$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
65 reviews
Quiet and Clean

At the low nightly price my expectations were fairly low. I was surprised with the quality of the... See full review

  • Wayne H.
  • Apr 6, 2015
NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and... See full review

  • BaileyBoo1
  • Jan 12, 2015
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West conveniently located on historic Route 66 for your next fun-filled vacation. Find art galleries, microbreweries, and boutique in historic downtown Flagstaff, or view the Arts and Crafts style architecture at Riordan Mansion State Park. Hike through the Coconino National Forest and explore ancient Sinagua cliff Dwellings at Walnut Canyon National Monument. Take a day trip to the majestic Grand Canyon and experience one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Walk to Miz Zips for delicious home-style cooking. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Other handy amenities like guest laundry facilities are also available. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 65
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nyroadie13
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

really bad

The hotel is going through some heavy construction - looks like they are fixing up quite a few rooms, lot of dust, dirty carpets. The hotel should really be shutdown when undergoing this kind of construction. Also not sure if this is ok with building codes - i am sure there is some asbestos when undergoing this kind of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcot2
Business
Kingston, NY
Jul 29, 2013

where not to stay

Has the look and smell of a motel that is worn out. The odor of old, worn out carpet greets you at the door. Beds with worn out mattresses and linen complement the bugs that were crawling out of the shower drain all night. With no other available lodging, I purchased a bed sheet at a local store to cover the bed and slept in my clothes. My recommendation is to avoid this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Louis
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Nov 21, 2014

Good value

Great price for Flagstaff in the winter season. Nice staff. Room was cold when I arrived; room heat was turned off until I turned it on. Internet seemed a little slow. Breakfast was white bread and donughts. Good hotel for me and for contractors. My girlfriend would not like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jbalzz
Business
Portland Oregon
Dec 5, 2014

Spartan

Upside, great staff and easy check in, convenient parking. Good location in the middle of town. Downside. It's pretty old, felt worn. Curtain broke when I tried to close it, which in itself is not a big deal but serves as a decent metaphor for the vibe of the whole place. It's passable in a pinch, but barely. If all you need is a place to crash and a shower I would recommend for the price over the flea bags on Milton. That aside, the few extra dollars is worth it to stay at one of the nicer and competitively priced places nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Charlie
Business
Anaheim, CA
Sep 5, 2014

OK Hotel

Kind of hard to find. Did not show up on my GPS... nor address. Located by using cross-streets. Had a weird odor when first entering room. Otherwise okay. Nice person at check-in. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayne Mac
Business
Prescott Valley, AZ
Oct 17, 2014

Just a little noisy

Everything was a good value, but my room was too noisy. I liked the bathroom thou it was a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon Mountain Man
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 22, 2014

Great value for the money

I paid $29+tax for my room, and for that price I am delighted if I have a clean, well-organized, quiet room with good Wifi. This had all of the above plus a little coffee maker microwave and fridge. Ice machine was also great and they have washer/drier. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former St. Georgian
Business
Northern AZ
Jul 15, 2012

Had a good night!

THere was a laundry facility, which came in handy provided everyone doesn't want to do their laundry at once. I'm glad there was a fridge to put my food in, I liked being able to open the window for some fresh air and had an all around relaxing time. It seemed the shower water seemed to cool down everytime someone flushed the toilet or something but it was no problem for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Aug 1, 2011

Good basic motel

The Travel Inn is a good basic motel. It's right on the highway, but not noisy once you're inside the room. The staff was very friendly and professional. I ran late getting there, and even though it was after 8:00 PM when I arrived, everything was fine. The room was clean and everything (including the air conditioner) worked. If you just need basic accomodations, it's perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
staniel
Business
nevada
Sep 18, 2014

good value for the money

Clean room, updated bathroom. Old school tv with no sleep timer.no flat surface in bathroom for stuff. Contintal breakfast is worth passing on. It took some effort toget a clerk to check in, and none were available to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josephine 's it's a great restaurant to eat dinner at and is about a mile and a half for 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top