$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
70 reviews
Friendly and Simple

This hotel was an easy, last minute booking for an unexpected overnight. Got just what we needed!... See full review

  • Eleveneyes
  • Oct 6, 2014
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 70
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cpbb
Business
Massachusetts
May 11, 2012

Basic, Economical

This motel is a good value for the money. For a very reasonable nightly rate you receive basic accommodations with no frills but all of the essentials: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc. However, breakfast is not included. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of historic downtown, across the street from the University and convenient to a wide variety of restaurants and shopping. The pillows and towels were a little skimpy but adequate. The room was clean except for a little mildew on the edges of the shower curtain. It's not fancy, but definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Charley's restaurant located within the historic Hotel Wetherford. Sit outside on the restored balcony on the third floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Sixtyfour
Business
DeKalb, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Clean convenient

This little motel is very clean, the staff is very pleasant and it very convenient to the Flagstaff train station. It's nothing fancy but well worth the money for a no frills place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Our Way to San Jose
Business
Houston
Jul 10, 2013

Reasonable

Worth the price. Nice laundry room available. Room was reasonably clean. The air conditioner was a little loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerryN
Business
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Oct 15, 2013

A nice clean place to stay overnight

The staff were helpful and the room was extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arundel ME
Aug 17, 2009

Good value

Good value for a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 14, 2010

Great price, great stay

Our experience started off a tad shaky. We went to check in and there was nobody there. When we got to our room, the volume on the TV didn't work. This issue was quickly fixed as the staff replaced our TV within 20 minutes. The rooms were spotless when we got there. Comfy beds and a decent size bathroom. As with 90% of the hotels in Flagstaff, you will have to contend with train noise, but the rooms seemed well insulated and the train was a non-factor for us. Also, it's right near the NAU campus. We couldn't have picked a closer hotel to visit my sister. We would definitely recommend this hotel to people staying in Flagstaff. We're glad we picked this hotel off of the strength of the reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to NAU's campus. Also close to food spots. Quick walk to Papa John's for carry out pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HHH1
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Good room for the price

The price of the room was great. Could not hear the train or traffic outside. The mattress was a little stiff and the pillows a little flat. Other than that if you need a cheap place to stay that is within wallking distance from downtown and right off the main drag, this place is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red rock traveller
Business
Boulder, CO, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Clean and quiet

Room was decent value for the price. I would have preferred a coffee maker in the room, but decent coffee Was available in the office. The motel was close to good restaurants and downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lumberyard Brewery and Restaurant was a short walk and a great place for guality beer and good food at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColoradoKat343
Business
Colorado
Mar 26, 2013

Great Value, Super Clean

We stayed one night on 3/24/13. Got in late but were appreciative that the person who checked us in was gracious and friendly. The room was sparse, BUT was SUPER clean, had a microwave and fridge. No frills, but we slept comfortably and it was very quiet. We will definitely stay again when back in Flagstaff. Thank you for offering such a great room for such a great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Las Vegas travellers
Business
Las Vegas
May 25, 2013

Touring Grand Canyon & Sedona

Friendly front desk staff made our arrival and check-in pleasant. Our room (220) was clean and ready. The restaurants and Safeway are a stone's throw away and so is the Lowell Observatory. We stayed for two nights and we couldn't be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top