$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
56 reviews
Stay after Amtrak trip

Staff was onhand late and very efficient. Room was clean, and was quiet. See full review

  • jkuz
  • Dec 8, 2014
Convenient and affordable.

This is your basic 50's style route 66 motel, nothing fancy but the price is right! We have been... See full review

  • Tucson Mom of 3
  • Nov 29, 2014
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J. Gotham
Business
Tucson
Dec 16, 2014

**BED BUGS**

Woke up this morning to a blood streak, a bite, and a dead bed bug on the sheet. My sons bed had the same type of streak. Don't stay here. Had I known that there were bed bugs, I wouldn't have stayed here. Management wasn't too supportive & said they would need to confirm it was bed bugs with an exterminator. He was so flippant about it we are worried that he most likely won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkuz
Business
Sedona, AZ
Dec 8, 2014

Stay after Amtrak trip

Staff was onhand late and very efficient. Room was clean, and was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jbalzz
Business
Portland Oregon
Dec 5, 2014

Spartan

Upside, great staff and easy check in, convenient parking. Good location in the middle of town. Downside. It's pretty old, felt worn. Curtain broke when I tried to close it, which in itself is not a big deal but serves as a decent metaphor for the vibe of the whole place. It's passable in a pinch, but barely. If all you need is a place to crash and a shower I would recommend for the price over the flea bags on Milton. That aside, the few extra dollars is worth it to stay at one of the nicer and competitively priced places nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson Mom of 3
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Nov 29, 2014

Convenient and affordable.

This is your basic 50's style route 66 motel, nothing fancy but the price is right! We have been travelling frequently to visit a dying family member, so travelling on a very tight budget. We stayed in a room with 3 double beds. Two beds were in the main part of the hotel room and the third was in a small side room. Perfect for my family travelling with nearly grown teenage sons. We also brought our dog. The staff was friendly. The building/room was old but clean. It did have a nice size compact refrigerator and a microwave/coffee maker. The location is perfect with easy access to I-17/Milton and Route 66. Near the train, but we didn't hear it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rickshull
Business
flagsfaff, az
Nov 27, 2014

average

Ok but I might not go there again. There were some little things they could improve on that would make it lot better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Louis
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Nov 21, 2014

Good value

Great price for Flagstaff in the winter season. Nice staff. Room was cold when I arrived; room heat was turned off until I turned it on. Internet seemed a little slow. Breakfast was white bread and donughts. Good hotel for me and for contractors. My girlfriend would not like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cali. Vacationers
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Nov 12, 2014

Passing through

We were passing through Flagstaff and needed a place to stay. This was very reasonably priced, a comfortable room, and friendly staff. Nothing special, but perfect if you need a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon Mountain Man
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2014

Great value for the money

I paid $29+tax for my room, and for that price I am delighted if I have a clean, well-organized, quiet room with good Wifi. This had all of the above plus a little coffee maker microwave and fridge. Ice machine was also great and they have washer/drier. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayne Mac
Business
Prescott Valley, AZ
Oct 17, 2014

Just a little noisy

Everything was a good value, but my room was too noisy. I liked the bathroom thou it was a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jo berry
Business
anytown
Oct 6, 2014

cold shower

Was less than satisfied. The shower was cold to begin with barely luke warm. The coffee cups weren't replaced for day two in the room. The continental breakfast what a joke the toaster was die to be replaced the bread steamed stale there was no fruit and it was overall overrated. Howard Johnson what a joke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top