$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
69 reviews
Quiet and Clean

At the low nightly price my expectations were fairly low. I was surprised with the quality of the... See full review

  • Wayne H.
  • Apr 6, 2015
NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and... See full review

  • BaileyBoo1
  • Jan 12, 2015

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 69
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BBBinAZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
May 21, 2012

Very disappointing

Signed up for a King bed, how about two queens or so sorry. The bathroom had one plastic cup. half a roll of toilet paper, no toilet paper holder, no shower curtain but the rod was inside the shower on the floor. The only vending machine out of order. When you drive up and there is a dumpster in the main parking spot, filled with mattresses and tvs, and the office is under construction, you start to wonder how this is going to play out. Very very disappointing for a Howard Johnson. Could have booked another hotel for $20 cheaper and been more worth it. Oh yes the alarm clock wasn't working either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cooks00
Business
mesa, az
May 20, 2012

Disappointed

When I made the reservation it was for a King size bed, the room we got had a queen size bed. Called front desk and the staff said they have the room marked as a king and said the only thing he could do was make note of it. Bedding was gross, blanket had holes in it. They also are remodeling the front desk food area, the conditions are bad and gross and food should not be set out in these conditions. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Red Lexus
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 12, 2012

Weekend getaway

The location was convenient. The office was under construction and appeared it had been this way for awhile. When we went to our room I opened the window and couild not close it without maintenance help. The turning knobs were broken off both windows! The shower stall had cracks in the ceiling and the electrical in the bathroom switches made me nervous. This room was not worth the price and maybe 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE.

The Staff was extremely rude. I simply asked the guy "when is your check-in? and he just got an attitude and barked "not til 3oclock!!!". The entire place looks very run down and disgusting.. I looked at the rooms and they were disgusting as well and when I asked the lady how could I cancel (I booked a few hours prior) she also got an attitude and yelled at me when I was extremely nice the entire time. She would not let me have a word. Ended up staying in Rodeway Inn Motel in the downtown area and the staff and stay was EXCELLENT!!!! It was only $20 more but well worth it for the location, staff, and stay...and we checked in at 9am+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend either Hotel Monte Vista or Rodeway Inn because of the location to the downtown area... okay, back to surveying the disappointing hotel...

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Aug 7, 2010

WHAT A NIGHT

Where to begin. It started with the jacuzzi and sauna. We walk into this closet of a room with two run down hot tubs and a sauna that did not sizzle. Both facilities did not do their jobs. We did not spend much time in the room but when we were there, it was miserable. The shower was way too small for a full grown adult. The bed was terrible. It was the worst sleep I have had in a really long time. If you do not care about creature comforts and just want a cheap place to stay. This is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kalzee
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Lackluster, but cheap

You get what you pay for. It was the cheapest I found online, so I booked it. Nothing to write home about, but it did the job. Best thing: the hot tub was very hot; that's the way I like it. Worst thing: Don't book here unless you like a firm mattress. They don't get any firmer than these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Handyman Don
Business
Weldon Spring, MO
Jul 5, 2013

HoJo

The motel was comfortable but that's about all. Not bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
European Traveller
Business
Schweiz
Sep 5, 2011

Average Hotel

we stayed one night in september 2011. It was ok for One night. More I wouldnt stau even tough staff was friendly. Breakfast for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Why are nicknamesreserved
Business
Colorado
Sep 6, 2014

Decent for the Price

You get what you pay for. I stayed here with my partner, and my brother with his, and neither of us had any complaints. Happy about the price. We had just finished hiking the Grand Canyon and the beds were welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cali. Vacationers
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Nov 12, 2014

Passing through

We were passing through Flagstaff and needed a place to stay. This was very reasonably priced, a comfortable room, and friendly staff. Nothing special, but perfect if you need a place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top