$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Canyon Plaza Resort

3 stars
View map of 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, P O Box 520, Grand Canyon, AZ 86023

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Canyon Plaza Resort

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
14Merlin
Business
Shelby Township, MI
Jul 1, 2012

Great staff, but a ridiculous nightly rate for ave room.

I stayed with my family in March 2012 and I thought the room would be near the "resort" area of this hotel. It wasn't. We stayed in the back area, no view of anything except a parking lot in front and a fence, about 6 feet away from the back window. Room was clean, big bathroom, but comfort was ave at best. Not impressed at all. The room rate was $200 per night and that was ridiculous for what you actually received from this "motel" type of room. No indoor pool at this resort. Location was great, mile or so from the entrance of the GCNP. Restaurant was good, but buffet breakfast was very limited. Staff at the restaurant were pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This place is alright if you want a good location near the GCNP entrance. Better bring a bank loan if you intend to stay here for any length of time. There are more reasonable priced hotels in the same location, so I will stay there in the future and not at this "resort".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandCanyon Touring Coupl
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
May 17, 2012

Hidden Hotel off the main road in Tusayan

The brown hotel sign is hiding behind a statue and is far away from the road so it is kind of camouflaged by all the brown colors nearby. We went past it twice and finally found it after using GPS. The hotel concierge was excellent!!! Wonderful advice on sights to see nearby and routes to take on our way to Vegas from the Grand Canyon. They location is great and near the Grand Canyon & next door to a IMAX theater with a great Grand Canyon show. Great Place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bayou Traveler
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Nice Enough

Good Stuff: Room was Clean, Quiet and Neat. Hotel location gave us easy access to the park and close to restaurants, shops etc.The staff was very good and very cooperative when called upon for assistance. Not So Good: Channel selections on TV were limited. Ice machine locations were not centrally located. Parking was quite limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patti11764
Business
West Islip, NY, USA
Apr 28, 2012

great trip

great location right at the entrance to grand canyon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great steak place across the street from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer9
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Convenient location

Very convenient location. Nice indoor Jacuzzi -this feels great where outside is always cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mcjkrh
Business
Torrance, CA
Mar 15, 2012

Poor internet

Everything seemed fine for the first two days until they couldn't provide us internet connection in our room. Forced us to go to the lobby. The speed was horrible after two days. called them 4 - 5 times and couldn't solve the problem and asked us to go to the lobby to use the internet. Internet should be the basic standard service they provide! For someone who relies on it to make the next hotel reservations, it is a killer! Wendy and McDonld can do better than they. Also, 15% service fee at their restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not much food choices. You better be ready to take some food before you arrive for Grand Canyon or just spend money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travellin'Mama
Business
Albuquerque,NM
Jan 1, 2012

When your 7 year old is disappointed...

It's never a good sign when your child is disappointed by a hotel. Kids are super easy to please as a rule, so our stay was not off to a good start. Upon settling into our room, I discovered that a towel hanging in the bathroom was filthy - not mildly dirty - filthy. I Called the front desk to ask for fresh towels and they kindly offered to switch us into a different room. I declined, feeling that would be unnecessary for a towel situation. Then my little boy sat down on his bed an noticed that there was crusted food on his blanket. At that point I called back an told them that maybe we should switch rooms after all. The hotel touts itself as having newly remodeled rooms - it was so dated it was laughable. The carpeted halls were black with filth and the first room that we were in had a broken striker plate as well as copious visual evidence that the door had been kicked in (not such a classy joint). The second room which we were placed in was at least marginally cleaner but the tub was so old that the coating in the bottom was worn thin and my son was afraid to take a bath in it because he was convinced that it was some huge dirt spot, especially after the first room and all of its nastiness. We quickly discovered that the toilet seat was broken in the second room. It would shoot off to the side out from underneath us when we would sit down on it which was not very pleasant in the middle of the night. We had booked and paid for two nights at this place so we were stuck there in a miserable situation which was made worse by coming back to the room to stay for the second evening and discovering that our key cards no longer worked for it. At this point we spoke to the manager. He offered his condolences and gave us coupons for free breakfast in the morning. We had the free breakfast in the morning and got the heck outta there ASAP. The coffee mug I got my coffee in came complete with someone else's lipstick on the rim. I could have cried on the spot. I have had better experiences staying in a much cheaper motel chain. Oh and the pillowtop beds are mythical. Also there is NO free continental breakfast in case you were wondering. The buffet is hysterically overpriced - eat across the street at the pizza joint - you'll be much better off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street the the "We Cook Pizza and Pasta" restaurant - the food was good and far more reasonably priced than the hotel's offerings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VDHS
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Great hotel for the price paid

We got the hotel for a decent price and found the hotel to be decently priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grand Canyon
Business
Ohio, USA
Dec 24, 2011

First Trip to Grand Canyon

The hotel is not a resort as it claims to be in it's title. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel is an older hotel that has been somewhat updated. It looked to us like they spent more money on the hotel itself and not the rooms. It looked like the extra blanket on the bed use to be an old curtain. We stayed on the bottom floor and the door to our room had so many gaps in it that we had to put towels in the gaps to keep the 8 degree wind out. The room was warm enough with the heater turned on high. The floors were extemely cold if you had no socks or shoes on. If we ever get the chance to go back we will choose a different hotel. It was not horrible but the old saying you get what you pay for applies here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants across the street are cheaper and better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Canyon Plaza Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catlady456
Business
Kansas, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Pretty good

We spent two nights here. The room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was fine, we had read reviews where they were unfriendly but I thought this was just the way they were, neither unfriendly or over friendly. The location was perfect and the room was very clean. People also said the hotel was very expensive but any resort or tourist area we have gone too has been overpriced. That is just the way it is. Had a good time, ate at the restaurant, all was good. The only real drawback of the place was you had to go outside before you could get inside the hotel. So if you wanted to get in the hot tub, which wasn't very warm, you had to go outside with a wet bathing suit. or to the restaurant etc. maybe not bad in the summer but it was 4 degrees and snowing when we got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a steakhouse accross the road from the IMAX that was really good. They sat us right beside the fireplace and loaded us down with food. Really great steaks. was really great after a day at the canyon

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top