$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
63 reviews
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 2, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
63 out of 63
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Red rock traveller
Boulder, CO, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Clean and quiet

Room was decent value for the price. I would have preferred a coffee maker in the room, but decent coffee Was available in the office. The motel was close to good restaurants and downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lumberyard Brewery and Restaurant was a short walk and a great place for guality beer and good food at a reasonable price.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Ginkgo
San Francisco
Aug 27, 2012

Budget at it's best

We were looking for affordable, yet comfortable, clean and conveniently located; nothing fancy. Found it here at Highland Country Inn. No breakfast, but so close to little eateries in the old town (3 min drive, 10 min walk), and right across the street is a large organic supermarket, for snacks and food. Fridge and microwave, bathroom was relatively new. Perhaps carpet could be replaced, and beds springs were a bit uneven, but I'm not complaining. Located at a major intersection, it's not the most picturesque of spots, but certainly accessible. Fit a pack n play in the corner for our 1.5 yo, and walls were nice and thick - we didn't hear neighbors and we were pretty confident no-one could hear when she was crying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Long Beach, CA
Oct 1, 2009

Fine stay

Highland Inn provided a good night's stay, and met all of our expectations. Easy to get to from the interstate (but not adjacent to). The trains were close (as they were to all hotels in the area), but we didn't notice them at all in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Stringbender
Benton Ar
Apr 14, 2014

National Parks Vacation

Nice clean economical motel conveniently located on Rt 66, close to Lowell Observatory and restaurants. Good comp coffee in the main office and laundromat on site. We will stay there again if in Flagstaff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lowell observatory is a must see for kids and adults.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Las Vegas travellers
Las Vegas
May 25, 2013

Touring Grand Canyon & Sedona

Friendly front desk staff made our arrival and check-in pleasant. Our room (220) was clean and ready. The restaurants and Safeway are a stone's throw away and so is the Lowell Observatory. We stayed for two nights and we couldn't be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 14, 2010

Decent place. Great for the price

Friendly staff. Decent stay for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Happy Hobos
Livermore Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

GREAT VALUE

Hotel was clean, room was nice, and staff was great. Excellent stay for budget travelors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Phoenix
Apr 24, 2011

Highland Inn

This is a small, established motel in Flagstaff. I have passed it often but never stayed there. It was very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to see and do in and around Flagstaff. I never get tired of the going up there from Phoenix for a break.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Pleasantly Suprised

I travel quite a bit for business and this was a surprisingly clean and decent hotel. It was very clean, fairly quiet, close to nearby restaurants and the freeway. I would stay here again for a night or two if I was passing through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There area quite a few small restaurants right by.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
azjosh
az
Sep 15, 2013

Highway 66 downtown

Great place to be downtown, close to all the good places to eat and drink, can't beat the price here, clean rooms good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alpha & omega Greek food place has a SWEET breakfast menu that is some of the best breakfast around!

Back to menu Return to top