$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Dobson Ranch Inn

3 stars
1666 S. Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
311 reviews
very pleased

The stay and the staff were great. The breakfast was perfect! I will stay their again when in that... See full review

  • grateful to God
  • Jul 9, 2014
Quick staycation

Breakfast was great, bed was very comfortable and though the jacuzzi near our room was closed the... See full review

  • Apemom
  • Jun 27, 2014
Three-diamond hotel with free breakfast, 10 acres of landscaped grounds

A complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool, gorgeous grounds and Southwestern style make the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort a popular choice for visitors to Mesa, Ariz. Baseball fans: this hotel is the home base of Chicago Cubs Spring Training. More than 200 spacious, non-smoking guest rooms and suites at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort feature cable TV, air conditioning and convenient access to all the attractions of The Valley of the Sun, including the Desert Botanical Garden and Arizona Museum of Natural History.

Highlights
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Situated on 10 acres of lush landscaping
  • Complimentary full breakfast buffet
  • Free parking
  • Heated outdoor pool and two hot tubs
Rooms

Newly remodeled guest rooms at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort display the perfect blend of contemporary style and desert ambiance, with sleek, sophisticated accents and warm earth tones. Choose from spacious standard rooms, executive king rooms and two-room suites. A 780-square-foot VIP Jacuzzi suite is also available. All rooms and suites include premium cable channels, air conditioning, coffee-makers and refrigerators. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Features

Baseball fans flock to The Valley of the Sun for Spring Training, and Chicago Cubs fans will want to make a special pilgrimage to the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort - it's the Cubs' Spring Training home. Catch a game at HoHoKam Stadium followed by a soak in the hotel's pool and a steak dinner at the Cactus Clubhouse. Additional amenities at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort include free Wi-Fi Internet access in public spaces, a fitness center, free on-site parking and 10 acres of lush landscaped courtyards.

Dining

Southwestern specialties are highlighted at the Cactus Clubhouse, from Sonora bruschetta appetizers to refreshing mojito salmon. Save room for Cactus Clubhouse strawberries, layered with sour cream and brown sugar and topped with Amaretto.

Transportation
  • I-10 (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Mesa Community College (Across the street)
  • Fiesta Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Arizona Museum for Youth (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Mesa Arts Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Mesa Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Mesa Riverview shopping center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Business
  • Copy, fax and printing service
  • 6,300 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Dobson Ranch Inn Rooms

Executive Suite
1 king bed and 1 sofa bed. Desk. Complimentary Wireless and Hardwired Internet. Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). Free local calls. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control. Non-smoking only
1 Standard King
The room offers 1 king bed with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.
2 Queen Beds
2 queen beds with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dobson Ranch Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.3841 -111.8761
Area served
Banner Children Hospital and MMC 1/4 miles. We serve as the hotel for families of Banner Hospital.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport 11 miles. Phoenix-Mesa gateway 20 miles.
Area description
The Dobson Ranch Inn is located 11 miles east of the Phoenix sky harbor International airport. The hotel is located in Mesa near US 60 and US 101.

Dining

Dobson Inn Bar & Grill
Located at the Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, Cactus Clubhouse, formerly the Dobson Inn Bar & Grill, is a casual restaurant and lounge serving continental cuisine with a Southwestern flair. At present it is closed for remodeling. However, the lounge is open Thursday through Sunday from 4pm till 10pm for drinks and limited menu. Every Thursday night is Karaoke from 7pm-10pm for your enjoyment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for Dobson Ranch Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom131313
Plymouth, Wisconsin
May 23, 2013

review

overall, it wasn't too bad. It is very worn and needs some sprucing up, which I was ok with, but the room smelled very musty and the air conditioning didn't work very well. The shower was amazing and the pool was very clean. The lounge/bar had a very limited supply of drinks. Breakfast was average but good. I don't think I will return to this hotel. I think there are more hotels that offer something better at this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TUCSONS FINEST C.C.
TUCSON
Apr 30, 2013

FIT MY NEEDS

LOCATION WAS GREAT! SERVICE WAS ATTENTIVE. ROOM WAS AVERAGE AND CLEAN. PROVDED ME WITH ALL NECESSITIES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MEXICAN FOOD NANDO'S RESTAURANT, SHORT DRIVE, GREAT FOOD! RECOMMENDED HIGHLY..

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bohlman
Tucson,AZ
Apr 29, 2013

comfortable and reasonable

The free buffet breakfast was nice and the room was clean,but nothing special. The location was very good and the canal and park like atmosphere was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk around the canal

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jin198809
Business
MA
Apr 28, 2013

a nice one

the location of the hotel is really good for me and the breakfast is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jin198809
Business
MA
Apr 28, 2013

nice

really comfort and the location is great for me. the room is really big the breakfast is delicious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine THB
Maple Valley, Washington
Apr 27, 2013

Mother/Son Getaway

To spend a quality of time for mother and son. Going out a lot in Scottsdale but staying at hotel to relax by swimming pool in the afternoon. Breakfast was so so - it needs more variable foods to choose. Otherwise it was very nice to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbuck's and Good Egg restaurant are just across the street.

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pounder
Snoqualmie, Wa
Apr 24, 2013

Five Night Stay

Breakfast was great every AM. Restaurant and bar were not open (not good, but understandably considering how few stayed there). Room was clean. Staff friendly. This was a great bang for the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dot W
Homosassa,Fl
Apr 17, 2013

Low key vacation

This is our second stay, the first being two years ago. Everyone was very accomodating and went out of their way to help in anyway they could. the only thing we were unhappy with was the bar and restaurant, it was VERY under staffed, our bartender was so busy and he really needed some help!! Our last visit we were there everyday, this time twice was enough! It was not his fault!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The momo's
California
Apr 8, 2013

It was sufficient

The pictures online were deceiving! The pool is nothing like the picture, although it was clean but there were no towels. Lobby was nice and Spanish like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Macayo is a pretty good Mexican restaraunt right up the street! Also Albertsons is close by.

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sunny Days Mom
Midwest
Apr 5, 2013

Just Okay

This hotel is not terrible, but certainly a bit threadbare. The name and the pics of the hotel are much more "resorty" than the place itself. The pool was nice and clean but nothing special. There was a worker painting the railing, so at least the hotel is trying to stay upgraded. My carpet was stained and not fresh looking. The room itself was clean, so that's a plus. The restaurant offers a free breakfast, which is nice, but when I sat down the carpet beneath me was all crumbs from the night before. Even my bench seat had not been wiped down. I'm sure the mess was from the night before because I went to breakfast as soon as they opened. Also, someone had spilled something sticky in front of my door which remained there for the rest of my stay. It's the little detail that in my opinion keep this hotel to a 2.5 rating. Two very positive things about this hotel--very close to the freeway (and a Starbucks across the street) and a powerful/awesome shower. So....bottom line--reasonably clean inside the rooms (except maybe the carpet?) but just okay. Don't expect resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top