$27 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
49 reviews
good value for the money

Clean room, updated bathroom. Old school tv with no sleep timer.no flat surface in bathroom for... See full review

  • staniel
  • Sep 18, 2014
Family Vacation

Location great, room was very large, on website showed no pool but we were surprised they had one.... See full review

  • Mitokomon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Hotel Map

35.1928 -111.6606
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 49
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.6

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bouymom
Business
Capac, MI
Jun 12, 2014

Good value

Good value with this motel; good location , close proximity to NAU and major shopping areas. They are apparently in the midst of renovations so there was quite a mess out front . Overlooking that tho it was an okay place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to see Sedona and the Chapel of the Holy Cross; also a great Indian food buffet in Sedona (A taste of India I believe it was called!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
voodoosports
Business
Tucson
Jun 9, 2014

vacation for team

Not happy with hotel at all or with . They had construction going on in many of the rooms below us and all you heard was hammers, saws and noise. Secondly when I tried to book another room from o it said sold out. I had two guys from my team come that day and got rooms and paid a cheaper price then I did. I doubt I will ever use o again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
softball player's
Business
Tucson Arizona
Jun 9, 2014

not. a bad place @ all

The place is nice n clean , shower are to small !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Personally, great!!

There was no inconvenience whatsoever. I also liked the part where the laundry room was running 24 hours. Not luxurious but as good as the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Great for the price

I personally didn't have any inconvenience. they had a lot of shopping places so I say the location is pretty good. I also liked how the laundry room was usable 14 hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeLoupp
Business
Dorchester, Mass.
Oct 16, 2012

For the price, good enough if you're just crashing.

A buddy of mine and I were spending the night in Flagstaff after hiking the Grand Canyon. We found this place pretty cheap at the last minute. It's definitely no-frills. We were a little weirded out by the couple who seemed to run the place, but they seemed to be reasonably efficient and were making an effort to keep the place clean. As for the room, it was dated, but was clean enough. I hadn't been in a room with a stand-up shower in a while (no bathtub), but there were no real problems. The breakfast was "minimalist," to put it kindly...grocery-store bread and muffins, corn flakes and Fruit Loops. It's about a half-mile walk to Flagstaff's downtown - it was a Monday night, so things were pretty quiet, but it looks like it wouldn't be the worst place in the world to go out on a weekend night. Overall, for the price, and considering we probably spent a grand total of 30 minutes in the room while awake, I guess it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hops on Birch, in the downtown area, was an okay bar with a decent beer selection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kotoey
Business
lake havasu az
Jul 5, 2012

Hard Floor

This room would have been OK had it been just 2 of us but we had 5 of us, we didn't expect that much because of the 3 stars and we were only going to crash there the 1 night, it said that a roll away was available which it was not so I slept on the floor, the bathroom is tiny and no bath, shower only, the pool is the size of a hot tub so we will not be staying there again, there are a lot of hotels in Flagstaff which in my opinion are all over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top