$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Pop of Student
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Mar 23, 2014

Economy

Average, clean. Broken window, couldn't close. Noisy shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kalzee
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Lackluster, but cheap

You get what you pay for. It was the cheapest I found online, so I booked it. Nothing to write home about, but it did the job. Best thing: the hot tub was very hot; that's the way I like it. Worst thing: Don't book here unless you like a firm mattress. They don't get any firmer than these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kotoey
Business
lake havasu az
Jul 5, 2012

Hard Floor

This room would have been OK had it been just 2 of us but we had 5 of us, we didn't expect that much because of the 3 stars and we were only going to crash there the 1 night, it said that a roll away was available which it was not so I slept on the floor, the bathroom is tiny and no bath, shower only, the pool is the size of a hot tub so we will not be staying there again, there are a lot of hotels in Flagstaff which in my opinion are all over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeLoupp
Business
Dorchester, Mass.
Oct 16, 2012

For the price, good enough if you're just crashing.

A buddy of mine and I were spending the night in Flagstaff after hiking the Grand Canyon. We found this place pretty cheap at the last minute. It's definitely no-frills. We were a little weirded out by the couple who seemed to run the place, but they seemed to be reasonably efficient and were making an effort to keep the place clean. As for the room, it was dated, but was clean enough. I hadn't been in a room with a stand-up shower in a while (no bathtub), but there were no real problems. The breakfast was "minimalist," to put it kindly...grocery-store bread and muffins, corn flakes and Fruit Loops. It's about a half-mile walk to Flagstaff's downtown - it was a Monday night, so things were pretty quiet, but it looks like it wouldn't be the worst place in the world to go out on a weekend night. Overall, for the price, and considering we probably spent a grand total of 30 minutes in the room while awake, I guess it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hops on Birch, in the downtown area, was an okay bar with a decent beer selection.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Handyman Don
Business
Weldon Spring, MO
Jul 5, 2013

HoJo

The motel was comfortable but that's about all. Not bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAKAKAKA
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Sep 16, 2013

Not Again

The beds were really uncomfortable. The refridgerator didn't work. The T.V. was fuzzy.We ran out of toilet paper and they couldn't find anymore for us - luckily I had an emergency roll in the car. The bathroom was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
European Traveller
Business
Schweiz
Sep 5, 2011

Average Hotel

we stayed one night in september 2011. It was ok for One night. More I wouldnt stau even tough staff was friendly. Breakfast for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Desert Sailor
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 29, 2011

Two Star for a Three Star Price

Disappointed - thought that we were getting a 3 star at a good value and ended up with an overpriced two star. "No Smoking" room reeked of cigarette smoke. On the positive side - location can't be beat - staff is very charming and they do offer a true continental breakfast that is enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Kelly
Business
Tempe, AZ
Sep 16, 2014

Soccer Tourney

The hotel is fine if you are just using it to sleep in. Maybe it will be better once the renovations are done. Continental breakfast could use some help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1Louis
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Nov 21, 2014

Good value

Great price for Flagstaff in the winter season. Nice staff. Room was cold when I arrived; room heat was turned off until I turned it on. Internet seemed a little slow. Breakfast was white bread and donughts. Good hotel for me and for contractors. My girlfriend would not like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top