$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Dobson Ranch Inn

3 stars
1666 S. Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
317 reviews
vacation

lovely stay and I would come back again. lovely stay and I would come back again. lovely stay and I... See full review

  • Bdav
  • Jul 12, 2014
very pleased

The stay and the staff were great. The breakfast was perfect! I will stay their again when in that... See full review

  • grateful to God
  • Jul 9, 2014
Three-diamond hotel with free breakfast, 10 acres of landscaped grounds

A complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool, gorgeous grounds and Southwestern style make the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort a popular choice for visitors to Mesa, Ariz. Baseball fans: this hotel is the home base of Chicago Cubs Spring Training. More than 200 spacious, non-smoking guest rooms and suites at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort feature cable TV, air conditioning and convenient access to all the attractions of The Valley of the Sun, including the Desert Botanical Garden and Arizona Museum of Natural History.

Highlights
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Situated on 10 acres of lush landscaping
  • Complimentary full breakfast buffet
  • Free parking
  • Heated outdoor pool and two hot tubs
Rooms

Newly remodeled guest rooms at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort display the perfect blend of contemporary style and desert ambiance, with sleek, sophisticated accents and warm earth tones. Choose from spacious standard rooms, executive king rooms and two-room suites. A 780-square-foot VIP Jacuzzi suite is also available. All rooms and suites include premium cable channels, air conditioning, coffee-makers and refrigerators. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Features

Baseball fans flock to The Valley of the Sun for Spring Training, and Chicago Cubs fans will want to make a special pilgrimage to the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort - it's the Cubs' Spring Training home. Catch a game at HoHoKam Stadium followed by a soak in the hotel's pool and a steak dinner at the Cactus Clubhouse. Additional amenities at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort include free Wi-Fi Internet access in public spaces, a fitness center, free on-site parking and 10 acres of lush landscaped courtyards.

Dining

Southwestern specialties are highlighted at the Cactus Clubhouse, from Sonora bruschetta appetizers to refreshing mojito salmon. Save room for Cactus Clubhouse strawberries, layered with sour cream and brown sugar and topped with Amaretto.

Transportation
  • I-10 (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Mesa Community College (Across the street)
  • Fiesta Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Arizona Museum for Youth (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Mesa Arts Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Mesa Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Mesa Riverview shopping center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Business
  • Copy, fax and printing service
  • 6,300 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

33.3841 -111.8761
Area served
Banner Children Hospital and MMC 1/4 miles. We serve as the hotel for families of Banner Hospital.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport 11 miles. Phoenix-Mesa gateway 20 miles.
Area description
The Dobson Ranch Inn is located 11 miles east of the Phoenix sky harbor International airport. The hotel is located in Mesa near US 60 and US 101.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dobson Ranch Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Dobson Ranch Inn Rooms

Executive Suite
1 king bed and 1 sofa bed. Desk. Complimentary Wireless and Hardwired Internet. Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). Free local calls. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control. Non-smoking only
1 Standard King
The room offers 1 king bed with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.
2 Queen Beds
2 queen beds with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Dobson Inn Bar & Grill
Located at the Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, Cactus Clubhouse, formerly the Dobson Inn Bar & Grill, is a casual restaurant and lounge serving continental cuisine with a Southwestern flair. At present it is closed for remodeling. However, the lounge is open Thursday through Sunday from 4pm till 10pm for drinks and limited menu. Every Thursday night is Karaoke from 7pm-10pm for your enjoyment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Dobson Ranch Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Spelo
Flagstaff, Arizona
Dec 31, 2012

Bad Nights Sleep, New Owner - Not Friendly

Warning - Walls are paper thin, at least in the room we had. Listened to the neighbors tv and phone conversations till 3 am. When my wife went to complain she was shouted down by the owner. Not sure if he has an aversion to asian women, or just having a bad day. I suspect a lot of guests were complaining... Even our house keeper was complaining about the recent change in ownership. If you have good ear plugs, like older motels, and are not asian :) go for it. Otherwise, give it a pass. Better, cleaner and cheaper places in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ice Cold Shower
Chandler, AZ
Apr 28, 2010

Poor Customer Service

No customer service for extra blankets when room was too cold. Nor hot water, probably the reason there was no hot water. Hotel employees failed to inform me that the boiler failed. In the morning I was standing in the shower with no hot water. Not until I was disgusted enough with the hotel, that they wanted to give me another room. With bags packed I found better accommpdations at far better hotel.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Golfngal
Seattle
Jun 28, 2012

Look elsewhere

AC not cool in room even after complaining. Sheets and beds were uncomfortable. Sheets were rough and pilled like they had been washed with towels and very worn. Mattresses (we had two queens) were both lumpy. Terrible experience. Plenty of hotels in the area so continue looking folks. Wish that we had read the reviews more closely before we booked a week at Dobson. It's in a decent area if that helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of places to eat great food in the vicinity

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
out of town bridesmaid
Metro Detroit
Apr 19, 2010

Would not return

At check-in the man at the desk was argumentative when I stated that I needed to check the license plate of my rental car (I had parked around the corner), he insisted that I had taken the shuttle (which was dropping off someone else). Upon entry to my room, I found it to be extremely hot. I cranked up the air to no avail. As a traveler who had not slept for more than 36 hours I was ready to do nothing other than sleep, cold shower, cool cloths to the forehead, I did everything I could to remedy the situation for the night. By 10:30 pm I had enough. Calling the front desk, I stated I needed another room that had proper air conditioning. After another argument about having maintenance come to the room, and the fact that I wished to maintain my privacy and just plain get to sleep, I was finally given keys to another room by about 11:30. The tub was not well cleaned, the towels had someone else's hair on them, the sheets were too small for the beds. I will not return and I would not recommend this location to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Botanical Garden

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ice Cold Shower
Chandler, AZ
Apr 28, 2010

Poor Customer Service

No customer service for extra blankets when room was too cold. Nor hot water, probably the reason there was no hot water. Hotel employees failed to inform me that the boiler failed. In the morning I was standing in the shower with no hot water. Not until I was disgusted enough with the hotel, that they wanted to give me another room. With bags packed I found better accommpdations at far better hotel.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PB
NJ
Dec 18, 2009

Awful

The room was extremely hot and the ac did not work. They claimed that everyone was on one system and they changed over to heat for the winter. That does not help when the room is already 80 degrees. There was no interent. It was down for the whole weekend. Our tv did not work upon arrival and they sent someone over to fix it. The walls are paper thin. You can hear eveything your neighbors are doing!!! We had to check out after our first hot, sleepless night. This hotel is awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carol7733
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 27, 2012

DONT BE FOOLED!!!

When we arrived at the Dobson Ranch Inn. DONT BE FOOLED BY THE PICTURES!!! Pictures look great on the internet, but look nothing like that in person. Our room was dark and musty. Everything was the bare minimum. The TV didnt work, the bathroom was the size of closet and the beds were discusting. Breakfast that is included, consists of overcooked eggs and cereal. This hotel claims that is has room service and poolside service, when it fact it DOES NOT! Everything about this trip was horrible. I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO ARIZONA EVER AGAIN BECAUSE OF THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gidget54
San Luis Obispo California
Jun 4, 2014

Dobson ranch was filthy

Bathroom was not cleaned toilet still had feces in it from previous client also they gave me a difficult time about my service dogs and didn't want me to have them there in room... I had to threaten to notify the dept of justice as a violation of am. Disability act ... Also that I stayed there last sept for 2 days and had no problem there ... The hotel ratings went down from last year ...last year it was clean and staff was friendly but this year it was dirty and not a good place to be ... Would not recommend this place to anyone !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
anchorage
Jan 13, 2011

false advertising

This hotel stated a business office No office no printer report to the bbb False advertise Request refund Lost 5 day work and thousands of dollars States corporate and conference No access to computers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

False advertising

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Oct 31, 2010

Best Western Dibson Experience

Hotel looks better on the website than in reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top