$248 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
153 reviews
A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer... See full review

  • John 505 H.
  • Jun 24, 2014
Grand Canyon Gateway

Perfect location for trips into the park. Nicest hotel in Tusayan. See full review

  • Accounting Wizard
  • Apr 11, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.9701 -112.127
Area served
Grand Canyon
Nearby airports
Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (FLG) - 84 miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor (PHX) - 230 miles
Las Vegas McCarran (LAS) - 269 miles
Area description
Located on US Highway 64 in the town of Tusayan, the Grand Hotel is within two miles of the Grand Canyon National Park's south entrance, and within nine miles of the Rim Trail on the edge of the canyon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Canyon Conference Room at The Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona is the perfect location for meetings, receptions, reunions, or private dinners. Guests and attendees have the benefit of an exclusive meeting space with all the comforts and ambiance of the Grand Hotel.


For larger meetings and events, the Canyon Star Restaurant comfortably seats up to 300 people and is ideal for wedding receptions, large family reunions, corporate events, auctions, or group lunches. Our expert banquet staff can also assist with the selection of wedding ceremony locations in the Grand Canyon National Park, provide award-winning photography for your event, and even produce breathtaking floral arrangements or customized wedding cake.

Dining

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon
Both the restaurant and the adjacent saloon at the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona bring that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and seats up to 350 guests at one time.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Dont do it!!!!

The staff was nice - but the hotel was under renovation. They had a pipe burst and we had minimal water preasure. Plus all the hallways were blocked off and we had to walk up and down the stairs with no elevator access and on the third floor. No compensation was offered to us, and we had to carry our luggage to and from the the room ON THE STAIRS!!! Stay elsehwere. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Management Ignores Customer's Problems

The Grand Hotel was not worth the money. Sure you pay for location but you can get the same location just across the street at the Economy Hotel/Motels for much less expense. Only dining option was horrid. Poor service and awful food. Worse was the check would always be incorrect and include multiple items we did not order. Tried for 3 days to speak with the General Mgr, who refused to come out of her office to speak with us. From the top down, absolutely no customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Ed
Tucson, AZ
May 5, 2013

Not SoGood

The hotel is antiquated they use paper cups for the water and coffe, the food in the dinning room was below standard, they did't have any bottled beer just tap with a poor selection. I would not recommended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasta and Pizza

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kasia944
Barrington, IL
Aug 19, 2013

Bed Bugs and Other Bad Experiences

The stay at this hotel was Motel quality at 4 star hotel prices. I normally don’t post bad reviews but it is rear that I should pay $200 a night and wished that I rather be sleeping in a tent. The service was terrible starting with a long line to check in and then the hotel receptionist not being able to find our reservations. If I did not have a printed confirmation that I prepaid for two rooms at the hotel they would have just sent me away and then maybe I would have been sleeping in my car instead. Once this issue was resolved the hotel manager placed us in a rooms with a queen size bad instead of king size bad, which is what we paid for, claiming that they no longer have any available rooms. The kid’s room smelled funny but look clean however once I got in my room I found bed bugs and adult toy under the bed. Magically the manager found another room for us and gave us a slight apology. The rest of the hotel amenities were just as disappointing. The hot tub was broken, the pool as small and did not look very clean. The towels were the size of the dish towel and the carpets visibly dirty. On a positive note I would like to add that the rooms were very nicely decorated so the pictures look good and the location is great if you can’t get a hotel in the park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Dont do it!!!!

The staff was nice - but the hotel was under renovation. They had a pipe burst and we had minimal water preasure. Plus all the hallways were blocked off and we had to walk up and down the stairs with no elevator access and on the third floor. No compensation was offered to us, and we had to carry our luggage to and from the the room ON THE STAIRS!!! Stay elsehwere. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deboraha
Kansas City, MO
Jun 1, 2007

Extremely Expensive for the Quality Provided

The Grand Hotel proved to be the most expensive and disappointing hotel accommodation of our vacation. We arrived earlier than we had anticipated and appreciated the early check-in, however, due to our haste to make the I-Max movie we did not inspect the room - a big mistake. We returned to the room after 11:00 p.m. only to discover the sink and vanity had not been cleaned (purple hair gel on the counter and around the sink) and it had not been appointed with towels, washcloths, kleenex or a full roll of toilet paper. On further inspection we discovered that the coffee maker had remnants of previous drinks on the base and had not been stocked with coffee, cups, cream or sugar. The coffee bar and the table tops had not been wiped down and had sticky cup and can rings on the surfaces. It did not appear that the room had been vacuumed. It was highly suggested that the breakfast bar was a much better bargain than the continental breakfast. This may be true some days but the morning we dined the number of diners from the tour buses proved to be too much for the staff and they were unable to keep the buffet stocked. The hot food and fresh fruit were available sporadically and it was a constant scramble to get the food when it was brought out to the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Management Ignores Customer's Problems

The Grand Hotel was not worth the money. Sure you pay for location but you can get the same location just across the street at the Economy Hotel/Motels for much less expense. Only dining option was horrid. Poor service and awful food. Worse was the check would always be incorrect and include multiple items we did not order. Tried for 3 days to speak with the General Mgr, who refused to come out of her office to speak with us. From the top down, absolutely no customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deboraha
Kansas City, MO
Jun 1, 2007

Extremely Expensive for the Quality Provided

The Grand Hotel proved to be the most expensive and disappointing hotel accommodation of our vacation. We arrived earlier than we had anticipated and appreciated the early check-in, however, due to our haste to make the I-Max movie we did not inspect the room - a big mistake. We returned to the room after 11:00 p.m. only to discover the sink and vanity had not been cleaned (purple hair gel on the counter and around the sink) and it had not been appointed with towels, washcloths, kleenex or a full roll of toilet paper. On further inspection we discovered that the coffee maker had remnants of previous drinks on the base and had not been stocked with coffee, cups, cream or sugar. The coffee bar and the table tops had not been wiped down and had sticky cup and can rings on the surfaces. It did not appear that the room had been vacuumed. It was highly suggested that the breakfast bar was a much better bargain than the continental breakfast. This may be true some days but the morning we dined the number of diners from the tour buses proved to be too much for the staff and they were unable to keep the buffet stocked. The hot food and fresh fruit were available sporadically and it was a constant scramble to get the food when it was brought out to the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Go Across the street to get your value!

In house restaurant was the worst service, food, and value. Each time our check would include items we never ordered. Entrees would not be completely plated before reaching the table - something was always missing! General Manager refused to speak with methe entire 3 day stay regarding the service and erroneous charges. Rooms were worn and old. No ameneties. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel where the TV reception had only 3 channels?! No business center for you to stay in touch with the office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Hotel is only 1 mile from the entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. It is still several miles to the rim.

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We booked the room with King bed for two night [...]. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00pm and we checked in with this guy (last name [...]). We were too tired to notice that we got the queen bed. The next morning (around 5 am) when I called the front desk, the same guy who checked us in answered. I asked him why he gave us a queen bed whereas we asked for a king. [...] he said there is no room with King bed available. I asked him why he didn't mention that when we checked in. He didn't answer. I asked him, if he could check to move us to a king bed room for today. He said "Actually,,, yes, there is one just POP UP in the system". Even a five year old know that he didn't check last night. So we moved in to the new room with King bed. Guess what??? They didn't changed the bed sheets (hair all over), and toilet is not clean. Do not go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top