$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 25, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Canyon Plaza Resort

3 stars
406 Canyon Plaza Lane, P O Box 520, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
93 reviews
Grand Canyon visit

We arrived and the hotel accommodations were nice. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. See full review

  • Irene2014
  • May 31, 2014
A Great Place To Stay!!!

This was a perfect choice for us. After a full day at Grand Canyon it was nice to have such a short... See full review

  • Jordy B
  • Mar 19, 2014
Pet-friendly resort with every amenity close at hand

This pet-friendly, smoke-free property offers a fun, relaxing vacation environment at the gateway to one of the Seven Wonders of the World. The beautiful three-story property, located just one mile from the south entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, offers spacious one-room suites for families or business travelers seeking extra room. Standard deluxe guestrooms comfortably accommodate up to four guests. An 18-foot hot tub surrounded by lush greenery beckons guests after a day of exploration.

Highlights
  • AAA Three-Diamond resort
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Restaurant on site
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
Rooms

Accommodations -- 176 Deluxe guest rooms and 53 single-room suites -- feature free high-speed Internet access and the modern All Lodgenet Guest Service entertainment system with in-room movies, Nintendo, and music. All rooms include cable/satellite television with premium channels, coffee/tea maker, iron-ironing board, hairdryer, bathroom toiletries, and telephone with messaging service and free local calls. Suites also offer a microwave oven and refrigerator.

Features

Guests find the impeccable service and fine amenities they'd expect of a full-service resort hotel. The onsite restaurant, JJK's serves delectable specialties. Wintergarten Lounge, located in the glittering atrium, provides the perfect spot to share a cocktail with friends or business associates.

 

The seasonal outdoor swimming pool and hot tub cool and relax tired muscles. Guests browse the gift shop for Native American art and souvenirs. The hotel offers tour packages for a variety of activities, including Jeep tours, Grand Canyon hiking tours, river rafting, horseback riding, helicopter and airplane explorations, and romance packages.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (77.8 mi/125.2 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Free airport shuttle transportation to and from Grand Canyon National Park Airport
Nearby attractions
  • Canyon Dave's Nature and Geology Tours (hotel pick-up)
  • Grand Canyon National Park -- South (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Yavapai Observation Station (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Planes of Fame Air Museum, Williams (22.7 mi/36.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets under 40 pounds accepted (limit two -- $50 nonrefundable deposit).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

35.9735 -112.1269
Area served
Grand Canyon
Nearby airports
Grand Canyon National Park Airport, (GCN), 1.00, MI, S; Flagstaff Pulliam Airport, (FLG), 83.00, MI, SE; Phoenix Sky Harbor Intl Airport, (PHX), 225.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Canyon Plaza Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Canyon Plaza Resort Rooms

Suites
Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon offers 56 beautifully appointed one room King and Queen Suites. Each suite features a microwave and refrigerator, two vanity areas, and a spacious sitting area furnished with a cozy sofa, oversized chair, coffee table, desk, and television. King Suites have one king bed and a sleeper sofa, while Queen Suites are outfitted with two queen beds. Traveling with a group or extended family? Ask about our convenient interconnecting suites.
Deluxe Guestrooms
The 176 deluxe guestrooms at Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon feature one king bed or two double beds dressed in soft, luxurious linens. A spacious bathroom with two vanity areas provides ample space for primping. Ground floor rooms open to a patio, while guestrooms on the second and third floors feature a balcony - some of which are outdoors and perfect for counting shooting stars high above the Grand Canyon. Partial turndown service is complimentary.
Guestrooms
At Canyon Plaza Resort Grand Canyon, you will find sophisticated resort accommodations. Suites and deluxe guestrooms are stylishly appointed in an elegant palette of muted mauves, turquoise, and desert beiges that distinguish Southwestern dcor. Climate controlled rooms ensure your comfort yearround.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Grand Canyon: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Canyon Plaza Resort

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous 10
new hampshire
Aug 23, 2011

Family Getway...

I think the hotel was over priced . I expected more for that kind of money...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Farmi
Jun 8, 2011

Very nice facility

The children went swimming in the outdoor pool and used the indoor jacuzzi. We took the shuttle bus into the Grand Canyon. The rooms were nice, clean and adjoining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is close to the south rim of the Grand Canyon and the shuttle is very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oregoon Duck
Springfield or
May 9, 2011

Friendly & Clean

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was just OK. Layout was not good, no table or desk and lots of noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Apr 26, 2011

Disappointment

Very disappointed. The carpet was dirty and stained. The room was supposed to have been remodeled but I would have to question it. The food was not very good either. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JenRNSanDiego
San Diego, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Yuck, Yuck, Yuck!!!

The hotel room was dirty, there were 3 washcloths and every single one had a hair on them, possibly pubic! The carpet was vacuumed but obviously very dirty-needed a deep steam clean. The furniture was old and the wall mirror broken but glued back together. The sliding door lock was broken and had the appearance of being broken for a very long time, when we called maintenance they came and simply instructed us to use the extra bar lock that fit into the frame. Also, the sliding door was very stiff and difficult to close. The room was located at the end of the hall and was very noisy, you could hear everyone coming and going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants to choose from across the street, however, Sophie's "Authentic" Mexican restaurant was horrible. Worst Mexican food I ever had, Taco Bell tastes better. They looked puzzled when I asked for a Mojito drink and brought me a tequila mojito, yuck, so I sent it back and asked for something else and I never got the drink til we were finished with the meal. The waiter was never around. Top it off, my daughter had diarrhea and vomiting the next morning! And the room was waayyy over-priced due to being only one mile from the GC park entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Apr 18, 2011

Close to Canyon

Location was perfect but the room was very modest and not clean enough. With that room rate quality should be better but you are obviously paying for location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Pasadena, california
Apr 1, 2011

Great Trip, bad hotel

I choose this hotel thinking it would be a great place to stay while visiting Grand Canyon. However my boyfriend & I where very disappointed by the hotel, the level of service and the quality of food. It is in need of major upgrades, the room was so cold very uncared for and falling apart. Service from reception to servers in the restaurant did not care about looking after customers, food was so bad I ordered a shrimp salad (main course) however there was little lettuce and only 4 shrimp instead it should of been called a limpy parsley salad!!!!! I would not go back to this hotel ever again and it is not worth the price of $144 for one night even if it is near the Canyon, I will camp instead of this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exceptional Sales Person
Business
Florida
Mar 31, 2011

Business Trip

Very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Mar 29, 2011

It was okay

The outside appearance wasn't great. The lobby was very nice. Once I checked in and headed for our room, me and my bf discovered the room hadn't been cleaned. We were tired and did not want to complain. It was just an inconvenience to stand in the hallway for 20+ min with our luggage and wait. The room itself was desent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Mar 22, 2011

Just what was needed

Hotel was well kept and the staff was extremely nice. Only down side was that the room I got was next to the elevator and the walls are a bit thin. I didn't expect myself to be too long in the room since the main reason is to be at the canyon! Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top