Highland Country Inn

2 stars
View map of 223 S. Milton, Flagstaff, AZ 86001

Hotel Overview

3.9/5

Overall score

96%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3
Comfort, convenience a hallmark of this Flagstaff inn

Highland Country Inn, situated across the street from Northern Arizona University, offers clean, well-maintained accommodations convenient to a number of major Flagstaff business and tourist centers, as well as to natural attractions that surround the city. Rooms include a refrigerator and microwave, and guests enjoy free wireless Internet access.

Highlights
  • Convenient to Northern Arizona University, downtown
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Coin-operated laundry
Rooms

The newly decorated, comfortable rooms at the Highland Country Inn, perfect for business and pleasure travelers alike, offer a choice of cozy single king or two queen beds, color cable television, free wireless Internet access, refrigerator, microwave oven, hairdryer, and telephone with free local calls and voicemail. Non-smoking rooms are available.

Features

Guest find a bevy of attractions in Flagstaff, including historic Route 66, Lava River Cave, Flagstaff Arboretum, Coconino Center for the Arts, and Lowell Observatory, where Pluto was first discover. There are also a number of terrific restaurants near the hotel.

 

Beyond the city limits adventure seekers explore caves, ruins of ancient civilizations, Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument, Petrified Forest, San Francisco Peaks, the majestic red rocks of Sedona, Painted Desert, and the breathtaking views Grand Canyon. Activities include hiking, cycling, horseback riding, fishing, river rafting, and in the winter months, skiing and snowboarding.

Transportation
  • Flagstaff Pulliam Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park Airport (71.5 mi/115.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Northern Arizona University (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Lowell Observatory (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Walnut Canyon National Monument (11.6 mi/18.7 km)
  • Grand Canyon Railway, Williams (32.4 mi/52.1 km)
  • Air Museum, Williams (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, south entrance (74.5 mi/119.9 km)

Highland Country Inn Rooms

Queen Room
Our Queen Room offers two queen beds and color television, free wireless internet, fridge/microwave, hair dryers, free local calls, voice mail, and cable TV in all the rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

35.1965 -111.6546
Area served
Flagstaff, AZ
Nearby airports
Pulliam Airport (FLG) - Milton to I-17, exit at Pulliam Airport
Area description
Our hotel is in close proximity to the Grand Canyon, Historic Route 66, Northern Arizona University, Snowbowl, Sedona, and Lowell Observatory.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Highland Country Inn

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HHH1
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Good room for the price

The price of the room was great. Could not hear the train or traffic outside. The mattress was a little stiff and the pillows a little flat. Other than that if you need a cheap place to stay that is within wallking distance from downtown and right off the main drag, this place is it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maimai
Business
Virginia
Oct 6, 2011

Great place to stay!

We were so glad that we chose the Highland Country Inn! Great location for visiting the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Jerome and Flagstaff. We loved having coffee or tea from the office, then walking to breakfast in the mornings and walking to dinner after a busy day. The gentleman in the office was very helpful! Our room was big, clean and comfortable. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations before going to "Pasto Cucina Italiana" in Flagstaff. The food was fantastic! We wish we lived closer so we could frequent this restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wessymo
Business
Cypress, TX
Aug 6, 2011

Clean, comfortable, courteous

Our stay here was great. The motel is located close to everything there is to do in Flagstaff. The staff were friendly and courteous. The beds were comfortable. The room and bathroom was clean. Upon first glance it appears to be bottom of the barrel, but the things that matter and make it a pleasant stay are all there. We stayed in a higher starred hotel the night before in Sedona, and this place is much, much better than that one when it comes to the things that really count.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Beaver Street Brewery for awesome food and beer!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Jul 28, 2011

A great place for a night

Visiting Grand Canyon and Sedona, this place was a perfect catch. We usually travel higher price/class hotel and this place was just perfect for us. Welcome was more than friendly, rooms were comfortable, calm,... A great place to stay we would recommand to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Baster was nice, avoid the Sizzler (dirty).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Hiker
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jul 2, 2011

Clean, comfortable room; attentive staff

Great location in the heart of Flagstaff. Convenient to restaurants, roads to escape to the wilds, in walking distance of shops, Barnes and Noble, and the NAU Campus. Room was clean, comfortable, equipped with microwave and fridge. We had all that we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Himalayan Grill restaurant is fabulous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Apr 24, 2011

Highland Inn

This is a small, established motel in Flagstaff. I have passed it often but never stayed there. It was very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to see and do in and around Flagstaff. I never get tired of the going up there from Phoenix for a break.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Vista, Az
Feb 21, 2011

Overnight In Flagstaff

I stayed here last year and was generally satisfied with the stay then, as now. Comfortable room, clean bathroom, worth what the cost of the room was. (When I stayed last year, the room cost was higher. Glad to see it has dropped.) This is a basic hotel. No coffee pot in the room. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sierra Vista, Az
Jun 27, 2010

Clean but expensive

I was attending a VFW meeting in Flagstaff and the Highland Country Inn was close to the meeting location. The room was plain and clean with TV and micro/fridge and free wifi. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well maintained. There was no coffee pot. Overall, the room was comfortable and there was no problem at check-in or check-out. I felt the room was overpriced. Other places available either cost more or were not close to where my meeting was to take place. [...] Again, the room was clean and comfortable and I will stay again if the room rates came down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast nook called The Place just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 14, 2010

Decent place. Great for the price

Friendly staff. Decent stay for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Highland Country Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix Az
Mar 21, 2010

very good for the money

$55 for Friday night you will not get any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top