$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 16, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
63 reviews
NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and... See full review

  • BaileyBoo1
  • Jan 12, 2015
Quick stopover in Flaggstaff

Our group of four needed someplace to stay for one-night before our week rental in Sedona. This... See full review

  • World Traveler101
  • Jan 12, 2015
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West conveniently located on historic Route 66 for your next fun-filled vacation. Find art galleries, microbreweries, and boutique in historic downtown Flagstaff, or view the Arts and Crafts style architecture at Riordan Mansion State Park. Hike through the Coconino National Forest and explore ancient Sinagua cliff Dwellings at Walnut Canyon National Monument. Take a day trip to the majestic Grand Canyon and experience one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Walk to Miz Zips for delicious home-style cooking. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Other handy amenities like guest laundry facilities are also available. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny T.
Business
Tempe
Mar 10, 2015

Good value

Very good value at this location. It is near the middle of Flagstaff with easy access to activities. Excellent start point for the Lowell Observatory and Grand Canyon. It is not the most modern facility, but the value is there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ted on Guitar
Business
CHANDLER
Feb 21, 2015

Good location, low price

Good base for Grand Canyon trips. Decent continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura R.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Worst hotel ever!

I would NOT recommend anyone to stay here! The hotel is dirty! The service was horrible and worst of all management is rude and disrespectful! WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jay
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

last minute

Lady at front was surprisingly friendly. Got my room key quickly without being antagonized. Room smelled good. Clean. Was a pretty decent room for the price paid. Must have been remodeled, can tell in some places. I love the big giant mirror in the room. If u need a flat screen tv u won't find that here. Overall it was a quiet night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BaileyBoo1
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and as a NAU graduate himself, gave some helpful information. The room is in desperate need of updating, but reasonably clean and the beds comfortable. For an inexpensive overnight, this was better than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler101
Business
New York
Jan 12, 2015

Quick stopover in Flaggstaff

Our group of four needed someplace to stay for one-night before our week rental in Sedona. This place was fine – beds were comfortable, and there was a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was as stated elsewhere minimal but not a problem, especially since we paid so little for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J. Gotham
Business
Tucson
Dec 16, 2014

**BED BUGS**

Woke up this morning to a blood streak, a bite, and a dead bed bug on the sheet. My sons bed had the same type of streak. Don't stay here. Had I known that there were bed bugs, I wouldn't have stayed here. Management wasn't too supportive & said they would need to confirm it was bed bugs with an exterminator. He was so flippant about it we are worried that he most likely won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jkuz
Business
Sedona, AZ
Dec 8, 2014

Stay after Amtrak trip

Staff was onhand late and very efficient. Room was clean, and was quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jbalzz
Business
Portland Oregon
Dec 5, 2014

Spartan

Upside, great staff and easy check in, convenient parking. Good location in the middle of town. Downside. It's pretty old, felt worn. Curtain broke when I tried to close it, which in itself is not a big deal but serves as a decent metaphor for the vibe of the whole place. It's passable in a pinch, but barely. If all you need is a place to crash and a shower I would recommend for the price over the flea bags on Milton. That aside, the few extra dollars is worth it to stay at one of the nicer and competitively priced places nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tucson Mom of 3
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Nov 29, 2014

Convenient and affordable.

This is your basic 50's style route 66 motel, nothing fancy but the price is right! We have been travelling frequently to visit a dying family member, so travelling on a very tight budget. We stayed in a room with 3 double beds. Two beds were in the main part of the hotel room and the third was in a small side room. Perfect for my family travelling with nearly grown teenage sons. We also brought our dog. The staff was friendly. The building/room was old but clean. It did have a nice size compact refrigerator and a microwave/coffee maker. The location is perfect with easy access to I-17/Milton and Route 66. Near the train, but we didn't hear it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top