$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

2 stars
View map of 2520 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dragonstone
Business
St Johns, AZ 85936, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Beds need work...

Over all everything was great for the money with the exception of the beds. Very uncomfortable, time for new ones. Stiff wire around outside of mattress, then you sank in the middle with no real support. Not a good nights sleep. Other than the mattress I felt the value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs has good food, there is a Denny's literally just down the road. Short drive to other dining spots.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamelita
Business
Santa Maria, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great value for the price

The hotel is located by 2 restaurants, gas station, McDonald's, and the main street into the city. The desk clerk was very helpful and courteous. The room was bigger than expected incl a refrigerator, microwave, big tv, coffeepot, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, huge desk area, and an open space to throw whatever. It was very quiet also. We would definitely pick this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamelita
Business
Santa Maria, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great value for the price

The hotel is located by 2 restaurants, gas station, McDonald's, and the main street into the city. The desk clerk was very helpful and courteous. The room was bigger than expected incl a refrigerator, microwave, big tv, coffeepot, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, huge desk area, and an open space to throw whatever. It was very quiet also. We would definitely pick this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

this hotel is in a "hotel circle" with about 6 other hotels, so for the money, the room and location was outstanding...why pay more?

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ4me
Business
Alabama
Aug 28, 2011

Ok, not too bad.

This motel was ok, nothing special. It may have been a tad less than I expected. The reviews I read before booking made it seem a little nicer than it actually was. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, as I said. The first thing I noticed after arriving was the rather dirty-looking carpet on the balconies. It really needs to be replaced. The room was pretty clean (no smell), but not very "modern", if you will. It's definitely not a new motel. The rates were about average for this type of motel, depending on when you stay. I checked out on a Friday, and I asked the desk clerk what the rate would be for that Friday if I stayed another night. It was going to be 50% more. There's no way I would have paid that. The breakfast was waffles, cold cereal, cake do-nuts, bagels, toast, coffee, OJ, and milk. I had to find my own spoon in the counter cabinet for my cereal. Another negative (but not for the motel), was the parking. I had to park on the opposite side of motel to get a parking space, if I came in late at night. So, maybe they are doing someting right. Like I said, it's an ok place to stay, just nothing fancy. Oh yeah, here is a positive. No train noise. That can be a problem for some motels in this area, as I read. I could see the train from my room, but I guess it was too far to really hear. And no, I'm not deaf :) I could stay here again, as long as the rates stay reasonable. Happy traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of dining are short driving distances. The 2 restaurants within walking distance didn't seem to spiffy. They seemed like "biker"- type dives, if you will. And nothing against bikers. Just the best description I could think of. Sorry.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernie
Business
Seal Beach, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Good for one night

To be honest, I came here because of the price and because we were driving through and needed a place to sleep. Staff was ok, nothing positive or negative to say about them. The Rooms were ok except the Air conditioner didn't have a thermostat, so I had to wake up in the middle of the night to change it constantly. The tv was an old tube tv. The beds were good though. Overall, its good for the money, but don't expect anything over that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outback is a walking distance close by. Yum...

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Aug 7, 2011

HOJO

Check in was easy, not too far from town. We skipped the continental breakfast because the room was tiny and there was like 30 people all trying to get food/drinks at once. The room was average, clean and it was cheap. Probably would stay somewhere else the next time but we got there late and left early, so it served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
austin texas
Jul 25, 2011

not bad for the money

we stayed here on the way to the grand canyon. it was not too bad for the money. the staff was very polite and knowledgable. the overall place was clean and kept. and if you're looking at staying at the travel lodge, don't waste you're time. horrible place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

we had some of the best pizza we've ever had. its a small little place that had awesome beer on tap, awesome wings, and of course fantastic pizza. its called nimarcos pizza. all i can say, is that if you're in the mood for some good pizza, hit em' up. you'll not be disappointed.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bakersfield ca.
Jul 17, 2011

Good room

Room was clean and well equiped,would use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 16, 2011

Great Pick for Arizona Vacation

This HoJo is not glamorous but has everything you need if you're traveling in Arizona. Shared the room with my sister and everything was clean, the hotel wasn't noisy, and breakfast was included. I didn't expect a pool - but they have one and it's heated! Great pick if you're staying in Flagstaff and traveling to the Grand Canyon and surrounding area. Extremely affordable, clean, and close to restaurants, supermarkets, and a little over an hour to the south rim of the Grand Canyon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
va
Jul 10, 2011

fare price

walk thru old town saw a fourth of july parade fireworks hikeing all over

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top