$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
46 reviews
surprisingly great

got everything I wanted for less than I usually pay. room comes with: frig, microwave, coffee... See full review

  • long distance traveler
  • May 23, 2014
Family Vacation

Location great, room was very large, on website showed no pool but we were surprised they had one.... See full review

  • Mitokomon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Hotel Map

35.1928 -111.6606
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
voodoosports
Tucson
Jun 9, 2014

vacation for team

Not happy with hotel at all or with . They had construction going on in many of the rooms below us and all you heard was hammers, saws and noise. Secondly when I tried to book another room from o it said sold out. I had two guys from my team come that day and got rooms and paid a cheaper price then I did. I doubt I will ever use o again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE.

The Staff was extremely rude. I simply asked the guy "when is your check-in? and he just got an attitude and barked "not til 3oclock!!!". The entire place looks very run down and disgusting.. I looked at the rooms and they were disgusting as well and when I asked the lady how could I cancel (I booked a few hours prior) she also got an attitude and yelled at me when I was extremely nice the entire time. She would not let me have a word. Ended up staying in Rodeway Inn Motel in the downtown area and the staff and stay was EXCELLENT!!!! It was only $20 more but well worth it for the location, staff, and stay...and we checked in at 9am+++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend either Hotel Monte Vista or Rodeway Inn because of the location to the downtown area... okay, back to surveying the disappointing hotel...

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susannah
Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Aug 25, 2011

NOT A GREAT CHOICE

THIS PLACE WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT. TWO STARS AT BEST. UNFRIENDLY STAFF. NO AC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BEAVER STREET BREWERY. REALLY GOOD FOOD. VERY AFFABLE WAITER.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Flagstaff, AZ
Aug 7, 2010

WHAT A NIGHT

Where to begin. It started with the jacuzzi and sauna. We walk into this closet of a room with two run down hot tubs and a sauna that did not sizzle. Both facilities did not do their jobs. We did not spend much time in the room but when we were there, it was miserable. The shower was way too small for a full grown adult. The bed was terrible. It was the worst sleep I have had in a really long time. If you do not care about creature comforts and just want a cheap place to stay. This is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Professor
Redwood City, CA
Aug 12, 2013

Will never return to this hotel

After we had a confirmation number for a family suite , we were told that the hotel was overbooked and we got 2 rooms instead. Since the general atmosphere was "not friendly" we decided to sleep with the children in one room that smelled from cigarettes (although the sign ouside said"non smoking". We left the place at 6 am and will never return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Pop of Student
Flagstaff, AZ
Mar 23, 2014

Economy

Average, clean. Broken window, couldn't close. Noisy shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kalzee
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Lackluster, but cheap

You get what you pay for. It was the cheapest I found online, so I booked it. Nothing to write home about, but it did the job. Best thing: the hot tub was very hot; that's the way I like it. Worst thing: Don't book here unless you like a firm mattress. They don't get any firmer than these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kotoey
lake havasu az
Jul 5, 2012

Hard Floor

This room would have been OK had it been just 2 of us but we had 5 of us, we didn't expect that much because of the 3 stars and we were only going to crash there the 1 night, it said that a roll away was available which it was not so I slept on the floor, the bathroom is tiny and no bath, shower only, the pool is the size of a hot tub so we will not be staying there again, there are a lot of hotels in Flagstaff which in my opinion are all over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeLoupp
Dorchester, Mass.
Oct 16, 2012

For the price, good enough if you're just crashing.

A buddy of mine and I were spending the night in Flagstaff after hiking the Grand Canyon. We found this place pretty cheap at the last minute. It's definitely no-frills. We were a little weirded out by the couple who seemed to run the place, but they seemed to be reasonably efficient and were making an effort to keep the place clean. As for the room, it was dated, but was clean enough. I hadn't been in a room with a stand-up shower in a while (no bathtub), but there were no real problems. The breakfast was "minimalist," to put it kindly...grocery-store bread and muffins, corn flakes and Fruit Loops. It's about a half-mile walk to Flagstaff's downtown - it was a Monday night, so things were pretty quiet, but it looks like it wouldn't be the worst place in the world to go out on a weekend night. Overall, for the price, and considering we probably spent a grand total of 30 minutes in the room while awake, I guess it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hops on Birch, in the downtown area, was an okay bar with a decent beer selection.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Handyman Don
Weldon Spring, MO
Jul 5, 2013

HoJo

The motel was comfortable but that's about all. Not bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search