$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Canyon Plaza Resort

3 stars
406 Canyon Plaza Lane, P O Box 520, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
95 reviews
Great location

The hotel was dated but clean. No complaints about the stay. See full review

  • Mackenzie V.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Grand Canyon visit

We arrived and the hotel accommodations were nice. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. See full review

  • Irene2014
  • May 31, 2014
Pet-friendly resort with every amenity close at hand

This pet-friendly, smoke-free property offers a fun, relaxing vacation environment at the gateway to one of the Seven Wonders of the World. The beautiful three-story property, located just one mile from the south entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, offers spacious one-room suites for families or business travelers seeking extra room. Standard deluxe guestrooms comfortably accommodate up to four guests. An 18-foot hot tub surrounded by lush greenery beckons guests after a day of exploration.

Highlights
  • AAA Three-Diamond resort
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Restaurant on site
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 176 Deluxe guest rooms and 53 single-room suites -- feature free high-speed Internet access and the modern All Lodgenet Guest Service entertainment system with in-room movies, Nintendo, and music. All rooms include cable/satellite television with premium channels, coffee/tea maker, iron-ironing board, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, and telephone with messaging service and free local calls. Suites also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find the impeccable service and fine amenities they'd expect of a full-service resort hotel. The onsite restaurant, JJK's serves delectable specialties. Wintergarten Lounge, located in the glittering atrium, provides the perfect spot to share a cocktail with friends or business associates.

 

The seasonal outdoor swimming pool and hot tub cool and relax tired muscles. Guests browse the gift shop for Native American art and souvenirs. The hotel offers tour packages for a variety of activities, including Jeep tours, Grand Canyon hiking tours, river rafting, horseback riding, helicopter and airplane explorations, and romance packages.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (77.8 mi/125.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Free airport shuttle transportation to and from Grand Canyon National Park Airport
Nearby attractions
  • Canyon Dave's Nature and Geology Tours (hotel pick-up)
  • Grand Canyon National Park -- South (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum, Williams (22.7 mi/36.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets under 40 pounds accepted (limit two -- $50 nonrefundable deposit).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canyon Plaza Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Canyon Plaza Resort Rooms

Suites
Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon offers 56 beautifully appointed one room King and Queen Suites. Each suite features a microwave and refrigerator, two vanity areas, and a spacious sitting area furnished with a cozy sofa, oversized chair, coffee table, desk, and television. King Suites have one king bed and a sleeper sofa, while Queen Suites are outfitted with two queen beds. Traveling with a group or extended family? Ask about our convenient interconnecting suites.
Deluxe Guestrooms
The 176 deluxe guestrooms at Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon feature one king bed or two double beds dressed in soft, luxurious linens. A spacious bathroom with two vanity areas provides ample space for primping. Ground floor rooms open to a patio, while guestrooms on the second and third floors feature a balcony - some of which are outdoors and perfect for counting shooting stars high above the Grand Canyon. Partial turndown service is complimentary.
Guestrooms
At Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon, you will find sophisticated resort accommodations. Suites and deluxe guestrooms are stylishly appointed in an elegant palette of muted mauves, turquoise, and desert beiges that distinguish Southwestern dcor. Climate controlled rooms ensure your comfort yearround.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Canyon Plaza Resort

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san diego, ca
Mar 29, 2011

It was okay

The outside appearance wasn't great. The lobby was very nice. Once I checked in and headed for our room, me and my bf discovered the room hadn't been cleaned. We were tired and did not want to complain. It was just an inconvenience to stand in the hallway for 20+ min with our luggage and wait. The room itself was desent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Mar 22, 2011

Just what was needed

Hotel was well kept and the staff was extremely nice. Only down side was that the room I got was next to the elevator and the walls are a bit thin. I didn't expect myself to be too long in the room since the main reason is to be at the canyon! Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pokerer
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 3, 2011

Above Average

We stayed there for just a night. The rooms are decent, the only not so good thing was NO complimentary breakfast which they used to have earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 22, 2011

Grand Canyon 2/19/11

The Heater was not cleaned... lot of allergies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

everything closes way early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montgomery ALABAMA
Dec 30, 2010

Hotel experience

I booked this hotel via internet. One of my criteria was free breakfast. But this hotel gives only some foods as complimentary. They are not good. If you want to eat hot food like egg, you have to pay 8 dollars for each person. There was no information about that in the internet page. It is a cheating to me. The furniture was very old. I couldn't take a hot shower, because the hot water was not hot. It can't be called even warm. The people in the front desk MUST BE polite and HELPFUL. My english is not good. So, I couldn't understand something during check-in. When I asked something, he explained to me, but I couldn't understand. When I asked again, he explained by making face and with a rude voice tone. If my english were good, I would give the proper reply. But I couldn't. My mother language is not english and he understood it, but he didn't show the required patient and politeness. The price is high. This hotel does not deserve this price with these properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Dec 1, 2010

Wonderful Room, but too expensive...

Most important advantage is the location. It takes only 5 minutes to the entrance of Grand Canyon. The room was clean and nice. Be sure that all the cards works well if you got more than one room keys. I locked out with the second card (you cannot even enter the building.) Anyway, it's good for big family but too expensive for couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alsace26
Business
New york
Oct 29, 2010

Great...very friendly

Very enjoyable...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cmb2742
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 14, 2010

A little pricey but a great location

The hotel was easy to find and the staff was very nice and accommodating. The room was nice but nothing special. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The one problem was that the continental breakfast was kinda lame. You had to pay $8 extra for the hot food. This hotel was about 10 minutes from the Grand Canyon entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Buy your Grand Canyon pass ($25 per car) at the hotel. We went to the Grand Canyon at about 9:00 am and the line to pay for the Grand Canyon was super long! We waited for like 25 minutes just to pay money. If you pre-pay for your pass at the hotel, you can use an express lane and you get in way faster. Or just take the free shuttle because parking was bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salinas, California
Aug 27, 2010

Place to rest

A nice hotel to rest after a rigorous day of sightseeing but there was no place to rest. No gardens, no outside chairs, nothing! Even the swimming pool lacked landscaping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Do not eat at the Tusayan Cafeteria. Horrible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas,nv
Aug 23, 2010

Grand Canyon

This hotel is just a place to sleep. Nothing fancy. The rooms weren't very clean. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors conversations and tv the whole night. The breakfast buffet is horrible. The best part about the hotel is the location. It is about 5 minutes from the grand canyon park entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top