$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
118 reviews
A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer... See full review

  • John 505 H.
  • Jun 24, 2014
Grand Canyon Gateway

Perfect location for trips into the park. Nicest hotel in Tusayan. See full review

  • Accounting Wizard
  • Apr 11, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.9701 -112.127
Area served
Grand Canyon
Nearby airports
Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (FLG) - 84 miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor (PHX) - 230 miles
Las Vegas McCarran (LAS) - 269 miles
Area description
Located on US Highway 64 in the town of Tusayan, the Grand Hotel is within two miles of the Grand Canyon National Park's south entrance, and within nine miles of the Rim Trail on the edge of the canyon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Dining

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon
Both the restaurant and the adjacent saloon at the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona bring that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and seats up to 350 guests at one time.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Canyon Conference Room at The Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona is the perfect location for meetings, receptions, reunions, or private dinners. Guests and attendees have the benefit of an exclusive meeting space with all the comforts and ambiance of the Grand Hotel.


For larger meetings and events, the Canyon Star Restaurant comfortably seats up to 300 people and is ideal for wedding receptions, large family reunions, corporate events, auctions, or group lunches. Our expert banquet staff can also assist with the selection of wedding ceremony locations in the Grand Canyon National Park, provide award-winning photography for your event, and even produce breathtaking floral arrangements or customized wedding cake.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 118
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MariaGiovanna
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2014

FAMILY VACATION

We thought that this Hotel has really good position! The atmosphere is lovely and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonecapone
Tusayan Arizona
Jul 8, 2014

Grand Canyon Pit Stop

Great location and the beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Wendy's, cheap and good. Other places are a rip off including McDonald's!

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia E
Grand Canyon
Jul 7, 2014

Over priced

The location of the hotel was ideal to visitors of the Grand Canyon, less than 1 mile away. The room we had was quiet and clean, however our toilet didn't flush. We called the front desk within minutes of checking in to notify them of the problem. The toilet was "plunged" but not fixed. Luckily, we were in the room less than 12 hours due to our travel itinerary. Also, the 2nd floor access from the parking lot, the door was not locked as it should have been, it appeared to be broken. That was a bit unnerving, as we felt anyone could have entered at any time. We stayed in several hotels during the long 4th of July weekend and this one was the most expensive and I felt the worst value. For the money I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 505 H.
Albuquerque
Jun 24, 2014

A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer construction/remodeling up front but they had it under control. The swimming pool was crystal clear. The room attendants let me trade the decaf for real coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a pretty big hole in the ground that goes on for miles.

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Omeme
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 19, 2014

Good Location

Our family stayed on night. It was a perfect location to visit to Grand Canyon. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved to have Keurig coffee machine in the room! There was a laundry room and very convenient, but only 2 wash machines. We were satisfied to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krippy
Tusayan, AZ
Apr 27, 2014

Grand Canyon visit

Staff was friendly. The room was nothing special. It would have been nice to have a micro/ fridge. We brought our breakfast items with us and used a cooler to keep the fruit, juice and yogurt cold. You need to use your room card to get ice. Obviously, breakfast was not included. The shower curtain had pink mildew on it. I did like the pumps containing shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The price was high for the room but was comparable to surrounding hotel prices. Location was close and many food options close by. Choose the fast food place with red pigtails over the one with the golden arches. Inflated pricing. Decent for a possible once in a lifetime event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stacey551
Phoenix
Mar 20, 2014

Great Location

We travelled up to the Grand Canyon at the last minute, and couldn't find a hotel in the park. This hotel was in a great location--very convenient. The fireplace in the lobby was great. All of us sat by the fire and had a glass of wine. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelCompanion
Atlanta, GA
Mar 13, 2014

There Are Better Options

The hotel is in a good location - very close to the Grand Canyon's South Rim entrance, and across the street from a great Mexican restaurant. They also have an indoor pool and jacuzzi. The rooms and hotel are also nicely decorated (huge fireplace in the hotel lobby, etc). HOWEVER, the rooms are not clean (there was someone else's hair on our pillows and sheets, so we had to request more; Also, the bathroom toilet didn't flush properly, so we had to request a repair. And the housekeeping staff continuously threw pillows and sheets on the floors - which might be where the random hair came from). The gym might as well be nonexistent. The gift shop had weird hours (almost never open). And the restaurant was overpriced, understaffed, and they didn't even know what their lunch hours were. They also don't have a real lunch menu - it's just the appetizers from the dinner menu. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. I would try one of the hotels across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pervezchicago
Chicago
Feb 22, 2014

Great option for the canyon

Nice hotel, great location, needs some updates but about what we expected. Nice heated pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivo Zipp
Montreal, Qc
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect location to explore the South Rim.

The hotel is perfectly located to see / hike the South Rim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not speed through the village - seen a few cops giving tickets for 45 m/h in a 35 miles zone.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search