$218 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hisayo
Business
Japan
Jul 12, 2011

Great Atmosphere

Nice amenities and beds but there are no fridge or microwave in your room where the restaurants are not available either. Kinda inconvenient for grand canyon trip but nice location and very relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Goels
Business
San Antonio, Tx
Jun 6, 2011

Beautiful

It was just a beautiful hotel and area. Enjoyed every minute there. A few of the hotel staff could've been a little nicer but the ones that were nice made up for those that weren't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hiking and Driving travelers
Business
San Francisco CA
May 8, 2011

one mile away from park entrance

good enough for a visit to the Grand Canyon. This was a look see trip to decide how we want to visit the park in the future.For hiking it's better to stay in the park, but for a relaxed visit that includes walking and driving to view points it's perfect. Room was clean with bare level amenities. Food at restaurant was okay but not great. Fun banjo player on Saturday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

One mile from South Rim park entrance to Grand Canyon.Close to IMAX where Grand Canyon film is shown, and several restaurants, grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
az
May 8, 2011

the good the bad

visited grand canyon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

tv channels only part of them worked no ref or micro wave .. room clean ..should have ref and micro wave for the price..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Apr 5, 2011

Great food! Be sure to dine here!

This is a nice hotel, perfect location, nicest hotel in Tusayan - a five minute drive to the Grand Canyon park entrance. Nothing spectacular about the accommodations but a nice room and comfy bed, good size, nice staff, etc. We were most surprised by the food! Skip the morning breakfast buffet (overpriced) and order an omelet or the ham steak & eggs from the menu! The ham steak is cut onsite and is the best ham ever! The omelet is also spectacular with spinach and goat cheese. We were so pleased with our breakfast we decided to have dinner at the hotel as well - a real winner! The filet and strip steaks are also cut onsite and they are delish. Juicy, flavorful, smoky. If you are staying at another hotel in the area we would highly recommend having your meals here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the extra cash to take the 50 minute helicopter ride over/in the canyon. Should not be missed - well worth the $! Papillon heliport is a two minute drive south of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, TN
Apr 4, 2011

Great location, high prices

Thi hotel's location is fantastic as far as access to the Grand Canyon. The surrounding area, howeve, is lacking. The prices for the hotel breakfast are too expensive for the quality of the food. The breakfast is just one grade above McDonald's. It certainly is not worth almost $40 for breakfast for 2. Additionally, we had to pay for a refrigerator for our room. There is no delivery service of any kind available in this area. Although we did enjoy being close enough to the Canyon to come and go as we pleased, we would have had a better experience if we had stayed in Williams. We checked out early and stayed our last day in Williams. It is much more tourist friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 16, 2011

Dont do it!!!!

The staff was nice - but the hotel was under renovation. They had a pipe burst and we had minimal water preasure. Plus all the hallways were blocked off and we had to walk up and down the stairs with no elevator access and on the third floor. No compensation was offered to us, and we had to carry our luggage to and from the the room ON THE STAIRS!!! Stay elsehwere. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elvis lover
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Dec 26, 2010

[...]

[...] The hotel was clean, roomy and all the staff were great. I would recommend this hotel. It's a great weekend getaway hotel! Thanks to all the staff especially [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 10, 2010

Don't go there!!!!

We booked the room with King bed for two night [...]. We arrived at the hotel around 10:00pm and we checked in with this guy (last name [...]). We were too tired to notice that we got the queen bed. The next morning (around 5 am) when I called the front desk, the same guy who checked us in answered. I asked him why he gave us a queen bed whereas we asked for a king. [...] he said there is no room with King bed available. I asked him why he didn't mention that when we checked in. He didn't answer. I asked him, if he could check to move us to a king bed room for today. He said "Actually,,, yes, there is one just POP UP in the system". Even a five year old know that he didn't check last night. So we moved in to the new room with King bed. Guess what??? They didn't changed the bed sheets (hair all over), and toilet is not clean. Do not go there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Longing for Adequate Lodging at GC
Business
Heathrow, Florida
Oct 31, 2010

Just the Basics - Nothing More

This was a last minute booking and I should have done more homework. The Hotel has a passable Western atmosphere. The rooms are extremely basic with old tired decor and appear much older than the facade of the hotel. The staff seemed to want to be somewhere, anywhere else but working there and were not to interested in providing service with anything resembling a genuine smile, or even provide eye contact - a very telling sign. The rooms and hallways were almost clean. Would recommend this site only if no other lodging available. The one redeeming factor is that it is relatively close to the front entrace of the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant food was uninspired, overpriced for the quality of the meal and the service was very poor. The competing steakhouse just North was even worse, with corn on the cob boiled to tastelessness, unseasoned and watery beans, and hard cold bread served with a gristle filled "sirloin" steak. The shrimp and steak consisted of two cold and overcooked frozen battered shrimp laid over the aforementioned warm gristle filled steak...The baby back ribs were adult cow ribs slathered with a cheap "barbecue from the bottle" conconction...Avoid this steak and barbecue joint if possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top