$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Family Vacation

Location great, room was very large, on website showed no pool but we were surprised they had one.... See full review

  • Mitokomon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Satisfied.

Not the newest hotel, but was clean enough, quite enough. Staff was very nice, and everything was... See full review

  • H. C.
  • Sep 18, 2012
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Hotel Map

35.1928 -111.6606
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
H. C.
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 18, 2012

Satisfied.

Not the newest hotel, but was clean enough, quite enough. Staff was very nice, and everything was smooth. Parking was good, area felt safe. Breakfast was free, but not many varieties. Overall, happy with the stay for less than $40 on a Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G Torres 1969
Phoenix, Arizona
Sep 1, 2012

Great price

We want to stay close to the Grand Canyon and this place has the best price for the location. Their cup cakes are delicious!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
laqueen
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 12, 2012

one stay, good enough...

I was not that impressed with the hotel. when we were trying to find it, we had to ride up and down the area for several mins before realizing that the name had been changed, The room was okay, the shower was very outdated, molding as well, we wore slippers in the shower. The bedding was stained, but the manager apologized and looked forward to addressing the housekeeping staff. Overall, the price should have been less than what we paid, don"t think I will return...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former St. Georgian
Northern AZ
Jul 15, 2012

Had a good night!

THere was a laundry facility, which came in handy provided everyone doesn't want to do their laundry at once. I'm glad there was a fridge to put my food in, I liked being able to open the window for some fresh air and had an all around relaxing time. It seemed the shower water seemed to cool down everytime someone flushed the toilet or something but it was no problem for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kotoey
lake havasu az
Jul 5, 2012

Hard Floor

This room would have been OK had it been just 2 of us but we had 5 of us, we didn't expect that much because of the 3 stars and we were only going to crash there the 1 night, it said that a roll away was available which it was not so I slept on the floor, the bathroom is tiny and no bath, shower only, the pool is the size of a hot tub so we will not be staying there again, there are a lot of hotels in Flagstaff which in my opinion are all over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Pistola
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 18, 2012

Overnight stay

Rooms were overpriced for what was offered. Room was to noiesy and water temperature would change dramatically when taking a shower if someone in the other room would flush the toilet. We will not be staying there anytime in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great Italian food.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Red Lexus
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 12, 2012

Weekend getaway

The location was convenient. The office was under construction and appeared it had been this way for awhile. When we went to our room I opened the window and couild not close it without maintenance help. The turning knobs were broken off both windows! The shower stall had cracks in the ceiling and the electrical in the bathroom switches made me nervous. This room was not worth the price and maybe 1 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kazik
Poland, Europe
May 29, 2012

Traveller from Europe

Although Howard Johnson isn't an luxury place, new owners of this place doing their best. They are extremely nice and friendly! Next time when we stop in Flagstaff, we will stay in Howard Johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visitor Center in Flagstaff - ask for it in hotel - when you come to Visitor Center you will receive very nice gift!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BBBinAZ
Phoenix, AZ, USA
May 21, 2012

Very disappointing

Signed up for a King bed, how about two queens or so sorry. The bathroom had one plastic cup. half a roll of toilet paper, no toilet paper holder, no shower curtain but the rod was inside the shower on the floor. The only vending machine out of order. When you drive up and there is a dumpster in the main parking spot, filled with mattresses and tvs, and the office is under construction, you start to wonder how this is going to play out. Very very disappointing for a Howard Johnson. Could have booked another hotel for $20 cheaper and been more worth it. Oh yes the alarm clock wasn't working either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cooks00
mesa, az
May 20, 2012

Disappointed

When I made the reservation it was for a King size bed, the room we got had a queen size bed. Called front desk and the staff said they have the room marked as a king and said the only thing he could do was make note of it. Bedding was gross, blanket had holes in it. They also are remodeling the front desk food area, the conditions are bad and gross and food should not be set out in these conditions. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top