$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

2 stars
View map of 2520 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
138 reviews
great

Great location for us, everything was just as described friendly staff will stay again See full review

  • Greg F.
  • Mar 22, 2015
comfortable

The rooms were very big and the beds were awesome. Did not want to check out. Could sleep in for days. See full review

  • taw35
  • Mar 4, 2015
Stay happy at this Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane near fun for the whole family in downtown Flagstaff, with easy access to the majestic Grand Canyon National Park. Find outdoor adventure at your fingertips with skiing at Arizona SnowBowl or golf at Continental Country Club just five minutes away. Visit the campus of Northern Arizona University just minutes from this lodging. Wake up with a smile and enjoy the complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast, then take a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated pool from late June through September. Plan your exciting day from the comfort of your guest room with complimentary wireless Internet access, or book a room with microwave and refrigerator for additional comfort. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane also booked these hotels.

★★
$47
3.3 / 5 143 reviews
★★
$55
3.1 / 5 116 reviews
★★★
$64
3.4 / 5 255 reviews
★★★
$52
2.8 / 5 203 reviews
★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 278 reviews
★★
$38
2.5 / 5 30 reviews
★★
$72
4.0 / 5 70 reviews
★★
$45
2.7 / 5 49 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 138
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nomadwoman
Single
arizona
Jun 24, 2014

Fine

No major complaints, but no extreme positives. The bed was clean and soft. Older hotel needs updating properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler1400
Single
Texas
Apr 23, 2014

Great Deal

Very clean room and great price!! Stayed here after a long road trip and it was exactly what I was expecting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gordon B on time
Single
Alberta Canada
Feb 25, 2014

More than adequate

Beed was very good. Towels need up dating.wifi was too slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Sleep was good

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seb42
Single
Orlando, FL
Sep 16, 2013

Great if just passing through

I stayed at the hotel just for one night on my trip back from the Grand Canyon. The hotel is conveniently located close to the interstate and restaurants in Flagstaff. It's not hotel you book as a vacation destination but if you're just passing through it's a great value. Room was clean which was most important to me. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AZ Hiker I
Single
Casa Grande, AZ
Jun 30, 2013

Hiking Trip

Great hotel stay. Easily accessible from I-40 and many dining options close by. The room was very nice; it was not unclean, but simply an older hotel. Great value for my dollar. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennefer
Single
Redding california
Nov 11, 2011

dirty

not impressed at all. filthy chairs and carpets. hair in bed and on towels. beds sunk in the center. not worth the low price I paid. I won't ever return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ4me
Single
Alabama
Aug 28, 2011

Ok, not too bad.

This motel was ok, nothing special. It may have been a tad less than I expected. The reviews I read before booking made it seem a little nicer than it actually was. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, as I said. The first thing I noticed after arriving was the rather dirty-looking carpet on the balconies. It really needs to be replaced. The room was pretty clean (no smell), but not very "modern", if you will. It's definitely not a new motel. The rates were about average for this type of motel, depending on when you stay. I checked out on a Friday, and I asked the desk clerk what the rate would be for that Friday if I stayed another night. It was going to be 50% more. There's no way I would have paid that. The breakfast was waffles, cold cereal, cake do-nuts, bagels, toast, coffee, OJ, and milk. I had to find my own spoon in the counter cabinet for my cereal. Another negative (but not for the motel), was the parking. I had to park on the opposite side of motel to get a parking space, if I came in late at night. So, maybe they are doing someting right. Like I said, it's an ok place to stay, just nothing fancy. Oh yeah, here is a positive. No train noise. That can be a problem for some motels in this area, as I read. I could see the train from my room, but I guess it was too far to really hear. And no, I'm not deaf :) I could stay here again, as long as the rates stay reasonable. Happy traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of dining are short driving distances. The 2 restaurants within walking distance didn't seem to spiffy. They seemed like "biker"- type dives, if you will. And nothing against bikers. Just the best description I could think of. Sorry.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clavedausen
Single
prescott,az
Jan 10, 2011

Dave Clausen

very nice for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

save

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daeguowl
Single
Seoul, Korea
May 5, 2010

Does what it says on the tin...

Stayed one night after a visit to the Grand Canyon prior to flying back to LA. The room was clean and surprisingly spacious. No luxury but perfectly functional. Recommended if you want somewhere to crash for a night without breaking the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Denny's approx. 500m down the road towards the freeway exit for a more substantial breakfast than that provided in the hotel. Also an Outback a few hundred metres in the opposite direction.

Back to menu Return to top