$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
View map of 223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Highland-Country-Inn-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
70 reviews
Perfect stay for Grand Canyon day

I was impressed with everything - location, cleanliness, customer service, etc. Would definitely... See full review

  • Tiger1229
  • Aug 6, 2015
Budget Hotel Done Well

It is obvious to me that the owners take great pride and put great care into their property. My... See full review

  • BJ
  • Apr 12, 2015

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Property features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)
Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

★★★
$59
3.2 / 5 278 reviews
★★
$72
3.7 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$55
3.0 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$64
3.4 / 5 255 reviews
★★
$67
3.5 / 5 28 reviews
★★★
$52
2.8 / 5 203 reviews
★★
$50
3.2 / 5 89 reviews

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thetwo of us
Family
texas
Jul 23, 2012

Dirty stained bedding

It was a cheap stay all we did was sleep and get clean there. The bed sheets had stains on them. Not a pleasant thought. It was in town and with that came the noises from the trains all night. Staff was nice and the place was quiet besides the trains. It is an old but cheap stay. Don't know if I would stay there again. I would prob try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TJVT
Single
Montgomery, VT
May 29, 2013

Basic motel

Spent only one night. Hotel was full, fair amount of noise from road and other guests came into room. Room itself has seen better days - significant number of stains/burn marks on carpet and furniture, odd (not unpleasant) smell in room. (But bed linens and bath seemed clean.) All the basics were okay - water temp and pressure in shower, WiFi, good cable channel line-up, fridge and microwave in room, etc. Booked based on price and location - plenty of other similar motels in area probably just as good or better if the price is less. I wouldn't want to spend several nights here, but perfectly adequate for a one night stopover while traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ksutexan
Single
Houston, TX
Dec 31, 2013

Great Location

Basic lower rated hotel but clean and comfortable and great location just a few blocks from historic downtown Flagstaff. I just stayed one night on a trip to National Parks but I would recommend staying at this hotel. Had refrigerator and microwave also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to brew pubs and historic downtown Flagstaff

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cpbb
Couples
Massachusetts
May 11, 2012

Basic, Economical

This motel is a good value for the money. For a very reasonable nightly rate you receive basic accommodations with no frills but all of the essentials: microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc. However, breakfast is not included. It is in an excellent location within walking distance of historic downtown, across the street from the University and convenient to a wide variety of restaurants and shopping. The pillows and towels were a little skimpy but adequate. The room was clean except for a little mildew on the edges of the shower curtain. It's not fancy, but definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to visit Charley's restaurant located within the historic Hotel Wetherford. Sit outside on the restored balcony on the third floor.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mo Co Yo Yo
Family
Monument, Colorado
May 13, 2012

Good Value For Quick Overnight Stay

This was a stop off after picking my son up from University of Arizona after his finals. We got in past 11 pm, were quickly set up with our room. The room was not fancy, but was clean, the beds were comfortable, the location was good and the price was very reasonable. This was a very good value for what we needed. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego Jennifer
Single
San Diego, CA
Nov 14, 2012

Close to NAU

Picked location since it was extremely close to NAU. Wish they would have cleaned the snow and ice off the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NAUmom
Family
San Francisco, CA
Jan 14, 2013

Wintry Flagstaff

We were in Flagstaff helping our child settling into the spring NAU semester. The Highland County inn was well situated and comfortable, even with the below-zero Jan. temperatures. We have stayed at the HCI previously however on this visit, both the cable TV and wifi internet access experienced significant down times. The latter particularly presented difficulties as I am selfemployed and rely on Internet content and contact with my customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Sixtyfour
Couples
DeKalb, IL
Mar 25, 2013

Clean convenient

This little motel is very clean, the staff is very pleasant and it very convenient to the Flagstaff train station. It's nothing fancy but well worth the money for a no frills place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
harold2013
Family
NJ
Jun 5, 2013

Good location and room very clean

It was worthy for the price I had paid. The hotel is close to the old downtown. A lot of good restaurants there. The room was kep very well and was very clean. The beds are very confortable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is near old downtown. A lot of bars/restaurants there.

Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TerryN
Couples
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Oct 15, 2013

A nice clean place to stay overnight

The staff were helpful and the room was extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top