$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
67 reviews
I stay here every time I'm in Flagstaff

Staff is very friendly. Great location. I always feel safe staying at this hotel. Very clean. Will... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 16, 2013
I come here every time I'm in flagstaff!

Friendly staff, safe hotel, very clean, location is in the center of a lot of activities in... See full review

  • traveller16
  • Dec 2, 2013
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 67
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweetie Cutie
Orlando, FL
May 21, 2014

family vacation

Proximity to downtown Flagstaff, very close to an attraction- Lowell's Observatory. Friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Hobos
Livermore Ca.
Jul 14, 2013

GREAT VALUE

Hotel was clean, room was nice, and staff was great. Excellent stay for budget travelors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grad trip with kid
Arizona
Jun 19, 2013

College Orientation Trip

This hotel was basic but great. It was clean, quiet and well maintained. Staff was available and quick. This was very very close to NAU which is why we were in Flagstaff. The only reason I didn't rate comfort a 5 was had difficulties setting the air conditioning,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
harold2013
NJ
Jun 5, 2013

Good location and room very clean

It was worthy for the price I had paid. The hotel is close to the old downtown. A lot of good restaurants there. The room was kep very well and was very clean. The beds are very confortable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is near old downtown. A lot of bars/restaurants there.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
STDK Mom
Minnesota
Mar 29, 2013

Good value

Nice clean room, helpful staff, good location. Nothing fancy but good value for the money. Only negative is that we had a nonsmoking room and the sheets have cigarette holes in them. They didn't smell but obviously they use smoking sheets in nonsmoking rooms. Other then that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NAUmom
San Francisco, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Wintry Flagstaff

We were in Flagstaff helping our child settling into the spring NAU semester. The Highland County inn was well situated and comfortable, even with the below-zero Jan. temperatures. We have stayed at the HCI previously however on this visit, both the cable TV and wifi internet access experienced significant down times. The latter particularly presented difficulties as I am selfemployed and rely on Internet content and contact with my customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ginkgo
San Francisco
Aug 27, 2012

Budget at it's best

We were looking for affordable, yet comfortable, clean and conveniently located; nothing fancy. Found it here at Highland Country Inn. No breakfast, but so close to little eateries in the old town (3 min drive, 10 min walk), and right across the street is a large organic supermarket, for snacks and food. Fridge and microwave, bathroom was relatively new. Perhaps carpet could be replaced, and beds springs were a bit uneven, but I'm not complaining. Located at a major intersection, it's not the most picturesque of spots, but certainly accessible. Fit a pack n play in the corner for our 1.5 yo, and walls were nice and thick - we didn't hear neighbors and we were pretty confident no-one could hear when she was crying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thetwo of us
texas
Jul 23, 2012

Dirty stained bedding

It was a cheap stay all we did was sleep and get clean there. The bed sheets had stains on them. Not a pleasant thought. It was in town and with that came the noises from the trains all night. Staff was nice and the place was quiet besides the trains. It is an old but cheap stay. Don't know if I would stay there again. I would prob try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMH traveler
St Louis
Jun 11, 2012

Flagstaff AZ

The hotel looked a little dated but the room was great. Traveling with grandchildren and cleanliness was very important, Very clean. Had a problem with the TV and the attendant was there in less then 5 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Co Yo Yo
Monument, Colorado
May 13, 2012

Good Value For Quick Overnight Stay

This was a stop off after picking my son up from University of Arizona after his finals. We got in past 11 pm, were quickly set up with our room. The room was not fancy, but was clean, the beds were comfortable, the location was good and the price was very reasonable. This was a very good value for what we needed. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search