$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
104 reviews
A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer... See full review

  • John 505 H.
  • Jun 24, 2014
Grand Canyon Gateway

Perfect location for trips into the park. Nicest hotel in Tusayan. See full review

  • Accounting Wizard
  • Apr 11, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.9701 -112.127
Area served
Grand Canyon
Nearby airports
Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (FLG) - 84 miles
Phoenix Sky Harbor (PHX) - 230 miles
Las Vegas McCarran (LAS) - 269 miles
Area description
Located on US Highway 64 in the town of Tusayan, the Grand Hotel is within two miles of the Grand Canyon National Park's south entrance, and within nine miles of the Rim Trail on the edge of the canyon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Dining

Canyon Star Steakhouse and Saloon
The Canyon Star Steakhouse located in the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona brings that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast and dinner.
Canyon Star Saloon
Step inside the Canyon Star Saloon and get transported to the past when you take a seat at the bar. Some of the stools are made from the original saddles that were used by the mule runners in the old days. Big screen televisions help you keep up with your favorite sports teams. It's open for lunch and dinner.
Canyon Star Cafe
The coffee shop serves your favorite coffee drinks. Our gourmet coffee station will help you get your busy day started.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ana and Max
San Jose, California
Nov 15, 2013

~ 5 mi to South Rim of Great Canyon

Comfort, soft, warm bed when outside is freezing at night, HD flat screen forty two inch TV, discount in local restaurant with live music - everything appealing. So pleasant to rest after walking along the rim, or on the Bright Angel Trail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

South Rim of Great Canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russian mom
Phoenix
Oct 18, 2013

Nice location

The location is perfect just 2 miles from the entrance to the Grand Canyon national park. The beds were very good. The room was clean. Everything worked. ( tv, shower, switches, etc) nice hotel in a good location..... Wish it could have been cheaper so we could spend more time there .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jl500
stoughon, ma
Sep 23, 2013

Under Renovation - Not bad

The hotel is very close to the Grand Canyon, so location makes this a great place to stay. The linens were not very clean. Several things were out of order when we were there, but they are renovating so hopefully these issues will be short lived. Overall, a nice place but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kasia944
Barrington, IL
Aug 19, 2013

Bed Bugs and Other Bad Experiences

The stay at this hotel was Motel quality at 4 star hotel prices. I normally don’t post bad reviews but it is rear that I should pay $200 a night and wished that I rather be sleeping in a tent. The service was terrible starting with a long line to check in and then the hotel receptionist not being able to find our reservations. If I did not have a printed confirmation that I prepaid for two rooms at the hotel they would have just sent me away and then maybe I would have been sleeping in my car instead. Once this issue was resolved the hotel manager placed us in a rooms with a queen size bad instead of king size bad, which is what we paid for, claiming that they no longer have any available rooms. The kid’s room smelled funny but look clean however once I got in my room I found bed bugs and adult toy under the bed. Magically the manager found another room for us and gave us a slight apology. The rest of the hotel amenities were just as disappointing. The hot tub was broken, the pool as small and did not look very clean. The towels were the size of the dish towel and the carpets visibly dirty. On a positive note I would like to add that the rooms were very nicely decorated so the pictures look good and the location is great if you can’t get a hotel in the park area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laesonmars
San Ramon, CA
Jul 11, 2013

Out of Order

Items out of Order (With nicely written Out of Order signs): Pool spa, 2nd Floor Ice machine, 3/4 of washers, and change machine. Poor maintenance and staff reaction to poor maintance. Hotel carpets need changed. Other wise good location, not bad hotel, just lots of room for improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AZ Ed
Tucson, AZ
May 5, 2013

Not SoGood

The hotel is antiquated they use paper cups for the water and coffe, the food in the dinning room was below standard, they did't have any bottled beer just tap with a poor selection. I would not recommended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasta and Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocket ship
Orange County, Ca
Jan 17, 2013

Fair price, ok hotel

Wanted a not too pricey hotel within driving distance of the Grand Canyon. Cabin-like feeling when you enter. Front desk staff seem to not really know what they're doing. When I checked in the guy asked if I had booked two rooms, I said no, one room, two beeds. Took all the luggage up to the room, found out it was one-bed room. Had to bring all the luggage back down and wait for a new room with two beds. Also restaurant inside hotel was horrible. There were empty tables everywhere when we showed up and were still told there would be an hour wait. After getting seated we still had to wait about another hour til our food showed up. And the food was expensive! There aren't many other options in the area to eat, so I guess they don't have to step up their game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sugary Daddy
Renton, WA
Jan 4, 2013

Grand Canyon - Low season

Nice place to stay at reasonable rates. Close to South Rim Park Entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wesley J
Avondale, AZ
Dec 16, 2012

Wife's 1st Grand Canyon Trip

This was my wife's 1s trip to the Grand Canyon. It was a surprise trip. The hotel looked like something out of an old Christmas Movie, Huge fireplace it the lobby. High ceilings with a great openness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nince Mom
Long Beach, California
Dec 6, 2012

Great Family oriented Hotel

Me and my family had a great time at the Grand Hotel, and one of the things we really enjoyed is a smoke free environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search