$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

2 stars
2520 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
131 reviews
Sun Devil says the best

Very nice area...pricing and quality. You can walk to restaurants and stores. See full review

  • H20 Dr.
  • Oct 5, 2014
Hiking Trip

Great hotel stay. Easily accessible from I-40 and many dining options close by. The room was very... See full review

  • AZ Hiker I
  • Jun 30, 2013
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane is newly renovated. The hotel offers Large Nicely Appointed Rooms and an Excellent Location. Convenient to all that Flagstaff has to offer, Historical Downtown Flagstaff 2 miles, Urban Trail 0.5 mile, AquaPlex indoor water park and fitness center 0.5 mile, Snowbowl Ski 14 miles, next to The Cracker Barrel and Outback Steakhouse restaurants. For Product, Service and Value select the Howard Johnson Lucky Lane. Free Continental Breakfast including Hot Waffles. Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool open from end of May to October.

Hotel Map

35.1934 -111.6212
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dg1959
Business
Santa Cruz Ca
Oct 9, 2011

allows dogs

I did not see anything on any ad that this hotel alows dogs. I would not stay in a hotel where I knew a dog might have slept in the bed I was sleeping or wiped their tail on the carpet I was walking in as I am not a dog, so therefore the hotel mgmt put my family up in the hotel next store (Super 8) and it was very clean. In fact it was a much better room than the resort room in Las Vegas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jennefer
Business
Redding california
Nov 11, 2011

dirty

not impressed at all. filthy chairs and carpets. hair in bed and on towels. beds sunk in the center. not worth the low price I paid. I won't ever return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy traveler 2
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Very disappointed

The waffle maker was broken so the kids had to go to the Super 8 for breakfast. The sheets were stained. When we decided to leave after one night, the desk clerk told us to get our refund from the third party we booked from. When we called to get a refund after we got home the hotel refused, even though they said they would give us a refund. I'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bridget Walker
Business
Grants New Mexico
Jan 6, 2013

not to good

It was noisy due to the freeway, carpet was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cracker Barrel right down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
swansy
Business
santa fe nm
Dec 13, 2013

better than sleeping in the car

the room had stained walls and dirty rug. The mattress were soft and had little support. I had my dog and he was smelling all the other dogs that had been there before, even on the bedspread

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LVW
Business
Colorado
Jul 19, 2010

Not Same Hotel, or location on previous

Inexperienced check-in. Room had previous guests left overs on floor. Blankets scratchy, bedding torn, carpet in need of cleaning and bathroom smelled. Inadequate air conditioner. Noise! Noise! Unsupervised children long after bedtime. One child about 9 knocked on our door 1:35AM looking for his mother. We stayed at Howard Johnson A few years ago. This was not the same motel. It was located down the road from the previous one and obviously another chain bought out the old location. Wish we would have known.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trip planner mom
Business
Keller, TX
Aug 21, 2009

You get what you pay for (almost!)

We were on a road trip, so this was just a place to stay for the night. The hotel looked like a motel, with exterior room doors opening to the parking lot. The good thing was, we could park our car right outside the room and keep our eye on it. The room we got, #120, was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but it smelled funky, the air freshener poorly masking the smell. The front desk did not want to change our room, and kept claiming our room was a non smoking room. We were too tired and had a long drive ahead of us the next morning, and just stayed put. The next morning, I complained to a different guy at the front desk again about the smell, and the guy just shrugged his shoulder, like he didn't know anything, or care, and said nothing. By now, I realized that all our clothes smelled like an ashtray, even my kids' hair smelled bad! The breakfast area was so small, there was no place to walk around the 5 tables to get our food. When I asked for water, the front desk told us to get it from the vending machine! There are many hotels located side by side along the same access road as this hotel that looked much better kept than this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma
Jun 8, 2008

Rude Staff Member

Experience at this hotel will not be forgotten. The driveway was completely torn up, my car bottomed out, had to park in another hotels parking lot. Staff member at front desk was very rude when asked for additional towels for my room. I will never stay at this motel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Craker Barrel in just steps away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oma G
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Jun 15, 2014

Basic motel ambiance

The room was ordinary as expected for the price but acceptable. The so called continental breakfast was truly awful and the front desk staff seemed very young and lacking in customer service training. I would not go back to this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patty's Anniversary
Business
Tucson, AZ
Sep 21, 2014

Hard to find

This hotel is very hard to find. The signage off the freeway is confusing and doesn't get you to the hotel. The beds were old and very uncomfortable. The sheets didn't fit the bed and were very thin. The wallpaper is peeling off the wall. Disappointed for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't order food from Golden Dragon Chinese food. Bad food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top