$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

2 stars
801 W Rt. 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Family Vacation

Location great, room was very large, on website showed no pool but we were surprised they had one.... See full review

  • Mitokomon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Satisfied.

Not the newest hotel, but was clean enough, quite enough. Staff was very nice, and everything was... See full review

  • H. C.
  • Sep 18, 2012
Come and relax with us at The Howard Johnson Inn on Route 66 in Flagstaff, Complimentary Continental Breakfast is included and there is Wireless Internet in ALL Guest Rooms. Our other amenities include- Microwave/Refrigerator in all guest rooms 62 Channel, 25Inch Color TV in all guest rooms Guest Laundry Facility We also have Discount Coupons for local restaurants and we are close to both Historic Downtown Flagstaff and Northern Arizona University, home of the NAU Lumberjacks. In close proximity to the Howard Johnson, there is also skiing and snowboarding at the Arizona Snowbowl.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1928 -111.6606
Area description
Downtown

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rcot2
Kingston, NY
Jul 29, 2013

where not to stay

Has the look and smell of a motel that is worn out. The odor of old, worn out carpet greets you at the door. Beds with worn out mattresses and linen complement the bugs that were crawling out of the shower drain all night. With no other available lodging, I purchased a bed sheet at a local store to cover the bed and slept in my clothes. My recommendation is to avoid this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Vac Roadtrip
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2013

Terrible ... not good for families

We used this hotel (based on price ... never a good thing to do) for a one-day stopover for a family vacation roadtrip for 2 adults, 4 kids. We got the family room suite which basically had 3 double beds. The room was worn down, smelled and small especially the bathroom. The thing that really bothered me was after taking a shower and walking around barefoot on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were literally black from the ground-in dirt in the carpet. Plus I know the room was vacuumed because I saw the cleaning person do it. The other rooms at the place didn't look better. Was tempted to leave and get rooms at the nearby hotels. I don't know what constitutes a 2-star but we stayed at 3-star suites at our final destination and it was multiple times better than this place. I would consider this a 1-star at best and think of it as a road side motel. Also, the pic on the website doesn't seem to match ... building color did not match and not crisp and clean as shown. Never coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Handyman Don
Weldon Spring, MO
Jul 5, 2013

HoJo

The motel was comfortable but that's about all. Not bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nyroadie13
New York
Apr 30, 2013

really bad

The hotel is going through some heavy construction - looks like they are fixing up quite a few rooms, lot of dust, dirty carpets. The hotel should really be shutdown when undergoing this kind of construction. Also not sure if this is ok with building codes - i am sure there is some asbestos when undergoing this kind of renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayJayyy
Mesa Az
Mar 19, 2013

Cheap and good enough

The Receptionist was quite mean. He seemed to be having a bad day and took it out on me. Besides that everything was okay. You get what you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arcadiana
Arcadia, CA
Dec 28, 2012

Unprofessional

First room given to us was occupied by someone else already when we opened the door (awkward, to say the least). The second room given to us was too far from the main lobby to have the free Wi-Fi connection (We had called before making the reservation to ascertain that Wi-Fi was available in EVERY room). So we asked for another room actually with Wi-Fi connection. The third room given to us had the interconnecting door between the motel rooms; however, that lock cannot be locked as the door cannot be pushed in all the way. We just decided to put the chair behind the doorknob as a way to prevent the door from opening, as we were too tired by this point to ask and switch into a fourth room. We later discovered that our room had no shampoo nor conditioner. To add more insult to the whole situation, when we were parking our car into the handicap slot, one of the employees of the motel told us that it was a handicapped parking. We were well aware of that and informed him that we had a handicapped member in our party and a handicapped parking placard. As if he were unsatisfied with our response, he then threatened that they will tow our car if they did not see the handicapped placard. Way to treat your handicapped customers who were parking in the spot legally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruzhino
Southern Cal
Oct 26, 2012

Great stay with brother Max

Enjoyed the proximity to the Grand Canyon and majestic beauty of the area. Close to NAU and lots of great places to eat, inexpensive gas and all kinds of deals in town. Great natural foods market and plenty of places to hang out, try the ropes course and see the craters. Take the scenic drive to the grand canyon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bun Huggers behind the motel was a great place to eat

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeLoupp
Dorchester, Mass.
Oct 16, 2012

For the price, good enough if you're just crashing.

A buddy of mine and I were spending the night in Flagstaff after hiking the Grand Canyon. We found this place pretty cheap at the last minute. It's definitely no-frills. We were a little weirded out by the couple who seemed to run the place, but they seemed to be reasonably efficient and were making an effort to keep the place clean. As for the room, it was dated, but was clean enough. I hadn't been in a room with a stand-up shower in a while (no bathtub), but there were no real problems. The breakfast was "minimalist," to put it kindly...grocery-store bread and muffins, corn flakes and Fruit Loops. It's about a half-mile walk to Flagstaff's downtown - it was a Monday night, so things were pretty quiet, but it looks like it wouldn't be the worst place in the world to go out on a weekend night. Overall, for the price, and considering we probably spent a grand total of 30 minutes in the room while awake, I guess it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hops on Birch, in the downtown area, was an okay bar with a decent beer selection.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corine The Traveler
Albuquerque, NM
Oct 8, 2012

Overnight stay as we traveled through Arizona.

When I called to make the reservations I was told this was a 3 star hotel, far from it, maybe a 1 star. This hotel is a cheap motel. The room smelled terrible, the beds were uncomfortable. Both the bedroom & bathroom were so outdated. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Flagstaff University West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loreleilove06
San Diego, CA
Sep 28, 2012

Good for the price

As a one night stay on a two day roadtrip it provided what we needed. We got a hot shower and a bed. Nothing too special but good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top