$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 3, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

Highland Country Inn

2 stars
View map of 223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
72 reviews
Flagstaf visit for snow

This place is located as the i-17 turns into a main road and leads you to this quaint hotel. At... See full review

  • Edward H.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Friendly and Simple

This hotel was an easy, last minute booking for an unexpected overnight. Got just what we needed!... See full review

  • Eleveneyes
  • Oct 6, 2014
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Highland Country Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 14, 2010

Great price, great stay

Our experience started off a tad shaky. We went to check in and there was nobody there. When we got to our room, the volume on the TV didn't work. This issue was quickly fixed as the staff replaced our TV within 20 minutes. The rooms were spotless when we got there. Comfy beds and a decent size bathroom. As with 90% of the hotels in Flagstaff, you will have to contend with train noise, but the rooms seemed well insulated and the train was a non-factor for us. Also, it's right near the NAU campus. We couldn't have picked a closer hotel to visit my sister. We would definitely recommend this hotel to people staying in Flagstaff. We're glad we picked this hotel off of the strength of the reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to NAU's campus. Also close to food spots. Quick walk to Papa John's for carry out pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson AZ
Oct 5, 2009

Close to NAU

Worked for Parents Weekend~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 1, 2009

Fine stay

Highland Inn provided a good night's stay, and met all of our expectations. Easy to get to from the interstate (but not adjacent to). The trains were close (as they were to all hotels in the area), but we didn't notice them at all in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pelican1997
Business
Gilbert, Az
Sep 30, 2009

Clean and Centrally Located

My daughter and friend only stayed one night on their visit to NAU, but found the facilities agreeable and meeting their needs. Yes, they said they would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arundel ME
Aug 17, 2009

Good value

Good value for a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 11, 2009

Nice place to stay

Most of the Flagstaff hotels with similar services and in the same neighbourhood were selling for way over $100 for a weekend we were in Flagstaff. The room was clean, and spacious. The hotel located in a walking distance to "downtown" area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Idgimoe
Business
Chandler babie
Jun 28, 2009

Great Out Doors

Nice rooms, Great staff, Trains near but it reminds you of the American way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Strong coffee at the lobby, but not very close to anything in a short walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Az
May 11, 2009

Great for the Price

We checked in late and got a bigger room because there were no none smoking rooms left. That was cool. The staff was nice and it has a good location. If you are just passing through and not looking to spend a fourtune, this is the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eugene, OR
Sep 8, 2008

a pleasant economical stay

the room was simple, spartan and very clean. the maid service was attentive to my needs and i found the whole experience at the highland country inn a wise buy for my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

a new barnes and noble book store and coffee shop was within a short walking distance. there was also a walgreens drug store within walking distance. the local university was a short block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Sep 3, 2008

Very clean rooms, friendly staff

My recent stay at the Highland Country Inn in Flagstaff, AZ was a pleasant experience. There was only coffee provided in the office. Other than that, the room was clean, smelled fresh and the area it is located in was very quiet and peaceful. The weather was gorgeous the day I was there and it was nice to be able to open up the windows and feel the cool breeze that was blowing that day. I can't do that in Mesa in the summer time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top