$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
63 reviews
NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and... See full review

  • BaileyBoo1
  • Jan 12, 2015
Quick stopover in Flaggstaff

Our group of four needed someplace to stay for one-night before our week rental in Sedona. This... See full review

  • World Traveler101
  • Jan 12, 2015
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West conveniently located on historic Route 66 for your next fun-filled vacation. Find art galleries, microbreweries, and boutique in historic downtown Flagstaff, or view the Arts and Crafts style architecture at Riordan Mansion State Park. Hike through the Coconino National Forest and explore ancient Sinagua cliff Dwellings at Walnut Canyon National Monument. Take a day trip to the majestic Grand Canyon and experience one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Walk to Miz Zips for delicious home-style cooking. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Other handy amenities like guest laundry facilities are also available. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 63
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Pistola
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were overpriced for what was offered. Room was to noiesy and water temperature would change dramatically when taking a shower if someone in the other room would flush the toilet. We will not be staying there anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corine The Traveler
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 8, 2012

Overnight stay as we traveled through Arizona.

When I called to make the reservations I was told this was a 3 star hotel, far from it, maybe a 1 star. This hotel is a cheap motel. The room smelled terrible, the beds were uncomfortable. Both the bedroom & bathroom were so outdated. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arcadiana
Business
Arcadia, CA
Dec 28, 2012

Unprofessional

First room given to us was occupied by someone else already when we opened the door (awkward, to say the least). The second room given to us was too far from the main lobby to have the free Wi-Fi connection (We had called before making the reservation to ascertain that Wi-Fi was available in EVERY room). So we asked for another room actually with Wi-Fi connection. The third room given to us had the interconnecting door between the motel rooms; however, that lock cannot be locked as the door cannot be pushed in all the way. We just decided to put the chair behind the doorknob as a way to prevent the door from opening, as we were too tired by this point to ask and switch into a fourth room. We later discovered that our room had no shampoo nor conditioner. To add more insult to the whole situation, when we were parking our car into the handicap slot, one of the employees of the motel told us that it was a handicapped parking. We were well aware of that and informed him that we had a handicapped member in our party and a handicapped parking placard. As if he were unsatisfied with our response, he then threatened that they will tow our car if they did not see the handicapped placard. Way to treat your handicapped customers who were parking in the spot legally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vac Roadtrip
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2013

Terrible ... not good for families

We used this hotel (based on price ... never a good thing to do) for a one-day stopover for a family vacation roadtrip for 2 adults, 4 kids. We got the family room suite which basically had 3 double beds. The room was worn down, smelled and small especially the bathroom. The thing that really bothered me was after taking a shower and walking around barefoot on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were literally black from the ground-in dirt in the carpet. Plus I know the room was vacuumed because I saw the cleaning person do it. The other rooms at the place didn't look better. Was tempted to leave and get rooms at the nearby hotels. I don't know what constitutes a 2-star but we stayed at 3-star suites at our final destination and it was multiple times better than this place. I would consider this a 1-star at best and think of it as a road side motel. Also, the pic on the website doesn't seem to match ... building color did not match and not crisp and clean as shown. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susannah
Business
Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Aug 25, 2011

NOT A GREAT CHOICE

THIS PLACE WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. TWO STARS AT BEST. UNFRIENDLY STAFF. NO AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BEAVER STREET BREWERY. REALLY GOOD FOOD. VERY AFFABLE WAITER.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jo berry
Business
anytown
Oct 6, 2014

cold shower

Was less than satisfied. The shower was cold to begin with barely luke warm. The coffee cups weren't replaced for day two in the room. The continental breakfast what a joke the toaster was die to be replaced the bread steamed stale there was no fruit and it was overall overrated. Howard Johnson what a joke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J. Gotham
Business
Tucson
Dec 16, 2014

**BED BUGS**

Woke up this morning to a blood streak, a bite, and a dead bed bug on the sheet. My sons bed had the same type of streak. Don't stay here. Had I known that there were bed bugs, I wouldn't have stayed here. Management wasn't too supportive & said they would need to confirm it was bed bugs with an exterminator. He was so flippant about it we are worried that he most likely won't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laura R.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Worst hotel ever!

I would NOT recommend anyone to stay here! The hotel is dirty! The service was horrible and worst of all management is rude and disrespectful! WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Pop of Student
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Mar 23, 2014

Economy

Average, clean. Broken window, couldn't close. Noisy shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAKAKAKA
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Sep 16, 2013

Not Again

The beds were really uncomfortable. The refridgerator didn't work. The T.V. was fuzzy.We ran out of toilet paper and they couldn't find anymore for us - luckily I had an emergency roll in the car. The bathroom was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top