$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
View map of 223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Highland-Country-Inn-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
70 reviews
Perfect stay for Grand Canyon day

I was impressed with everything - location, cleanliness, customer service, etc. Would definitely... See full review

  • Tiger1229
  • Aug 6, 2015
Budget Hotel Done Well

It is obvious to me that the owners take great pride and put great care into their property. My... See full review

  • BJ
  • Apr 12, 2015

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Property features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)
Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 278 reviews
★★
$72
3.7 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$55
3.0 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$64
3.4 / 5 255 reviews
★★
$67
3.5 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$52
2.8 / 5 203 reviews
★★
$50
3.2 / 5 89 reviews

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thetwo of us
Family
texas
Jul 23, 2012

Dirty stained bedding

It was a cheap stay all we did was sleep and get clean there. The bed sheets had stains on them. Not a pleasant thought. It was in town and with that came the noises from the trains all night. Staff was nice and the place was quiet besides the trains. It is an old but cheap stay. Don't know if I would stay there again. I would prob try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Co Yo Yo
Family
Monument, Colorado
May 13, 2012

Good Value For Quick Overnight Stay

This was a stop off after picking my son up from University of Arizona after his finals. We got in past 11 pm, were quickly set up with our room. The room was not fancy, but was clean, the beds were comfortable, the location was good and the price was very reasonable. This was a very good value for what we needed. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NAUmom
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Wintry Flagstaff

We were in Flagstaff helping our child settling into the spring NAU semester. The Highland County inn was well situated and comfortable, even with the below-zero Jan. temperatures. We have stayed at the HCI previously however on this visit, both the cable TV and wifi internet access experienced significant down times. The latter particularly presented difficulties as I am selfemployed and rely on Internet content and contact with my customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
harold2013
Family
NJ
Jun 5, 2013

Good location and room very clean

It was worthy for the price I had paid. The hotel is close to the old downtown. A lot of good restaurants there. The room was kep very well and was very clean. The beds are very confortable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is near old downtown. A lot of bars/restaurants there.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Phoenix, Az
May 11, 2009

Great for the Price

We checked in late and got a bigger room because there were no none smoking rooms left. That was cool. The staff was nice and it has a good location. If you are just passing through and not looking to spend a fourtune, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
las vegas
Feb 16, 2010

good overnight stay

clean and nice. good for a short stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Phoenix Az
Mar 21, 2010

very good for the money

$55 for Friday night you will not get any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tucson AZ
Oct 5, 2009

Close to NAU

Worked for Parents Weekend~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BLANCA J.
Family
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

family trip

The hotel was ok it wasn't what I was expecting according to the pictures online. I wouldn't stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginkgo
Family
San Francisco
Aug 27, 2012

Budget at it's best

We were looking for affordable, yet comfortable, clean and conveniently located; nothing fancy. Found it here at Highland Country Inn. No breakfast, but so close to little eateries in the old town (3 min drive, 10 min walk), and right across the street is a large organic supermarket, for snacks and food. Fridge and microwave, bathroom was relatively new. Perhaps carpet could be replaced, and beds springs were a bit uneven, but I'm not complaining. Located at a major intersection, it's not the most picturesque of spots, but certainly accessible. Fit a pack n play in the corner for our 1.5 yo, and walls were nice and thick - we didn't hear neighbors and we were pretty confident no-one could hear when she was crying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top