$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
65 reviews
Quiet and Clean

At the low nightly price my expectations were fairly low. I was surprised with the quality of the... See full review

  • Wayne H.
  • Apr 6, 2015
NAU College Trip

We were in Flagstaff for a college trip for my daughter. The manager was friendly and helpful, and... See full review

  • BaileyBoo1
  • Jan 12, 2015
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West conveniently located on historic Route 66 for your next fun-filled vacation. Find art galleries, microbreweries, and boutique in historic downtown Flagstaff, or view the Arts and Crafts style architecture at Riordan Mansion State Park. Hike through the Coconino National Forest and explore ancient Sinagua cliff Dwellings at Walnut Canyon National Monument. Take a day trip to the majestic Grand Canyon and experience one of the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Walk to Miz Zips for delicious home-style cooking. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Other handy amenities like guest laundry facilities are also available. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Suites and smoke-free rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this smoke-free lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BBBinAZ
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
May 21, 2012

Very disappointing

Signed up for a King bed, how about two queens or so sorry. The bathroom had one plastic cup. half a roll of toilet paper, no toilet paper holder, no shower curtain but the rod was inside the shower on the floor. The only vending machine out of order. When you drive up and there is a dumpster in the main parking spot, filled with mattresses and tvs, and the office is under construction, you start to wonder how this is going to play out. Very very disappointing for a Howard Johnson. Could have booked another hotel for $20 cheaper and been more worth it. Oh yes the alarm clock wasn't working either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cooks00
Business
mesa, az
May 20, 2012

Disappointed

When I made the reservation it was for a King size bed, the room we got had a queen size bed. Called front desk and the staff said they have the room marked as a king and said the only thing he could do was make note of it. Bedding was gross, blanket had holes in it. They also are remodeling the front desk food area, the conditions are bad and gross and food should not be set out in these conditions. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Pistola
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were overpriced for what was offered. Room was to noiesy and water temperature would change dramatically when taking a shower if someone in the other room would flush the toilet. We will not be staying there anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Italian food.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laqueen
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 12, 2012

one stay, good enough...

I was not that impressed with the hotel. when we were trying to find it, we had to ride up and down the area for several mins before realizing that the name had been changed, The room was okay, the shower was very outdated, molding as well, we wore slippers in the shower. The bedding was stained, but the manager apologized and looked forward to addressing the housekeeping staff. Overall, the price should have been less than what we paid, don"t think I will return...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corine The Traveler
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 8, 2012

Overnight stay as we traveled through Arizona.

When I called to make the reservations I was told this was a 3 star hotel, far from it, maybe a 1 star. This hotel is a cheap motel. The room smelled terrible, the beds were uncomfortable. Both the bedroom & bathroom were so outdated. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arcadiana
Business
Arcadia, CA
Dec 28, 2012

Unprofessional

First room given to us was occupied by someone else already when we opened the door (awkward, to say the least). The second room given to us was too far from the main lobby to have the free Wi-Fi connection (We had called before making the reservation to ascertain that Wi-Fi was available in EVERY room). So we asked for another room actually with Wi-Fi connection. The third room given to us had the interconnecting door between the motel rooms; however, that lock cannot be locked as the door cannot be pushed in all the way. We just decided to put the chair behind the doorknob as a way to prevent the door from opening, as we were too tired by this point to ask and switch into a fourth room. We later discovered that our room had no shampoo nor conditioner. To add more insult to the whole situation, when we were parking our car into the handicap slot, one of the employees of the motel told us that it was a handicapped parking. We were well aware of that and informed him that we had a handicapped member in our party and a handicapped parking placard. As if he were unsatisfied with our response, he then threatened that they will tow our car if they did not see the handicapped placard. Way to treat your handicapped customers who were parking in the spot legally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nyroadie13
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

really bad

The hotel is going through some heavy construction - looks like they are fixing up quite a few rooms, lot of dust, dirty carpets. The hotel should really be shutdown when undergoing this kind of construction. Also not sure if this is ok with building codes - i am sure there is some asbestos when undergoing this kind of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vac Roadtrip
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2013

Terrible ... not good for families

We used this hotel (based on price ... never a good thing to do) for a one-day stopover for a family vacation roadtrip for 2 adults, 4 kids. We got the family room suite which basically had 3 double beds. The room was worn down, smelled and small especially the bathroom. The thing that really bothered me was after taking a shower and walking around barefoot on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were literally black from the ground-in dirt in the carpet. Plus I know the room was vacuumed because I saw the cleaning person do it. The other rooms at the place didn't look better. Was tempted to leave and get rooms at the nearby hotels. I don't know what constitutes a 2-star but we stayed at 3-star suites at our final destination and it was multiple times better than this place. I would consider this a 1-star at best and think of it as a road side motel. Also, the pic on the website doesn't seem to match ... building color did not match and not crisp and clean as shown. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcot2
Business
Kingston, NY
Jul 29, 2013

where not to stay

Has the look and smell of a motel that is worn out. The odor of old, worn out carpet greets you at the door. Beds with worn out mattresses and linen complement the bugs that were crawling out of the shower drain all night. With no other available lodging, I purchased a bed sheet at a local store to cover the bed and slept in my clothes. My recommendation is to avoid this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
voodoosports
Business
Tucson
Jun 9, 2014

vacation for team

Not happy with hotel at all or with . They had construction going on in many of the rooms below us and all you heard was hammers, saws and noise. Secondly when I tried to book another room from o it said sold out. I had two guys from my team come that day and got rooms and paid a cheaper price then I did. I doubt I will ever use o again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top