$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
66 reviews
Nice Hotel

We didn't do much in Flagstaff, went directly to Grand Canyon and back. We stayed a couple of... See full review

  • Juan B.
  • Aug 23, 2015
Quiet and Clean

At the low nightly price my expectations were fairly low. I was surprised with the quality of the... See full review

  • Wayne H.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West conveniently located on historic Route 66 for your next fun-filled vacation. Find art galleries, microbreweries, and boutique in historic downtown Flagstaff, or view the Arts and Crafts style architecture at Riordan Mansion State Park. Hike through the Coconino National Forest and explore ancient Sinagua cliff Dwellings at Walnut Canyon National Monument. Take a day trip to the majestic Grand Canyon and experience one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Walk to Miz Zips for delicious home-style cooking. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Other handy amenities like guest laundry facilities are also available. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

★★
$55
3.1 / 5 116 reviews
★★
$45
2.7 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$52
2.8 / 5 203 reviews
$49
3.2 / 5 44 reviews
★★
$38
2.5 / 5 30 reviews
★★
$55
2.5 / 5 23 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 66
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
voodoosports
Friends
Tucson
Jun 9, 2014

vacation for team

Not happy with hotel at all or with . They had construction going on in many of the rooms below us and all you heard was hammers, saws and noise. Secondly when I tried to book another room from o it said sold out. I had two guys from my team come that day and got rooms and paid a cheaper price then I did. I doubt I will ever use o again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeLoupp
Friends
Dorchester, Mass.
Oct 16, 2012

For the price, good enough if you're just crashing.

A buddy of mine and I were spending the night in Flagstaff after hiking the Grand Canyon. We found this place pretty cheap at the last minute. It's definitely no-frills. We were a little weirded out by the couple who seemed to run the place, but they seemed to be reasonably efficient and were making an effort to keep the place clean. As for the room, it was dated, but was clean enough. I hadn't been in a room with a stand-up shower in a while (no bathtub), but there were no real problems. The breakfast was "minimalist," to put it kindly...grocery-store bread and muffins, corn flakes and Fruit Loops. It's about a half-mile walk to Flagstaff's downtown - it was a Monday night, so things were pretty quiet, but it looks like it wouldn't be the worst place in the world to go out on a weekend night. Overall, for the price, and considering we probably spent a grand total of 30 minutes in the room while awake, I guess it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hops on Birch, in the downtown area, was an okay bar with a decent beer selection.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Friends
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Personally, great!!

There was no inconvenience whatsoever. I also liked the part where the laundry room was running 24 hours. Not luxurious but as good as the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Friends
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Great for the price

I personally didn't have any inconvenience. they had a lot of shopping places so I say the location is pretty good. I also liked how the laundry room was usable 14 hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
softball player's
Friends
Tucson Arizona
Jun 9, 2014

not. a bad place @ all

The place is nice n clean , shower are to small !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bouymom
Friends
Capac, MI
Jun 12, 2014

Good value

Good value with this motel; good location , close proximity to NAU and major shopping areas. They are apparently in the midst of renovations so there was quite a mess out front . Overlooking that tho it was an okay place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to see Sedona and the Chapel of the Holy Cross; also a great Indian food buffet in Sedona (A taste of India I believe it was called!)

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ted on Guitar
Friends
CHANDLER
Feb 21, 2015

Good location, low price

Good base for Grand Canyon trips. Decent continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top