$335 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 13, 2015

The Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 149 State Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Littleton, CO
Mar 21, 2010

The Old Price Gouger

Overcharge, overcharge, overcharge. The meals, drinks, anything you needed were so overpriced it was ridiculous - including this room. The expectation was that it would be a nice room for the price, but I think they overcharge for the location. The room was tiny and painted an ugly yellow. Next time, I would just book a room in Flagstaff and set out to see the Grand Canyon in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ojai, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Awesome!

After a long drive on our trip to the Grand Canyon, it was so refreshing to be greeted at The Grand Hotel by a very nice front desk person. As we waited for the elevator, we were greeted by another hotel employee who was very nice and told us if we needed anything, just ask. Upon entering our room, we were amazed to see a clean room, nice, big king size bed, clean bathroom and wireless internet! For the price we paid, we had an amazing stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant at the hotel was good and reasonably priced. Being at Grand Canyon in off season, didn't leave many choices open, but the restaurant was great compared to everything else around. The staff were very nice and my husband loved the house banjo player.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iewninvwinvweoi
Business
san jose,ca
Jan 17, 2010

The Grand Hotel

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 29, 2009

Burlap Sheets

The place was pretty when you went in and room was nice but the sheets were so scratchy it actually kept me awake. Towels too. I also went down for coffee in the AM. Terrible experience. The one woman manning both the coffee kiosk and gift shop was not the brightest bulb and slow. I had to wait till she was done with the gift shop patrons before she confusedly managed my coffee order. And she had no running water, barely rinsing things with a bottle of drinking water. Lousy gift shop too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit, mi
Nov 12, 2009

great hotel, great location

The hotel is quite new and built to be on a scale with the Grand Canyon, which is a mile away. It feels like a lodge. The rooms are large, very comfortable bed, good restaurant in the hotel for dinner and breakfast. Outstanding breakfast. They welcomed our dog and us. There is a gift shop and coffee bar, as well as a full bar. The best choice if you travel with a pet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Nov 3, 2009

A great lodge

Very close to park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel James
Business
Anchorage Alaska
Oct 22, 2009

The Grand Hotel

Wow ....I was unsure of where to book for a side trip from Las Vegas to the Grand Canyon.....Was I suprised at how nice the Grand Hotel was.....Nice rustic hotel with log decor and clean rooms.....free breakfast with my room and wonderful hot tub and workout facility. Parking was easy and it was convenient to the Canyon Rim, IMAX Theater, and great evening steaks at the yippe-I-oh Steak House and BBQ. I would suggest this property to anyone that travels to the Grand Canyon South Rim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel had great breakfast....Dinner at the Yippie-I-Oh BBQ / Steaks was great too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 20, 2009

Grand Canyon Hotel

Great hotel near the south rim of the Grand Canyon. Great location; clean room; comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 1 1/2 miles from the South Rim entrance of the Grand Canyon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hawaiian Rock-er
Business
Honolulu, HI
Sep 20, 2009

Expected A Little More for the Price

Primary purpose was to visit the Grand Canyon South Rim. Drove right past the hotel even though I was using a GPS. The GPS directed me to a location INSIDE the park, which was incorrect The only positive of that was that I paid for my park entry fee the evening I arrived which made the next 2 days entry into the park quicker (the park had 2 entry lines specifically for prepaid/already paid park visitors). After driving out of the park to locate the hotel I noticed that another reason why I had missed it was that the hotel sign out front was not lit (I had a late arrival at about 8PM).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reasonable good restaurant in the hotel. Trying the local cuisine (Buffalo) was a first for me. Lots of fast food places within walking distance from the hotel - MacDonalds, Wendy's - and a local diner across the street. The National Geographic IMAX theater about a block down the road showed a stunning historical and visual perspective of the Grand Canyon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hurricane Heather
Business
Clermont, FL
Jul 30, 2009

Convenience over experience

The train was an interesting, and unique way to explore the canyon. my kids loved the stage show, and the staged robberies as well. the layout of the property was confusing. check-in was a disaster - far too many guests with far too few check-in staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT eat at the hotel, under any circumstances. Take a short walk, enjoy the sights, there are plenty of lovely places to eat, at any time of day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top