$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Red Feather Lodge

3 stars
Highway 64, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
165 reviews
Exactly what we needed

Arrived super late due to finishing our rim to rim hike at 3am. We needed a shower and a... See full review

  • Hikejtree
  • Sep 17, 2014
Perfect standard hotel

It's perfectly located in Grand Canyon Village. You're a half block from the National Geographic... See full review

  • Edgar C
  • Jan 2, 2014
Tusayan lodge with comfy accommodations

This air-conditioned lodge offers travelers an excellent assortment of lodging options and amenities, plus unrivaled access to local attractions. Guests enjoy nearby restaurants, gift shops, and the National Geographic Visitor Center and IMAX Theater. Hotel amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, pet-friendly rooms, and an on-site restaurant.

Highlights
  • Convenient to airport, attractions
  • Queen, king, and suite rooms
  • Complimentary W-Fi access
  • Tour packages available
Rooms

Red Feather Lodge offers 216 inviting, climate-controlled guest rooms, each designed for maximum comfort and convenience. Basic amenities include two queen beds, cable television with pay movies and premium channels, telephones with voicemail and free local calls, and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. King bedrooms include a refrigerator and microwave oven. The motel offers smoking and pet-friendly rooms.

Features

Red Feather Lodge is actually two adjacent buildings, a hotel and motor lodge, the latter offering guests greater flexibility by providing smoking and pet-friendly rooms. Guests enjoy coffee and tea in the lodge lobby around the clock, while the on-site restaurant, the Café Tusayan, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour front desk, and courteous staff offer guests a relaxing respite.

 

Guests take advantage of several attractions within 25 miles of the lodge, including Grand Canyon Village, Desert View Watchtower, and Hermits Rest. The Grand Canyon South entrance is just two miles from the lodge's front door. The area offers a variety of activities, including horseback riding, hiking, and river rafting down the Colorado River. Guests also enjoy visiting the Yavapai Observation Station, or taking a helicopter ride high above the canyon. Red Feather offers a number of packages designed to suit everyone, including Grand Canyon safari and Jeep tours, air tours with Maverick Helicopters, horseback tours, and a National Geographic tour.

 

The National Park Service's free shuttle bus between Grand Canyon National Park and Tusayan runs from mid-May 16 through mid-September, making four stops: R.P.'s Stage Stop/ IMAX Theater, Grand Canyon National Park Airport, the nearby Squire Inn and Canyon Flight Trading Company.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (83.5 mi/134.4 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Complimentary Grand Canyon National Park shuttle runs every 15 minutes
Nearby attractions
  • Papillon Helicopter Tours (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park South (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pet fees apply.
  • Although there's no charge for the shuttle, park entrance fees apply, and tickets (available at the hotel) must be purchased prior to getting on the bus. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Feather Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Red Feather Lodge Rooms

Hotel Section- Non Smoking 2 Que
Hotel Section - Non Smoking - 2 Queen Beds - No Pets

Amenities

Services
In-Room Safe
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 2.8 mi

Dining

Cafe Tusayan
Located on Property

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Red Feather Lodge

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Statsman
Business
Adelaide, Australia
Oct 26, 2009

A quiet gem!

A short drive to the park entrance and the canyon, conveniently located across the road from a great restaurant called the Spaghetti Western - run by Mexicans. As Australian visitors, we could not have been more pleased with our stay in the hotel section - great value - great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 5, 2009

Very Nice Accomadations

We stayed at this hotel just outside the Grand Canyon National Park and came and went from the canyon for a wedding. The park entrance fee was good for a week and the rates here were better than inside the park. The staff was very friendly and helpful, suggesting routes for outdoor excercise and great dining. The rooms were clean and well furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to the canyon. Great dining in the town of Tusayan after hiking the canyon. Very near the Arizona Trail, which is great for running, hiking, mountain biking. Lots of wildlife....saw deer, elk, antelope and coyotes nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Joliet, IL
Oct 1, 2009

If you likje to waste money.......

We visited the Grand Canyon. Our trip was a mess when we got to motel and found out that everything was way over priced. Restaraunts, the motel, etc. There wasn't even a grocery store in the area where we could purchase the healthy foods that we like to eat. Definately was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't plan on eating unless you pay 3 times the normal price. But don't expect 3 times the quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsglass
Business
Ithaca, NY
Sep 21, 2009

Pinnate pleasure

Used as a base for seeing Grand Canyon. Staff were pleasant, pool was small but nicely maintained and great for our little one. Rooms were clean and quiet. Was surprised at the rate, but that it is in line with other accommodations in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Three time Visitor to Canyon
Business
San Jose, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Usual stay

I did like their breakfast. This was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tsarina
Business
Wayne, NJ
Sep 14, 2009

Red Feather Lodge and Grand Canyon Revie

It was a clean and convenient hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was good and location was very convenient to the Grand Canyon. However the cost was was on the high side for the value received. Had I known that there was lodging at the Canyon itself, I would have done some comparison reviews before deciding to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent IMAX show on the Grand Canyon history and adventure. Discount coupon available through the hotel. Last show at 8:30 so we were able to see the sunset at the Canyon and then be back in enough time to see the show and then have a late dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PsyGuy
Business
NE Pa.
Sep 13, 2009

Bad Plumbing

It is just a mile outside the entrance to south gate of the park (74 miles from Flagstaff) but the plumbing in our room was very noisy. Actually we went to bed early to get an early start to the canyon. At 9:50 P.M. we were awakened out of a sound sleep by a very loud howling and whistling (the sound one often hears as other are running water but many times louder )coming from our bathroom. It was scary at first. A maintenance person arrived, post our call, and he and I agreed it was caused by the sound generated by some one adjacent, probably above, running water. The sound finally stopped but not until we had been up for 40 minutes and then had difficulty falling asleep, an hour or more, contemplating the next salvo from the plumbing. I am most angry because I cannot believe they did not have this problem before and have not addressed it properly. The breakfast, is continental and does include fruit, yogurt, juice, muffins, bagels, cream-cheese, and cereal. It is served, under the watchful and surly eyes of the staff of the Canyon diner; (I think that's the name) a short walk from the motel; a coupon is provide on check in. Note I did complain and received a 10% discount but am not sure that covered our discomfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For those 62 and older buy the $ 10 dollar life time pass to all or most national parks (all in car up to total of 6)get in free on that pass. Saved us $ 25 Works for Petrified forest east of Canyon, and Walnut canyon near Flagstaff. Note I think it was worth the flight from Phoenix, to avoid the drive; and security is easier at a small airport (Flagstaff) though it did not open until 5:10 am on Saturday for a 5:50 am flight (we left on time with a full plane: two motor prop)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Germany
Sep 11, 2009

Bad experiance

Never ever I´ll book this location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike the newlywed
Business
Elkhart, IN
Sep 6, 2009

Grand vacation destination

It was pleasant. Except for a slamming exit door, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Feather Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort myers, fl
Sep 3, 2009

sleepover for grand canyon day trip

near restaurants, spaghetti western surprisingly good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spaghetti Western- tr the goat cheese ravioli

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top