$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
View map of 801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wayne Mac
Business
Prescott Valley, AZ
Oct 17, 2014

Just a little noisy

Everything was a good value, but my room was too noisy. I liked the bathroom thou it was a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jo berry
Business
anytown
Oct 6, 2014

cold shower

Was less than satisfied. The shower was cold to begin with barely luke warm. The coffee cups weren't replaced for day two in the room. The continental breakfast what a joke the toaster was die to be replaced the bread steamed stale there was no fruit and it was overall overrated. Howard Johnson what a joke

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
staniel
Business
nevada
Sep 18, 2014

good value for the money

Clean room, updated bathroom. Old school tv with no sleep timer.no flat surface in bathroom for stuff. Contintal breakfast is worth passing on. It took some effort toget a clerk to check in, and none were available to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Josephine 's it's a great restaurant to eat dinner at and is about a mile and a half for 2 miles away.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J. Kelly
Business
Tempe, AZ
Sep 16, 2014

Soccer Tourney

The hotel is fine if you are just using it to sleep in. Maybe it will be better once the renovations are done. Continental breakfast could use some help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Why are nicknamesreserved
Business
Colorado
Sep 6, 2014

Decent for the Price

You get what you pay for. I stayed here with my partner, and my brother with his, and neither of us had any complaints. Happy about the price. We had just finished hiking the Grand Canyon and the beds were welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Charlie
Business
Anaheim, CA
Sep 5, 2014

OK Hotel

Kind of hard to find. Did not show up on my GPS... nor address. Located by using cross-streets. Had a weird odor when first entering room. Otherwise okay. Nice person at check-in. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Equivox
Business
Desert Southwest
Jul 24, 2014

Decent Hotel

Three staffmembers stayed for four nights. Decent facility, but nothing special. Clean and fairly comfortable, parking can be a challenge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missy Mouse
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 3, 2014

Post Grand Canyon

Overall, this hotel was decent for the location and season --- much cheaper than if we had stayed in Tusayan. It was located in a central area of Flagstaff with lots of services within walking distance. It was nice that their were laundry services 24 hours a day. The staff was friendly though we had to ask to have our room cleaned on the second day. There was also construction work in nearby rooms which wouldn't have been a problem, but they didn't clean up after themselves each day (no vacuuming and piles of food containers from lunch next to the trash can). There was also a broken step at the bottom of the stairs. I believe that this will be fine after the construction is completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin' Donuts is open early and practically across the street from the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitokomon
Business
Laie, Hawaii
Jun 16, 2014

Family Vacation

Location great, room was very large, on website showed no pool but we were surprised they had one. Front desk was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It was right next door.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bouymom
Business
Capac, MI
Jun 12, 2014

Good value

Good value with this motel; good location , close proximity to NAU and major shopping areas. They are apparently in the midst of renovations so there was quite a mess out front . Overlooking that tho it was an okay place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to see Sedona and the Chapel of the Holy Cross; also a great Indian food buffet in Sedona (A taste of India I believe it was called!)

Back to menu Return to top