$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
67 reviews
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 2, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kilteddutchman
phx az
Jul 24, 2012

highland games

this was a very good priced hotel to stay at over a weekend on a major event in flagstaff everything was set up no problems what so ever checking in or out great service good rooms and nice extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

3 miles away is highland games every year between july 20-24

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Central NM Traveller
Central New Mexico
May 1, 2013

Birthday Trip

My husband and I drove to the Grand Canyon for my 40th birthday. Quick three night trip. We chose to stay in Flagstaff because there are more things to do than in Williams once the day trip to the Grand Canyon is done. Glad we did! This hotel was very clean and the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be how hard it was to get out of the parking lot on a busy week day morning. It is located on the corner of a very busy intersection. Very close to the Lowell Observatory (highly recommended) and close access to the freeway but far enough way to not hear the traffic at night. We would definitely choose this hotel again on our next trip through Flagstaff. Walking distance to the Flagstaff visitor's center and historic downtown. Also walking distance to a few great restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lowell Observatory is just a little over a mile up the hill from this hotel. It is well worth the stop. The Museum of Northern Arizona is a little over 3 miles way. Beautiful, well designed museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Thornhill, ON
Jul 17, 2008

good value for price

parking lot was a bit small, free wireless was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of food - fast/restaurants available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson, AZ
Nov 25, 2007

Great place for the money

Everything the other reviews is true, clean, right next to NAU and over perfect for the price. Didn't have a clock in the room so if you need this bring one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

NAU and downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller16
Cleveland, OH
Dec 16, 2013

I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will continue to stay here every time I visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMH traveler
St Louis
Jun 11, 2012

Flagstaff AZ

The hotel looked a little dated but the room was great. Traveling with grandchildren and cleanliness was very important, Very clean. Had a problem with the TV and the attendant was there in less then 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Switzerland
Jul 28, 2011

A great place for a night

Visiting Grand Canyon and Sedona, this place was a perfect catch. We usually travel higher price/class hotel and this place was just perfect for us. Welcome was more than friendly, rooms were comfortable, calm,... A great place to stay we would recommand to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Baster was nice, avoid the Sizzler (dirty).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, OR
Sep 8, 2008

a pleasant economical stay

the room was simple, spartan and very clean. the maid service was attentive to my needs and i found the whole experience at the highland country inn a wise buy for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a new barnes and noble book store and coffee shop was within a short walking distance. there was also a walgreens drug store within walking distance. the local university was a short block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kilteddutchman
phx az
Jul 24, 2012

highland games

this was a very good priced hotel to stay at over a weekend on a major event in flagstaff everything was set up no problems what so ever checking in or out great service good rooms and nice extras

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

3 miles away is highland games every year between july 20-24

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Sep 3, 2008

Very clean rooms, friendly staff

My recent stay at the Highland Country Inn in Flagstaff, AZ was a pleasant experience. There was only coffee provided in the office. Other than that, the room was clean, smelled fresh and the area it is located in was very quiet and peaceful. The weather was gorgeous the day I was there and it was nice to be able to open up the windows and feel the cool breeze that was blowing that day. I can't do that in Mesa in the summer time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller16
Cleveland, OH
Dec 2, 2013

I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in flagstaf. great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search