$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

2 stars
2520 E. Lucky Lane, Flagstaff, AZ 86004
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
188 reviews
Hiking Trip

Great hotel stay. Easily accessible from I-40 and many dining options close by. The room was very... See full review

  • AZ Hiker I
  • Jun 30, 2013
Great Deal

Very clean room and great price!! Stayed here after a long road trip and it was exactly what I was... See full review

  • Traveler1400
  • Apr 23, 2014
Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane is newly renovated. The hotel offers Large Nicely Appointed Rooms and an Excellent Location. Convenient to all that Flagstaff has to offer, Historical Downtown Flagstaff 2 miles, Urban Trail 0.5 mile, AquaPlex indoor water park and fitness center 0.5 mile, Snowbowl Ski 14 miles, next to The Cracker Barrel and Outback Steakhouse restaurants. For Product, Service and Value select the Howard Johnson Lucky Lane. Free Continental Breakfast including Hot Waffles. Seasonal Outdoor Heated Pool open from end of May to October.

Hotel Map

35.1934 -111.6212
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (188)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dg1959
Santa Cruz Ca
Oct 9, 2011

allows dogs

I did not see anything on any ad that this hotel alows dogs. I would not stay in a hotel where I knew a dog might have slept in the bed I was sleeping or wiped their tail on the carpet I was walking in as I am not a dog, so therefore the hotel mgmt put my family up in the hotel next store (Super 8) and it was very clean. In fact it was a much better room than the resort room in Las Vegas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KRAMER
Florida, USA
Oct 8, 2011

great location

Great location and great room. We will stop there again next time we visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of places to eat near by plus Walmart right behind.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KRAMER
Florida, USA
Oct 8, 2011

great location

Great location and great room. We will stop there again next time we visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of places to eat near by plus Walmart right behind.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danzappa
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Fair Value Stay

Very courteous and pleasant staff and clean comfortable good size rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dragonstone
Business
St Johns, AZ 85936, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Beds need work...

Over all everything was great for the money with the exception of the beds. Very uncomfortable, time for new ones. Stiff wire around outside of mattress, then you sank in the middle with no real support. Not a good nights sleep. Other than the mattress I felt the value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs has good food, there is a Denny's literally just down the road. Short drive to other dining spots.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dragonstone
Business
St Johns, AZ 85936, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Beds need work...

Over all everything was great for the money with the exception of the beds. Very uncomfortable, time for new ones. Stiff wire around outside of mattress, then you sank in the middle with no real support. Not a good nights sleep. Other than the mattress I felt the value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hogs has good food, there is a Denny's literally just down the road. Short drive to other dining spots.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pamelita
Santa Maria, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

great value for the price

The hotel is located by 2 restaurants, gas station, McDonald's, and the main street into the city. The desk clerk was very helpful and courteous. The room was bigger than expected incl a refrigerator, microwave, big tv, coffeepot, ironing board/iron, hairdryer, huge desk area, and an open space to throw whatever. It was very quiet also. We would definitely pick this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ4me
Alabama
Aug 28, 2011

Ok, not too bad.

This motel was ok, nothing special. It may have been a tad less than I expected. The reviews I read before booking made it seem a little nicer than it actually was. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, as I said. The first thing I noticed after arriving was the rather dirty-looking carpet on the balconies. It really needs to be replaced. The room was pretty clean (no smell), but not very "modern", if you will. It's definitely not a new motel. The rates were about average for this type of motel, depending on when you stay. I checked out on a Friday, and I asked the desk clerk what the rate would be for that Friday if I stayed another night. It was going to be 50% more. There's no way I would have paid that. The breakfast was waffles, cold cereal, cake do-nuts, bagels, toast, coffee, OJ, and milk. I had to find my own spoon in the counter cabinet for my cereal. Another negative (but not for the motel), was the parking. I had to park on the opposite side of motel to get a parking space, if I came in late at night. So, maybe they are doing someting right. Like I said, it's an ok place to stay, just nothing fancy. Oh yeah, here is a positive. No train noise. That can be a problem for some motels in this area, as I read. I could see the train from my room, but I guess it was too far to really hear. And no, I'm not deaf :) I could stay here again, as long as the rates stay reasonable. Happy traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of dining are short driving distances. The 2 restaurants within walking distance didn't seem to spiffy. They seemed like "biker"- type dives, if you will. And nothing against bikers. Just the best description I could think of. Sorry.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ4me
Alabama
Aug 28, 2011

Ok, not too bad.

This motel was ok, nothing special. It may have been a tad less than I expected. The reviews I read before booking made it seem a little nicer than it actually was. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, as I said. The first thing I noticed after arriving was the rather dirty-looking carpet on the balconies. It really needs to be replaced. The room was pretty clean (no smell), but not very "modern", if you will. It's definitely not a new motel. The rates were about average for this type of motel, depending on when you stay. I checked out on a Friday, and I asked the desk clerk what the rate would be for that Friday if I stayed another night. It was going to be 50% more. There's no way I would have paid that. The breakfast was waffles, cold cereal, cake do-nuts, bagels, toast, coffee, OJ, and milk. I had to find my own spoon in the counter cabinet for my cereal. Another negative (but not for the motel), was the parking. I had to park on the opposite side of motel to get a parking space, if I came in late at night. So, maybe they are doing someting right. Like I said, it's an ok place to stay, just nothing fancy. Oh yeah, here is a positive. No train noise. That can be a problem for some motels in this area, as I read. I could see the train from my room, but I guess it was too far to really hear. And no, I'm not deaf :) I could stay here again, as long as the rates stay reasonable. Happy traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of dining are short driving distances. The 2 restaurants within walking distance didn't seem to spiffy. They seemed like "biker"- type dives, if you will. And nothing against bikers. Just the best description I could think of. Sorry.

Review of Howard Johnson Flagstaff I-40 Exit 198 E. Lucky Lane

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ernie
Seal Beach, CA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Good for one night

To be honest, I came here because of the price and because we were driving through and needed a place to sleep. Staff was ok, nothing positive or negative to say about them. The Rooms were ok except the Air conditioner didn't have a thermostat, so I had to wake up in the middle of the night to change it constantly. The tv was an old tube tv. The beds were good though. Overall, its good for the money, but don't expect anything over that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outback is a walking distance close by. Yum...

Back to menu Return to top