$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Dobson Ranch Inn

3 stars
1666 S. Dobson Road, Mesa, AZ 85202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
317 reviews
vacation

lovely stay and I would come back again. lovely stay and I would come back again. lovely stay and I... See full review

  • Bdav
  • Jul 12, 2014
very pleased

The stay and the staff were great. The breakfast was perfect! I will stay their again when in that... See full review

  • grateful to God
  • Jul 9, 2014
Three-diamond hotel with free breakfast, 10 acres of landscaped grounds

A complimentary full breakfast buffet, outdoor pool, gorgeous grounds and Southwestern style make the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort a popular choice for visitors to Mesa, Ariz. Baseball fans: this hotel is the home base of Chicago Cubs Spring Training. More than 200 spacious, non-smoking guest rooms and suites at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort feature cable TV, air conditioning and convenient access to all the attractions of The Valley of the Sun, including the Desert Botanical Garden and Arizona Museum of Natural History.

Highlights
  • AAA three diamond rating
  • Situated on 10 acres of lush landscaping
  • Complimentary full breakfast buffet
  • Free parking
  • Heated outdoor pool and two hot tubs
Rooms

Newly remodeled guest rooms at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort display the perfect blend of contemporary style and desert ambiance, with sleek, sophisticated accents and warm earth tones. Choose from spacious standard rooms, executive king rooms and two-room suites. A 780-square-foot VIP Jacuzzi suite is also available. All rooms and suites include premium cable channels, air conditioning, coffee-makers and refrigerators. High-speed Internet access is complimentary.

Features

Baseball fans flock to The Valley of the Sun for Spring Training, and Chicago Cubs fans will want to make a special pilgrimage to the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort - it's the Cubs' Spring Training home. Catch a game at HoHoKam Stadium followed by a soak in the hotel's pool and a steak dinner at the Cactus Clubhouse. Additional amenities at the Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort include free Wi-Fi Internet access in public spaces, a fitness center, free on-site parking and 10 acres of lush landscaped courtyards.

Dining

Southwestern specialties are highlighted at the Cactus Clubhouse, from Sonora bruschetta appetizers to refreshing mojito salmon. Save room for Cactus Clubhouse strawberries, layered with sour cream and brown sugar and topped with Amaretto.

Transportation
  • I-10 (5.4 mi/8.6 km)
  • Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport (9.3 mi/14.9 km)
Attractions
  • Mesa Community College (Across the street)
  • Fiesta Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Arizona Museum for Youth (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Mesa Arts Center (3.3 mi/5.2 km)
  • Mesa Convention Center (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Mesa Riverview shopping center (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Business
  • Copy, fax and printing service
  • 6,300 square feet of function space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

33.3841 -111.8761
Area served
Banner Children Hospital and MMC 1/4 miles. We serve as the hotel for families of Banner Hospital.
Nearby airports
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport 11 miles. Phoenix-Mesa gateway 20 miles.
Area description
The Dobson Ranch Inn is located 11 miles east of the Phoenix sky harbor International airport. The hotel is located in Mesa near US 60 and US 101.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dobson Ranch Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Dobson Ranch Inn Rooms

Executive Suite
1 king bed and 1 sofa bed. Desk. Complimentary Wireless and Hardwired Internet. Cable television service. Premium television channel(s). Free local calls. Clock radio. Coffee/tea maker. Hair dryer. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control. Non-smoking only
1 Standard King
The room offers 1 king bed with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.
2 Queen Beds
2 queen beds with with A/C, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable TV, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, modem/data port connection, non-smoking rooms, radio, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone, voice mail.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Dobson Inn Bar & Grill
Located at the Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites, Cactus Clubhouse, formerly the Dobson Inn Bar & Grill, is a casual restaurant and lounge serving continental cuisine with a Southwestern flair. At present it is closed for remodeling. However, the lounge is open Thursday through Sunday from 4pm till 10pm for drinks and limited menu. Every Thursday night is Karaoke from 7pm-10pm for your enjoyment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (317)

Ratings and reviews for Dobson Ranch Inn

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
blackbeard79
Idaho Falls, ID
Nov 13, 2012

Okay for the money

The room was serviceable, but they clearly were trying to save money where they could. There really was insufficient lighting in the room (one overhead fixture by the door and a few small lamps), and the bathroom sink had ants. Given that we were looking for someplace inexpensive, it did the job for the money - just not enough to stand out so that we'd return next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RIVERCATS
Galt, CA
Nov 5, 2012

Great Place to Stay

This place was clean, easy to access, great breakfast daily and employees were very noce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MSBT
Business
los angeles
Nov 2, 2012

dobson ranch inn

I stayed at Dobson Ranch Inn two nights this past week, and it was just ok. My room, although clean, smelled "old", as if carpet and furnishings hadn't been changed in many years. Staff was friendly, and efficient, but based on room condition I probably wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sagemom
Valencia, California
Oct 22, 2012

Great stop over in Mesa

In town for a family reunion, great central location just off the 60, close to restaurants and shopping. Great value!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Erin
Business
Sedona AZ
Oct 22, 2012

Great location

My stay was very nice. I especially liked how large the room was. Bed very comfortable. The carpet looked good but when I walked in my bare feet I could tell it had not been vaccummed too well so I felt I needed to keep my socks on. I would have like to have had tea in the room - not just coffee. But, only becuase I have tea in the morning, not coffee. I liked the refrigerator in the room - very convenient. Overall a very nice stay and I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Active Midwesterner
Wisconsin
Oct 16, 2012

lovely, well-kept grounds

Just walking to and from the pool was great. The plants and trees were beautiful. (We're used to Midwest greenery - not Southwest.) Comfortable, large rooms, coffemaker & wireless in rooms, Internet also in lobby. Very convenient to the expressway, but we did have to learn the hard way that you have to go one exit past and turn around in some cases. Breakfast was good, and included in the price. We went to the Phoenix Zoo and Taliesin West, both of which I would highly recommend, although I wouldn't take children to Taliesin West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Phoenix Zoo is one of the best. Go early before it gets too hot.

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoEMT
Chicago
Aug 5, 2012

Good Location, Needs Updating

Although the staff was friendly and courteous, the hotel room was smaller than we anticipated, and some amenities were not fully functional. Upon our arrival after hours of traveling, we were disappointed to discover that the room we were given did not have a fully functional air conditioner! Although it sounded as if a small plane was trying to land in the room, after an hour it was still very warm, and when I called the desk, they offered to send a maintenance employee to repair it, which wasn't the best solution in my opinion (who wants to spend the first day of their vacation sitting in the room overseeing repair work?) We requested a room change, and the air in the next room did work at far less decibels. I then had a problem with the shower in the new room, which required the strength of 10 men to turn it on (another maintenance call), and when in the shower the water would revert from warm to scalding hot with no warning! Also, the iron had debris in it which left a white powdery substance on my black clothes; I believe it may have been from hard water deposits? I was also a little frustrated that I had to call to request maid service each day, and although they did a good job once they came in, we waited often in excess of an hour for basics like towels and washcloths. On the upside, the pool was beautiful, the grounds well kept, and the hotel offers a nice complimentary breakfast each morning. Overall, with functioning air, water, and updated appliances, this would be a great option as it's in a good location with easy access to the freeway. Now all they need to offer is covered parking :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't already own a portable GPS device, request a rental car that has one! With the amount of travel we did within the state, I was relieved to be able to type in the address to anywhere I may need to go, and there we went. I realize I would have been lost (literally) without it, and I highly recommend requesting this upgrade if you're not familiar with where you're going :)

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Golfngal
Seattle
Jun 28, 2012

Look elsewhere

AC not cool in room even after complaining. Sheets and beds were uncomfortable. Sheets were rough and pilled like they had been washed with towels and very worn. Mattresses (we had two queens) were both lumpy. Terrible experience. Plenty of hotels in the area so continue looking folks. Wish that we had read the reviews more closely before we booked a week at Dobson. It's in a decent area if that helps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of places to eat great food in the vicinity

Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arizona Traveling Sisters
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jun 18, 2012

Great location

The Dobson Ranch is in a wonderful location in Mesa, AZ - a short distance from many great restaurants, malls, and area sites. We like to shop and the choices of malls, stores, Old Town Scottsdale are all so convenient! I've stayed at the Dobson twice a year for the last 9 years and have always had a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dobson Ranch Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pearl family fun
Ramona Ca
Jun 12, 2012

Salt river Tubing Trip

Great pool Close to freeway Rooms ok Breakfest good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top