The Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonecapone
Family
Tusayan Arizona
Jul 8, 2014

Grand Canyon Pit Stop

Great location and the beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Wendy's, cheap and good. Other places are a rip off including McDonald's!

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patricia E
Family
Grand Canyon
Jul 7, 2014

Over priced

The location of the hotel was ideal to visitors of the Grand Canyon, less than 1 mile away. The room we had was quiet and clean, however our toilet didn't flush. We called the front desk within minutes of checking in to notify them of the problem. The toilet was "plunged" but not fixed. Luckily, we were in the room less than 12 hours due to our travel itinerary. Also, the 2nd floor access from the parking lot, the door was not locked as it should have been, it appeared to be broken. That was a bit unnerving, as we felt anyone could have entered at any time. We stayed in several hotels during the long 4th of July weekend and this one was the most expensive and I felt the worst value. For the money I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John 505 H.
Family
Albuquerque
Jun 24, 2014

A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer construction/remodeling up front but they had it under control. The swimming pool was crystal clear. The room attendants let me trade the decaf for real coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a pretty big hole in the ground that goes on for miles.

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Omeme
Family
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 19, 2014

Good Location

Our family stayed on night. It was a perfect location to visit to Grand Canyon. The room was clean and comfortable. I loved to have Keurig coffee machine in the room! There was a laundry room and very convenient, but only 2 wash machines. We were satisfied to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vbnm
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 3, 2014

Basic room

The room is rather old and could use some cleaning and updating. Works well if you don't plan to spend much time at the hotel or in the room. Close enough to Grand Canyon to be convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Krippy
Family
Tusayan, AZ
Apr 27, 2014

Grand Canyon visit

Staff was friendly. The room was nothing special. It would have been nice to have a micro/ fridge. We brought our breakfast items with us and used a cooler to keep the fruit, juice and yogurt cold. You need to use your room card to get ice. Obviously, breakfast was not included. The shower curtain had pink mildew on it. I did like the pumps containing shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. The price was high for the room but was comparable to surrounding hotel prices. Location was close and many food options close by. Choose the fast food place with red pigtails over the one with the golden arches. Inflated pricing. Decent for a possible once in a lifetime event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Accounting Wizard
Couples
Santa Clarita, CA
Apr 11, 2014

Grand Canyon Gateway

Perfect location for trips into the park. Nicest hotel in Tusayan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza Bonita serves great Mexican food and is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stacey551
Family
Phoenix
Mar 20, 2014

Great Location

We travelled up to the Grand Canyon at the last minute, and couldn't find a hotel in the park. This hotel was in a great location--very convenient. The fireplace in the lobby was great. All of us sat by the fire and had a glass of wine. The staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RJM14
Couples
Seattle, Washington
Mar 18, 2014

Overpriced, but good location

This hotel was probably very nice at one time. It is still above average, but it is a bit overpriced. There is a restaurant and bar on site, but they are pricey as well. However, you are paying for location. It is right outside the entrance to the Grand Canyon. Be aware, the pet fee is $50! I have paid less for a 4 star hotel, and had much nicer accommodations. It did seem that they were doing some remodeling though. Also, it is one of the nicer hotels in the area. Overall, it was pretty comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lancerdancer
Friends
salt lake city
Mar 14, 2014

awesome grand canyon hotel

This place was perfect for anyone going to see the grand canyon. It is located right outside the park, they have a decent restaurant with a lot of beer on tap. Friendly staff with nice rooms. Only negative was that the WiFi didn't work that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great beer

Back to menu Return to top