$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
104 reviews
A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer... See full review

  • John 505 H.
  • Jun 24, 2014
Grand Canyon Gateway

Perfect location for trips into the park. Nicest hotel in Tusayan. See full review

  • Accounting Wizard
  • Apr 11, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.9701 -112.127
Area served
Grand Canyon
Nearby airports
Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (FLG) - 84 miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor (PHX) - 230 miles
Las Vegas McCarran (LAS) - 269 miles
Area description
Located on US Highway 64 in the town of Tusayan, the Grand Hotel is within two miles of the Grand Canyon National Park's south entrance, and within nine miles of the Rim Trail on the edge of the canyon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Dining

Canyon Star Steakhouse and Saloon
The Canyon Star Steakhouse located in the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona brings that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast and dinner.
Canyon Star Saloon
Step inside the Canyon Star Saloon and get transported to the past when you take a seat at the bar. Some of the stools are made from the original saddles that were used by the mule runners in the old days. Big screen televisions help you keep up with your favorite sports teams. It's open for lunch and dinner.
Canyon Star Cafe
The coffee shop serves your favorite coffee drinks. Our gourmet coffee station will help you get your busy day started.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Dont do it!!!!

The staff was nice - but the hotel was under renovation. They had a pipe burst and we had minimal water preasure. Plus all the hallways were blocked off and we had to walk up and down the stairs with no elevator access and on the third floor. No compensation was offered to us, and we had to carry our luggage to and from the the room ON THE STAIRS!!! Stay elsehwere. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Management Ignores Customer's Problems

The Grand Hotel was not worth the money. Sure you pay for location but you can get the same location just across the street at the Economy Hotel/Motels for much less expense. Only dining option was horrid. Poor service and awful food. Worse was the check would always be incorrect and include multiple items we did not order. Tried for 3 days to speak with the General Mgr, who refused to come out of her office to speak with us. From the top down, absolutely no customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Ed
Tucson, AZ
May 5, 2013

Not SoGood

The hotel is antiquated they use paper cups for the water and coffe, the food in the dinning room was below standard, they did't have any bottled beer just tap with a poor selection. I would not recommended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasta and Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kasia944
Barrington, IL
Aug 19, 2013

Bed Bugs and Other Bad Experiences

The stay at this hotel was Motel quality at 4 star hotel prices. I normally don’t post bad reviews but it is rear that I should pay $200 a night and wished that I rather be sleeping in a tent. The service was terrible starting with a long line to check in and then the hotel receptionist not being able to find our reservations. If I did not have a printed confirmation that I prepaid for two rooms at the hotel they would have just sent me away and then maybe I would have been sleeping in my car instead. Once this issue was resolved the hotel manager placed us in a rooms with a queen size bad instead of king size bad, which is what we paid for, claiming that they no longer have any available rooms. The kid’s room smelled funny but look clean however once I got in my room I found bed bugs and adult toy under the bed. Magically the manager found another room for us and gave us a slight apology. The rest of the hotel amenities were just as disappointing. The hot tub was broken, the pool as small and did not look very clean. The towels were the size of the dish towel and the carpets visibly dirty. On a positive note I would like to add that the rooms were very nicely decorated so the pictures look good and the location is great if you can’t get a hotel in the park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deboraha
Kansas City, MO
Jun 1, 2007

Extremely Expensive for the Quality Provided

The Grand Hotel proved to be the most expensive and disappointing hotel accommodation of our vacation. We arrived earlier than we had anticipated and appreciated the early check-in, however, due to our haste to make the I-Max movie we did not inspect the room - a big mistake. We returned to the room after 11:00 p.m. only to discover the sink and vanity had not been cleaned (purple hair gel on the counter and around the sink) and it had not been appointed with towels, washcloths, kleenex or a full roll of toilet paper. On further inspection we discovered that the coffee maker had remnants of previous drinks on the base and had not been stocked with coffee, cups, cream or sugar. The coffee bar and the table tops had not been wiped down and had sticky cup and can rings on the surfaces. It did not appear that the room had been vacuumed. It was highly suggested that the breakfast bar was a much better bargain than the continental breakfast. This may be true some days but the morning we dined the number of diners from the tour buses proved to be too much for the staff and they were unable to keep the buffet stocked. The hot food and fresh fruit were available sporadically and it was a constant scramble to get the food when it was brought out to the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Go Across the street to get your value!

In house restaurant was the worst service, food, and value. Each time our check would include items we never ordered. Entrees would not be completely plated before reaching the table - something was always missing! General Manager refused to speak with methe entire 3 day stay regarding the service and erroneous charges. Rooms were worn and old. No ameneties. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel where the TV reception had only 3 channels?! No business center for you to stay in touch with the office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Hotel is only 1 mile from the entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. It is still several miles to the rim.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We booked the room with King bed for two night [...]. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00pm and we checked in with this guy (last name [...]). We were too tired to notice that we got the queen bed. The next morning (around 5 am) when I called the front desk, the same guy who checked us in answered. I asked him why he gave us a queen bed whereas we asked for a king. [...] he said there is no room with King bed available. I asked him why he didn't mention that when we checked in. He didn't answer. I asked him, if he could check to move us to a king bed room for today. He said "Actually,,, yes, there is one just POP UP in the system". Even a five year old know that he didn't check last night. So we moved in to the new room with King bed. Guess what??? They didn't changed the bed sheets (hair all over), and toilet is not clean. Do not go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PinkSarah
Charleston, WV
Sep 6, 2011

Not too shabby

The hotel was nice but for the price I expected more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Expect to pay more than you typically would!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
othermrssmith
Toronto, Canada
Mar 17, 2014

Not so great

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. The room cards don't work resulting in you having to go back to the lobby several times to get a new one. The restaurant isn't that great and the staff in there was awful. After asking about the seafood special on the menu (it tells you to ask) our waitress told us "there isn't a seafood special today because the seafood we have on the menu is fine." Odd. The host was rude....just an all round bad experience. We aren't difficult people. We just wanted a warm bed and a good drink and we just barely got that. I'd stay across the street at the best western next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Longing for Adequate Lodging at GC
Heathrow, Florida
Oct 31, 2010

Just the Basics - Nothing More

This was a last minute booking and I should have done more homework. The Hotel has a passable Western atmosphere. The rooms are extremely basic with old tired decor and appear much older than the facade of the hotel. The staff seemed to want to be somewhere, anywhere else but working there and were not to interested in providing service with anything resembling a genuine smile, or even provide eye contact - a very telling sign. The rooms and hallways were almost clean. Would recommend this site only if no other lodging available. The one redeeming factor is that it is relatively close to the front entrace of the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant food was uninspired, overpriced for the quality of the meal and the service was very poor. The competing steakhouse just North was even worse, with corn on the cob boiled to tastelessness, unseasoned and watery beans, and hard cold bread served with a gristle filled "sirloin" steak. The shrimp and steak consisted of two cold and overcooked frozen battered shrimp laid over the aforementioned warm gristle filled steak...The baby back ribs were adult cow ribs slathered with a cheap "barbecue from the bottle" conconction...Avoid this steak and barbecue joint if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search