paid for 2 nights in a cabin that wasn't the one we booked and traveled 2 hours to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PS5932
APACHE JUNCTION
Feb 11, 2014

FALSE IMPRESSION

We reserved a king, however all available was a two double beds. No effort was made to make right. A free upgrade? They did offer cabin for 50.00 more. I thought because of promise, upgrade should of been complimentary.. Plus the 10 dollar (amenities fee that is automatically charged. I probably signed the agreement, however should be advised of charge at check in.. This coupled with the fact the CEO (Diamond) we bragging all night on his infomercial as to how he makes things right. HAD THE STAFF SAID, "WE DO NOT HAVE A KING, HOWEVER WE WILL UPGRAGE YOU ON OUR DIME. I WILL NOT RETURN BECAUSE OF THIS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

STAFF SLOPPY

Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phonecian
phx., az.
Aug 1, 2013

rustic getaway

A beautiful location with rustic, well-designed décor, very friendly staff and close to the town of Payson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Buffalo Bar and Grill in Payson.

Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jill loves vacation
Richmond, VA
Jun 4, 2013

So-so

The previous reviews and pictures made this hotel seem better than it was. In the end, I would rate is just "ordinary."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott Monster Mudder
Cave Creek, Arizona
Jun 2, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

The hotel setting is unbelievable. In the pines and along the creek, just gorgeous. Food in the restaurant is wonderful, staff is friendly and helpful, and rooms have amenities to do your own thing in there if you wish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hiking Box Canyon

Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
flyfisherbob
Glendale, AZ
May 13, 2013

Kohl's Ranch Lodge was great!!!

Arrived at the lodge and was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. The staff, service, and rooms were great. The lodge was definitely themed to mix a woodsy and country style. Everything from the light fixtures to the wood door frames was given extra attention. I arrived pretty late and the front desk offered a late check out without even me needing to ask. We got checked in an walked into the room and was greeted with a clean room with lots of amenities like coffee maker, fridge, silverware, extra glasses, microwave, back porch, and safe. The wifi was a little slow, but we didn't come to stay glued to our computers. We were there to be out in the forest and see the Rim in AZ. This was exactly the experience we got. This place is nestled just off the highway and you are surrounded by tress. The price was right. The place was clean. Everyone was nice. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aquaman Pool Care
Norco, California
Apr 7, 2013

Nice secluded resort

I spent one week with my wife and two girls. We enjoyed the area...right in the middle of a national forrest and within 100 yards of a running creek, where my son-in-law was able to catch 3 fish. We went horseback riding and visited Tonto Natural Bridge State Park...a beautiful hike!! Because we were there the full week, it would have been nice to have a stove and sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tonto Natural Bridge State Park visit is a must.

Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swan80
Chinle, Arizona
Feb 27, 2013

Perfect winter getaway

The hotel was breath taking with all the snow around. What topped it off was the heated pool which was very exciting and something I always wanted to do. Rooms are very very clean. Staff was so polite and service was very wonderful. A definite place to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gilbert Guy
Gilbert, Arizona
Feb 20, 2013

Quiet getway from the Valley

Friendly staff, very quiet and relaxing. Heated pool, hot tub, smore roasting at night. Also very scenic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matthew and Melissa
Chandler, AZ
Jan 25, 2013

Great getaway

My fiancé and I stayed 2 nights to celebrate our engagement. Was a great and romantic getaway from the valley, we brought our own food and cooked in the room. All silverware and cookware provided, room was clean beds comfortable, and great views. The staff was nice and even sent a card with homemade cookies to our room to congratulate us on our engagement! We will definitely be back and are considering having our wedding there. It’s so beautiful by the creek. Thanks again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top