$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
106 reviews
weekend trip to GC

good location(1 mile to GC south gate), good staff, the room is clean, me and my other two friends... See full review

  • vickysc93
  • Nov 16, 2014
A Grand stay at the Grand Canyon

They let us check in when we arrived. The staff was friendly. There was somer... See full review

  • John 505 H.
  • Jun 24, 2014
A grand destination at the Grand Canyon

Smoke-free Grand Hotel, one of the newest properties on the southern rim of Grand Canyon, features an open, inviting lobby, relaxing restaurant, rollicking saloon, and comfortable rooms. The hotel, built in 1998, resembles a sprawling, three-story chalet. The warm and spacious lobby, with exposed timbers and stone, a large flagstone fireplace, and cozy seating areas, reminds guests of a mountain lodge. Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool, restaurant, fitness center, and conference room.

Highlights
  • All-in-one accommodations
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Indoor swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Fitness center
Rooms

All 121 guestrooms feature bright colors, large windows, stylish Southwestern decor, and plenty of amenities, including air-conditioning, cable/satellite plasma television with in-room movies and complimentary premium channels, and telephone with voicemail. Guests choose from queen or king-sized beds. Deluxe rooms come with a private balcony or patio. All guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, a coffee maker, and Bath & Body Works amenities.

Features

The Grand Hotel's lobby features a grand piano, complimentary wireless Internet access, and a Grand Café for coffee and light snacks. The boutique gift shop offers Camelbak accessories, outdoor gear, footwear, and unique gifts, such as Native American jewelry and art.

 

Hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, guest laundry, meeting rooms, and nightly entertainment. The hotel staff arranges hiking trips, horseback riding tours, geological tours, and photo excursions. Nearby helicopter and airplane tours bring visitors to the most remote places in the Grand Canyon.

 

Canyon Star Restaurant and Saloon serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and can seat up to 350. The restaurant's menu specializes in steaks, barbecue dishes, Mexican-inspired foods, and traditional western-themed fare, while the saloon offers live entertainment and big-screen televisions for sports fans.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.4 mi/134.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Free Shuttle to Grand Canyon National Park via Grand Canyon Shuttle nearby
Nearby attractions
  • Papillion Helicopter Tours (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.8 mi/12.6 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Business
  • Canyon Conference Room accommodates private dinners or meetings
  • Canyon Star Restaurant accommodates larger events, comfortably seating 300
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Staff available for off-site, catered events
Policies and fees

  • From November 4, 2013 to January 17, 2014, the swimming pool will be going under a renovation.
  • Rollaway beds available (additional charge).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Our Standard Queen Queen room has two queen size beds, and can comfortably accommodate up to 4 people.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.8 mi

Dining

Canyon Star Steakhouse and Saloon
The Canyon Star Steakhouse located in the Grand Hotel in Grand Canyon, Arizona brings that old time southwestern sensibility to life with exposed timber, stone, ironwork and dcor that's influenced by the area. The restaurant serves steaks, great barbeque dishes, Mexican-inspired foods and traditional western-themed fare. It's open for breakfast and dinner.
Canyon Star Saloon
Step inside the Canyon Star Saloon and get transported to the past when you take a seat at the bar. Some of the stools are made from the original saddles that were used by the mule runners in the old days. Big screen televisions help you keep up with your favorite sports teams. It's open for lunch and dinner.
Canyon Star Cafe
The coffee shop serves your favorite coffee drinks. Our gourmet coffee station will help you get your busy day started.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 8, 2007

The hotel cheaped out, it was overpriced as a tourist trap.

The hotel cheaped out and I feel it was over priced. The main thing was the light bulbs, I am not sure what number they were, but the might have been 20 waltage. I couldn't see in the room. I couldn't see to brush my teeth. The dining room prices were very expensive also. The lobby was decorated and seemed clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Canyon is a short drive away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 24, 2007

My review of The Grand Hotel

Location was excellent and I liked the lobby. The room was OK for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Grand Canyon is just short drive - less then 15 minute from the Mather point. I-max was just across from the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Go Across the street to get your value!

In house restaurant was the worst service, food, and value. Each time our check would include items we never ordered. Entrees would not be completely plated before reaching the table - something was always missing! General Manager refused to speak with methe entire 3 day stay regarding the service and erroneous charges. Rooms were worn and old. No ameneties. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel where the TV reception had only 3 channels?! No business center for you to stay in touch with the office.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Grand Hotel is only 1 mile from the entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. It is still several miles to the rim.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Management Ignores Customer's Problems

The Grand Hotel was not worth the money. Sure you pay for location but you can get the same location just across the street at the Economy Hotel/Motels for much less expense. Only dining option was horrid. Poor service and awful food. Worse was the check would always be incorrect and include multiple items we did not order. Tried for 3 days to speak with the General Mgr, who refused to come out of her office to speak with us. From the top down, absolutely no customer service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ravneet
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 8, 2007

a nice place to stay

The Grand Hotel was clean, comfortable and rooms were a good size. The locations was in good proximity to the entrance of the Grand Canyon. Staff and concierge were very helpfull to book our helicopter rides etc at short notice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deboraha
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 1, 2007

Extremely Expensive for the Quality Provided

The Grand Hotel proved to be the most expensive and disappointing hotel accommodation of our vacation. We arrived earlier than we had anticipated and appreciated the early check-in, however, due to our haste to make the I-Max movie we did not inspect the room - a big mistake. We returned to the room after 11:00 p.m. only to discover the sink and vanity had not been cleaned (purple hair gel on the counter and around the sink) and it had not been appointed with towels, washcloths, kleenex or a full roll of toilet paper. On further inspection we discovered that the coffee maker had remnants of previous drinks on the base and had not been stocked with coffee, cups, cream or sugar. The coffee bar and the table tops had not been wiped down and had sticky cup and can rings on the surfaces. It did not appear that the room had been vacuumed. It was highly suggested that the breakfast bar was a much better bargain than the continental breakfast. This may be true some days but the morning we dined the number of diners from the tour buses proved to be too much for the staff and they were unable to keep the buffet stocked. The hot food and fresh fruit were available sporadically and it was a constant scramble to get the food when it was brought out to the buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top