Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
56 reviews
Stay after Amtrak trip

Staff was onhand late and very efficient. Room was clean, and was quiet. See full review

  • jkuz
  • Dec 8, 2014
Convenient and affordable.

This is your basic 50's style route 66 motel, nothing fancy but the price is right! We have been... See full review

  • Tucson Mom of 3
  • Nov 29, 2014
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Map

35.1928 -111.6606
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BBBinAZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
May 21, 2012

Very disappointing

Signed up for a King bed, how about two queens or so sorry. The bathroom had one plastic cup. half a roll of toilet paper, no toilet paper holder, no shower curtain but the rod was inside the shower on the floor. The only vending machine out of order. When you drive up and there is a dumpster in the main parking spot, filled with mattresses and tvs, and the office is under construction, you start to wonder how this is going to play out. Very very disappointing for a Howard Johnson. Could have booked another hotel for $20 cheaper and been more worth it. Oh yes the alarm clock wasn't working either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cooks00
Business
mesa, az
May 20, 2012

Disappointed

When I made the reservation it was for a King size bed, the room we got had a queen size bed. Called front desk and the staff said they have the room marked as a king and said the only thing he could do was make note of it. Bedding was gross, blanket had holes in it. They also are remodeling the front desk food area, the conditions are bad and gross and food should not be set out in these conditions. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Pistola
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were overpriced for what was offered. Room was to noiesy and water temperature would change dramatically when taking a shower if someone in the other room would flush the toilet. We will not be staying there anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Red Lexus
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 12, 2012

Weekend getaway

The location was convenient. The office was under construction and appeared it had been this way for awhile. When we went to our room I opened the window and couild not close it without maintenance help. The turning knobs were broken off both windows! The shower stall had cracks in the ceiling and the electrical in the bathroom switches made me nervous. This room was not worth the price and maybe 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laqueen
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 12, 2012

one stay, good enough...

I was not that impressed with the hotel. when we were trying to find it, we had to ride up and down the area for several mins before realizing that the name had been changed, The room was okay, the shower was very outdated, molding as well, we wore slippers in the shower. The bedding was stained, but the manager apologized and looked forward to addressing the housekeeping staff. Overall, the price should have been less than what we paid, don"t think I will return...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corine The Traveler
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 8, 2012

Overnight stay as we traveled through Arizona.

When I called to make the reservations I was told this was a 3 star hotel, far from it, maybe a 1 star. This hotel is a cheap motel. The room smelled terrible, the beds were uncomfortable. Both the bedroom & bathroom were so outdated. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arcadiana
Business
Arcadia, CA
Dec 28, 2012

Unprofessional

First room given to us was occupied by someone else already when we opened the door (awkward, to say the least). The second room given to us was too far from the main lobby to have the free Wi-Fi connection (We had called before making the reservation to ascertain that Wi-Fi was available in EVERY room). So we asked for another room actually with Wi-Fi connection. The third room given to us had the interconnecting door between the motel rooms; however, that lock cannot be locked as the door cannot be pushed in all the way. We just decided to put the chair behind the doorknob as a way to prevent the door from opening, as we were too tired by this point to ask and switch into a fourth room. We later discovered that our room had no shampoo nor conditioner. To add more insult to the whole situation, when we were parking our car into the handicap slot, one of the employees of the motel told us that it was a handicapped parking. We were well aware of that and informed him that we had a handicapped member in our party and a handicapped parking placard. As if he were unsatisfied with our response, he then threatened that they will tow our car if they did not see the handicapped placard. Way to treat your handicapped customers who were parking in the spot legally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nyroadie13
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

really bad

The hotel is going through some heavy construction - looks like they are fixing up quite a few rooms, lot of dust, dirty carpets. The hotel should really be shutdown when undergoing this kind of construction. Also not sure if this is ok with building codes - i am sure there is some asbestos when undergoing this kind of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vac Roadtrip
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2013

Terrible ... not good for families

We used this hotel (based on price ... never a good thing to do) for a one-day stopover for a family vacation roadtrip for 2 adults, 4 kids. We got the family room suite which basically had 3 double beds. The room was worn down, smelled and small especially the bathroom. The thing that really bothered me was after taking a shower and walking around barefoot on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were literally black from the ground-in dirt in the carpet. Plus I know the room was vacuumed because I saw the cleaning person do it. The other rooms at the place didn't look better. Was tempted to leave and get rooms at the nearby hotels. I don't know what constitutes a 2-star but we stayed at 3-star suites at our final destination and it was multiple times better than this place. I would consider this a 1-star at best and think of it as a road side motel. Also, the pic on the website doesn't seem to match ... building color did not match and not crisp and clean as shown. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcot2
Business
Kingston, NY
Jul 29, 2013

where not to stay

Has the look and smell of a motel that is worn out. The odor of old, worn out carpet greets you at the door. Beds with worn out mattresses and linen complement the bugs that were crawling out of the shower drain all night. With no other available lodging, I purchased a bed sheet at a local store to cover the bed and slept in my clothes. My recommendation is to avoid this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top