Sands Vacation Resort

3 stars
2040 Mesquite Ave, Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
8 reviews
Clean and tidy

The fact that the resort was a bit back from the venue was quickly overcome by the cleanliness and... See full review

  • Cowboy Logic
  • Jan 2, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for :)

I booked two rooms at the Sands Vacation Resort for Memorial Day Weekend. Hotel was exactly what I... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 31, 2011
50 Unit All Suite Resort 1 & 2 bd Suites with full kitchens. The Resort also offers free breakfast as additional amenity.

Hotel Map

34.4775 -114.3291
Area served
Lake Havasu City.
Nearby airports
Las Vegas Int.
Area description
Lake Havasu City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sands Vacation Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Sands Vacation Resort Rooms

Single Queen
Single queen suite with full kitchen.
Single Queen
Single queen suite with full kitchen, sofa bed in living room
Double Queen
Double queen suite with full kitchen.
Standard King
Single King suite with full kitchen.
Single Queen
Single queen suite with murphy bed.
Double Room
2 bd 2 ba suite with full kitchen.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • London Bridge: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Banquet & Meeting Room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Sands Vacation Resort

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.3

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HunnyMommy
Laurel,MD
Mar 31, 2013

Overpriced and grimy

I paid $90 for a Monday night at this hotel, and it was by far the most ghetto hotel I have been to in a long time. The exterior looked somewhat disheveled. Old shabby-mismatched pieces of furniture were placed all over the corridors leading to the rooms. The inside also looked and felt dirty. The carpet was stained, and as my 6 year old son described it "felt crunchy like a porcupine." The furniture was mismatched and random. There was a plastic outdoor table behind the door, some behemoth baby blue metal cabinet that I am assuming held the t.v., and a dirty looking chair and couch. The sheets on the bed felt scratchy and were probably thread count ten. The whole place just gave me the creeps and made me not want to touch anything. As far as having a gym goes, it was there but all the equipment is old and crowded in a room with a bunch of other random pieces of furniture that were in need of storing. The staff was very friendly though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JuicyJ
Las Vegas Nevada
Mar 29, 2013

Spring Break Weekend Trip

I had a great experience in Lake Havasu! I would definitely return to visit and stay at the Sands Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

London Bridge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kati the photographer
Phoenix, Arizona
Feb 18, 2013

I love antiques ..... however ......

This was my first time to Lake Havasu City to photograph the annual fireworks and the Buckskins. Everything in the hotel suite was old, worn, and dirty. The couch was full of huge holes and dirty. The dining room chair upholstery was full of holes and dirty spots. The stovetop heating units were filthy. The beds??? The bed frame was falling apart and the mattress so old and soft that it sunk to the bottom when you laid down on it . Once you laid down, it squeaked when you tried to move. The only blanket provided was the dirty bedspread. The beds were pushed next to the wall and by one of beds, the bedspread touched the exposed electrical outlet ..... it wasn't covered! They might not allow smoking in the rooms now, but the bathroom sink had spots on it that showed someone in the past forgot to remove the burning cigarette and it left its yellow marks all over it. Would rather sleep in my tent with my port-a-potty! Sorry!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A shocking encounter
Los Angeles
Aug 13, 2012

Horrible

This was not a 3 star resort hotel as your site claimed it to be. This was a time share suitable for families who are on a budget. Even though the structure was fairly new, the furniture and TV set were old purchased as second hand. There was a charge for the use of shampoo or soap. I was charged $175.00 for 2 nights when I booked the so called 3 star resort hotel whereas at check out the front desk gave me a receipt for $118. I expect to get reimbursed for the difference. I will never book a hotel through your site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Hammer
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

A little dated, but deserves a chance

When we arrived at the Sands we immediately felt that we had stepped back in time, ie. early 80's! It was rather noisy with families congregating around the pool, patrons having a few beers, and generally, just socialzing. In our mind, we thought that this stay would be a nightmare. Contrary to our perception, as we entered our room area we were greeted by a very friendly couple announcing the the yahoo's (us) were finally here, and the party could now start! The room was dated in comparison to where we normally stay, but the staff was a cut above all, period. Give it a chance, you can go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shops/dining/clubs within a very short walking distance. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cowboy Logic
Monroe, WA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Clean and tidy

The fact that the resort was a bit back from the venue was quickly overcome by the cleanliness and function of a suite style unit. The price was comfortable and the room, although rather experienced, was well tended and comfortable. We didn't get to know the staff, because check in was an envelope taped to the office window, and check out was handled by a distracted clerk on the phone with a family member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Bear Diner is near by, and well worth the visit for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rita Skeeter
Middle AZ
Aug 19, 2011

If you want to party, this is the place

We went for a weekend getaway. What we got was reminiscent of my college dorm. The pool supposedly closed at 11pm, but there was nobody there to make sure it was done. Young adults partied all night long making noise & there was no one to quiet them down. The pool is in the center of the hotel, so sounds travel throughout the hotel. Also, they did not have our reservation in their computer, even though we purchased the room 3 weeks in advance. I'd call the hotel after making your reservation to be sure they had you in their computer, or you could be out of luck. The room was okay. I've stayed in worse & better. Nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sands Vacation Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
May 31, 2011

Exactly what I was looking for :)

I booked two rooms at the Sands Vacation Resort for Memorial Day Weekend. Hotel was exactly what I was looking for... which was a low priced spot that wasn't to far from the lake. The spot was ideal for the type of trip I had in mind... which was to party!!!!! Rooms were nothing fancy but were great considering the price and I really liked that the rooms were situated right along the pool so it was ideal for partying. The front desk were sometimes hard to get a hold of (especially after 10pm) but were extremely nice and assisted me and my guest in every way possible. Over all I had a great stay and would definitely stay at the Sands Resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hidden patio behind basketball/tennis court.. Great for large groups to hang out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search