$238 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OC Frequent Traveller
Business
Orange County, California
Jan 3, 2014

Great location

Stay was good. Close to Grand Canyon National park and across from IMAX theater. Would have been nice if Breakfast was included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fimich
Business
MN
Jan 2, 2014

Ok, but way overpriced

Good hotel, clean and in good location. The location is the reason the place charges such a premium. I would expect to pay around $70-80 tops for something like this. What's more the breakfast is not included, which is of course disclosed when you book it. We've been to many places on this trip with very comparable hotels, all were about 30% cheaper, included breakfast and offered same or better amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hendy 123
Business
Regina, SK, Canada
Jan 1, 2014

Bad timing?

When we arrived we were looking forward to having a swim or a hot tub...it was under renovation we weren't told of this or I would have stayed elsewhere. The hotel was cold. The room was ok bed was comfy but we had kids running up and down the hallway screaming and could hear neighbours. Not a great sleep being that we wanted to get up at 7am to see sunrise at the canyon which was fantastic! They have a decent restaurant great steak! Maybe stay somewhere else until renovations are done but go there to eat ?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana and Max
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 15, 2013

~ 5 mi to South Rim of Great Canyon

Comfort, soft, warm bed when outside is freezing at night, HD flat screen forty two inch TV, discount in local restaurant with live music - everything appealing. So pleasant to rest after walking along the rim, or on the Bright Angel Trail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

South Rim of Great Canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russian mom
Business
Phoenix
Oct 18, 2013

Nice location

The location is perfect just 2 miles from the entrance to the Grand Canyon national park. The beds were very good. The room was clean. Everything worked. ( tv, shower, switches, etc) nice hotel in a good location..... Wish it could have been cheaper so we could spend more time there .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jl500
Business
stoughon, ma
Sep 23, 2013

Under Renovation - Not bad

The hotel is very close to the Grand Canyon, so location makes this a great place to stay. The linens were not very clean. Several things were out of order when we were there, but they are renovating so hopefully these issues will be short lived. Overall, a nice place but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kasia944
Business
Barrington, IL
Aug 19, 2013

Bed Bugs and Other Bad Experiences

The stay at this hotel was Motel quality at 4 star hotel prices. I normally don’t post bad reviews but it is rear that I should pay $200 a night and wished that I rather be sleeping in a tent. The service was terrible starting with a long line to check in and then the hotel receptionist not being able to find our reservations. If I did not have a printed confirmation that I prepaid for two rooms at the hotel they would have just sent me away and then maybe I would have been sleeping in my car instead. Once this issue was resolved the hotel manager placed us in a rooms with a queen size bad instead of king size bad, which is what we paid for, claiming that they no longer have any available rooms. The kid’s room smelled funny but look clean however once I got in my room I found bed bugs and adult toy under the bed. Magically the manager found another room for us and gave us a slight apology. The rest of the hotel amenities were just as disappointing. The hot tub was broken, the pool as small and did not look very clean. The towels were the size of the dish towel and the carpets visibly dirty. On a positive note I would like to add that the rooms were very nicely decorated so the pictures look good and the location is great if you can’t get a hotel in the park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laesonmars
Business
San Ramon, CA
Jul 11, 2013

Out of Order

Items out of Order (With nicely written Out of Order signs): Pool spa, 2nd Floor Ice machine, 3/4 of washers, and change machine. Poor maintenance and staff reaction to poor maintance. Hotel carpets need changed. Other wise good location, not bad hotel, just lots of room for improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Ed
Business
Tucson, AZ
May 5, 2013

Not SoGood

The hotel is antiquated they use paper cups for the water and coffe, the food in the dinning room was below standard, they did't have any bottled beer just tap with a poor selection. I would not recommended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasta and Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocket ship
Business
Orange County, Ca
Jan 17, 2013

Fair price, ok hotel

Wanted a not too pricey hotel within driving distance of the Grand Canyon. Cabin-like feeling when you enter. Front desk staff seem to not really know what they're doing. When I checked in the guy asked if I had booked two rooms, I said no, one room, two beeds. Took all the luggage up to the room, found out it was one-bed room. Had to bring all the luggage back down and wait for a new room with two beds. Also restaurant inside hotel was horrible. There were empty tables everywhere when we showed up and were still told there would be an hour wait. After getting seated we still had to wait about another hour til our food showed up. And the food was expensive! There aren't many other options in the area to eat, so I guess they don't have to step up their game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top