$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
57 reviews
Stay after Amtrak trip

Staff was onhand late and very efficient. Room was clean, and was quiet. See full review

  • jkuz
  • Dec 8, 2014
Convenient and affordable.

This is your basic 50's style route 66 motel, nothing fancy but the price is right! We have been... See full review

  • Tucson Mom of 3
  • Nov 29, 2014
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevenaz
Business
Arizona
Apr 12, 2014

overnite stay

average hotel. Staff at desk did not have customer service skills. Looked highly suspicious of all customers especially during their breakfast time. Quite atmosphere and reasonable breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mom and Pop of Student
Business
Flagstaff, AZ
Mar 23, 2014

Economy

Average, clean. Broken window, couldn't close. Noisy shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Personally, great!!

There was no inconvenience whatsoever. I also liked the part where the laundry room was running 24 hours. Not luxurious but as good as the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy from Japan
Business
San Diego
Oct 29, 2013

Great for the price

I personally didn't have any inconvenience. they had a lot of shopping places so I say the location is pretty good. I also liked how the laundry room was usable 14 hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KAKAKAKA
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Sep 16, 2013

Not Again

The beds were really uncomfortable. The refridgerator didn't work. The T.V. was fuzzy.We ran out of toilet paper and they couldn't find anymore for us - luckily I had an emergency roll in the car. The bathroom was gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcot2
Business
Kingston, NY
Jul 29, 2013

where not to stay

Has the look and smell of a motel that is worn out. The odor of old, worn out carpet greets you at the door. Beds with worn out mattresses and linen complement the bugs that were crawling out of the shower drain all night. With no other available lodging, I purchased a bed sheet at a local store to cover the bed and slept in my clothes. My recommendation is to avoid this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vac Roadtrip
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2013

Terrible ... not good for families

We used this hotel (based on price ... never a good thing to do) for a one-day stopover for a family vacation roadtrip for 2 adults, 4 kids. We got the family room suite which basically had 3 double beds. The room was worn down, smelled and small especially the bathroom. The thing that really bothered me was after taking a shower and walking around barefoot on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were literally black from the ground-in dirt in the carpet. Plus I know the room was vacuumed because I saw the cleaning person do it. The other rooms at the place didn't look better. Was tempted to leave and get rooms at the nearby hotels. I don't know what constitutes a 2-star but we stayed at 3-star suites at our final destination and it was multiple times better than this place. I would consider this a 1-star at best and think of it as a road side motel. Also, the pic on the website doesn't seem to match ... building color did not match and not crisp and clean as shown. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Handyman Don
Business
Weldon Spring, MO
Jul 5, 2013

HoJo

The motel was comfortable but that's about all. Not bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nyroadie13
Business
New York
Apr 30, 2013

really bad

The hotel is going through some heavy construction - looks like they are fixing up quite a few rooms, lot of dust, dirty carpets. The hotel should really be shutdown when undergoing this kind of construction. Also not sure if this is ok with building codes - i am sure there is some asbestos when undergoing this kind of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayJayyy
Business
Mesa Az
Mar 19, 2013

Cheap and good enough

The Receptionist was quite mean. He seemed to be having a bad day and took it out on me. Besides that everything was okay. You get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top