$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
110 reviews
Awesome trip

The hotel has a good location and make me feel good. The only problem is it poor wifi connection. I... See full review

  • Springcoming
  • Dec 19, 2014
Everything is good except bad wifi

The wifi works really bad there. Other things goes well. See full review

  • Springcoming
  • Nov 30, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Dining

Canyon Star Steakhouse and Saloon
The Canyon Star Steakhouse located in the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona brings that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast and dinner.
Canyon Star Saloon
Step inside the Canyon Star Saloon and get transported to the past when you take a seat at the bar. Some of the stools are made from the original saddles that were used by the mule runners in the old days. Big screen televisions help you keep up with your favorite sports teams. It's open for lunch and dinner.
Canyon Star Cafe
The coffee shop serves your favorite coffee drinks. Our gourmet coffee station will help you get your busy day started.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 110
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Melissa R.
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Fun family trip

Visited the Grand Canyon with 2 kids age 9 and 7. The hotel was great but the pool was really cold the whole time... The food was good but very expensive at both the hotel and around town. Overall a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenniturtle
Business
Greenville, NC
Sep 29, 2014

short trip to Grand Canyon

The hotel was a bit pricey to be outside of the park. The location was easy to get to. The comforter on one of the beds was badly stained, so stained that I can't believe whoever made the bed did not notice. Once I called the front desk to have it swapped with another one they were very prompt in bringing a new one. Coffee maker did not work after many attempts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reggijohn
Business
Arizona
Aug 27, 2014

Family getaway to GC

The staff were quite pleasant and the room was clean. It was also convenient to the Grand Canyon which was the purpose of our trip. The price of the food however was much to high. Would rate the food a low value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat somewhere else as the food was not very good and way too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MariaGiovanna
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 10, 2014

FAMILY VACATION

We thought that this Hotel has really good position! The atmosphere is lovely and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonecapone
Business
Tusayan Arizona
Jul 8, 2014

Grand Canyon Pit Stop

Great location and the beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Wendy's, cheap and good. Other places are a rip off including McDonald's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia E
Business
Grand Canyon
Jul 7, 2014

Over priced

The location of the hotel was ideal to visitors of the Grand Canyon, less than 1 mile away. The room we had was quiet and clean, however our toilet didn't flush. We called the front desk within minutes of checking in to notify them of the problem. The toilet was "plunged" but not fixed. Luckily, we were in the room less than 12 hours due to our travel itinerary. Also, the 2nd floor access from the parking lot, the door was not locked as it should have been, it appeared to be broken. That was a bit unnerving, as we felt anyone could have entered at any time. We stayed in several hotels during the long 4th of July weekend and this one was the most expensive and I felt the worst value. For the money I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 505 H.
Business
Albuquerque
Jun 24, 2014

A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer construction/remodeling up front but they had it under control. The swimming pool was crystal clear. The room attendants let me trade the decaf for real coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a pretty big hole in the ground that goes on for miles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Omeme
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 19, 2014

Good Location

Our family stayed on night. It was a perfect location to visit to Grand Canyon. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved to have Keurig coffee machine in the room! There was a laundry room and very convenient, but only 2 wash machines. We were satisfied to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krippy
Business
Tusayan, AZ
Apr 27, 2014

Grand Canyon visit

Staff was friendly. The room was nothing special. It would have been nice to have a micro/ fridge. We brought our breakfast items with us and used a cooler to keep the fruit, juice and yogurt cold. You need to use your room card to get ice. Obviously, breakfast was not included. The shower curtain had pink mildew on it. I did like the pumps containing shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The price was high for the room but was comparable to surrounding hotel prices. Location was close and many food options close by. Choose the fast food place with red pigtails over the one with the golden arches. Inflated pricing. Decent for a possible once in a lifetime event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stacey551
Business
Phoenix
Mar 20, 2014

Great Location

We travelled up to the Grand Canyon at the last minute, and couldn't find a hotel in the park. This hotel was in a great location--very convenient. The fireplace in the lobby was great. All of us sat by the fire and had a glass of wine. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top